$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Andrews Hotel

3 stars
624 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
76 reviews
Just What We Wanted

This is a lovely cute hotel which is unlike all of the faceless chain establishments which could be... See full review

  • SylvieH
  • Feb 23, 2014
Nice hotel!

Friendly and great location. Free breakfast and wine. See full review

  • Marybethhhhhh
  • Feb 15, 2014
The Andrews Hotel is a charming, European-style hotel centrally located in San Francisco's renowned theater and shopping districts. Our small size -- just 48 guestrooms -- allows our friendly and courteous front desk staff to give you individual attention. Citysearch Voted the Andrews hotel 'Best hotel staff' 2006.

The building at 624 Post Street was completed in 1905 just before the great earthquake on April 18, 1906. Because it was built as a Class a structure, completely supported by a steel frame, it suffered little damage. However, the fire that engulfed the city after the quake did some damage to the lobby and restaurant.

After being repaired the following November for $38,000, the building assumed its planned role as the Sultan Turkish Baths, a gentlemen's bath and relaxation establishment. The large electric sign on the roof announced its arrival on Post Street. As a full service business, the Sultan Baths featured a restaurant on the ground floor. The next level housed a salt-