$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Andrews Hotel

3 stars
624 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
112 reviews
Just What We Wanted

This is a lovely cute hotel which is unlike all of the faceless chain establishments which could be... See full review

  • SylvieH
  • Feb 23, 2014
Nice hotel!

Friendly and great location. Free breakfast and wine. See full review

  • Marybethhhhhh
  • Feb 15, 2014
The Andrews Hotel is a charming, European-style hotel centrally located in San Francisco's renowned theater and shopping districts. Our small size -- just 48 guestrooms -- allows our friendly and courteous front desk staff to give you individual attention. Citysearch Voted the Andrews hotel 'Best hotel staff' 2006.

The building at 624 Post Street was completed in 1905 just before the great earthquake on April 18, 1906. Because it was built as a Class a structure, completely supported by a steel frame, it suffered little damage. However, the fire that engulfed the city after the quake did some damage to the lobby and restaurant.

After being repaired the following November for $38,000, the building assumed its planned role as the Sultan Turkish Baths, a gentlemen's bath and relaxation establishment. The large electric sign on the roof announced its arrival on Post Street. As a full service business, the Sultan Baths featured a restaurant on the ground floor. The next level housed a salt-water plunge, tiled hot room, and a rubbing room. On the third floor one could find a barber, chiropodist, and a bar and lounge. The fourth and fifth floors featured small sleeping rooms and a steam room. Finally, on floors six and seven, one could rent one of several small apartments, each containing a bedroom and a parlor. Rumor has it that, at one time, the establishment had a rather unsavory reputation.

Valet parking is $34 + 15.5% tax for regular and $46 + 15.5% tax for oversized vehicle. Please be advised that valet parking fees will be higher on New Year Eve ( fees to be announced in December). Parking fees are subject to change without notice.

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4123
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport
Area description
The Andrews Hotel is centrally located near Union Square and the theater district; there are six theatres within an easy two block walk, while stores and restaurants abound. Our receptionists know the city well and strive to make your visit to San Francisco memorable. Personal assistance in planning any detail of your stay -- whether it be making restaurant reservations, reserving theater tickets, booking sightseeing tours, car rentals or airport shuttle service -- is always available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrews Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Andrews Hotel Rooms

Cozy Double
The bedding option for this room includes 1 double bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.
Comfy Queen
The bedding option for this room includes 1 queen bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Dining

Fino Bar & Ristorante
Located adjacent to the lobby, Fino Bar & Ristorante is a popular gathering place among locals and visitors alike. Fino's highly praised menu features many finely prepared Italian classics along with an assortment of innovative weekly specials and nightly fresh fish. Fino also has a very extensive wine list that compliments the menu's variety of entrees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Andrews Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David of Hawaii
Honolulu, Hawaii
Oct 29, 2012

Awesome Place to Stay, Love it

Great Place to stay, The whole staff made it even better. Breakfast in the hallway everymoring on every floor. The cleaning staff was like family, easy to talk too and they smiled alot too. I would go back again soon. My favorite place as of my last stay. Anytime I wanted to go somewhere I ask them and they would tell me how to get there, and even what bus to take.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Few Blocks from Union Square and all shopping.

Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goose61
Arizona
Jun 11, 2012

summer vacation

We traveled by car to the Andrews Hotel located in San Francisco in early June 2012. I was pleasantly surprised at how courteous and helpful the hotel staff were for us. The room was very quaint by completely acceptable for our needs. They offered a continental breakfast for guests which was very good! And despite it being in the center of the city, we heard very little noise from our room. I would high recommend this establishment in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skadip
NYC
Apr 4, 2012

Great little old hotel

This was a great hotel, especially for the price. The location was perfect -- just a few blocks from Union Square, but a little bit away from the craziness. When we first walked in it was a tiny bit warm and we went to to turn on the AC and there wasn't any and we thought "uh oh", but then we cracked the window and turned on the ceiling fan and the room was comfortable and cool the whole time. We also got a complimentary glass of wine at Fino Restaurant next door when we checked in, which was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a fantastic little wine bar behind the hotel next door called the Barrel Room. The bar tender, Sarah, was extremely nice and helpful and let me taste a few different wines before finding one I really liked. It is cozy and romantic and quiet with a little fireplace and couches. The best thing we didn't even know we wanted to do.

Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pikachu19
Champaign, IL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Great Location, disappointing stay

We picked this hotel because of its great location, however, the stay wasn't at all comfortable. The room for 2 is very small. The bathroom is even smaller. There is no place to even stand straight inside the bathroom, let alone dress. The bed covers seemed like they haven't been washed in quite a while. The carpet was musty and definitely needed cleaning. The room was depressing in general. There was complimentary breakfast which consisted just of inferior quality coffee, pastry and rolls. I would not recommend this place to stay, since I have seen better in the similar price range and in the same location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
al b
Denver, CO, USA
Feb 15, 2012

I'd go back

This hotel had a wonderful overall atmosphere, and delivered on every promise made on the website. The continental breakfast included great fresh pastries, fresh fruit, orange juice, and hot coffee. Overall much better spread that I would have expected. In addition the free happy hour drinks were generous, and the staff was always helpful. The room was clean as well. The biggest drawbacks were the small size of the room, and the noise. It was never extremely loud, but the walls were thin, so you could easily hear other guests coming and going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop by the Farallon resturant about 2 blocks in the direction of Union Square. Order the Bittersweet Chocolate Malt Gateau dessert... it's other worldly!

Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gadgetstan
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

A crime just waiting to happen!

I did not stay...the neighborhood scared me away, a charge for parking...that was in the fine print..my mistake...try to get a refund....that was not going to happen.... the safety of my car was the main problem..the hotel is in the worst part of the city...bums and garbage everywhere...could not get refund because I did not cancel 40 hrs before... well I flew in and picked up rental car, then headed to hotel....Comfort Inn is couple miles away and has secure parking... Im afraid I will not be using Cheaptickets any more either....there are to many other booking agencies that protect the customer from stuff like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colonel Legno
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Quaint, homey, slightly funky

Two blocks off Union Square, this old (pre-earthquake) hotel retains the charm of an earlier era. A nice feature is the continental breakfast put out on each floor: juice, rolls, butter, jam, fruit, coffee, tea; put on tray and take to your room. There is wireless internet, but it broke down for over a day while I was there. There is no coffee maker in the room; there is coffee in the lobby at all times, but it is stale and hardly warm. The rooms are definitely on the small side. But great value and location. I've stayed there eight or ten times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MAGICJ
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 21, 2011

The Truth

I was close to choosing some other hotels I had never been to or had confidence in their services. The Andrews came up as a last choice but the reviews were good. I hope this synopsis of my queen comfy room will help you. Let me start by saying that I would stay here again. Price Versus Comfort are excellent. 1. you will get a clean room, bath / shower, small flat screen television, dvd player, alarm clock, iron and hair dryer and ceiling fan. 2. The room is clean 3. The location is good for Union Square 4. THe complimentary Breakfast is good ( fresh fruit, breads, coffee and juice) 5. THe Fino Restaurant is great food and great staff 6. THe elevator is small and older with a retracting gate but it works and is quaint 7. THe stairwell from floor to floor is tight and steep so if you are older or physically challenged the elevator is your way 8. Easy to find off of Post street 9. Neighborhood is just fine THe one negative I had was an unexpected 50.00 a day deposit for the room charged upon arrival. I had not known about this and at a four day stay, this was 200.00 extra dollars I had to spend up front. You are credited during checkout but knowing about this earlier would have helped me prepare. If I come into a great amount of money then I would stay at the JW Marriott, Hyatt or Westin, but for a good price, in a good location you won't beat the Andrews. I will stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pazman
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Great Location in Union Square

I loved it! Close to shopping, dining and bars. Hotel had that old charm feel, small room but that is what you get in San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Shopping, Dining and Bars. Loved it!

Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beatrice
Business
Ventura County
Aug 27, 2011

Good basic accommodations

This is not a luxury hotel or even a standard modern chain. The rooms are dated, though there have been attempts to update the decor. I spent 4 nights attending a conference in San Francisco. The room was clean, and since it was not on the street, it was very quiet. The bathroom was very tight. The toilet and tub/shower were too close together and the towels practically hung in your face as you used the toilet. I would not recommend the room for 2 people unless you were dedicated to saving money. But for one person, it was fine. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. The continental breakfast buffet was conveniently located on each floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beatrice
Business
Ventura County
Aug 27, 2011

Good basic accommodations

This is not a luxury hotel or even a standard modern chain. The rooms are dated, though there have been attempts to update the decor. I spent 4 nights attending a conference in San Francisco. The room was clean, and since it was not on the street, it was very quiet. The bathroom was very tight. The toilet and tub/shower were too close together and the towels practically hung in your face as you used the toilet. I would not recommend the room for 2 people unless you were dedicated to saving money. But for one person, it was fine. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. The continental breakfast buffet was conveniently located on each floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top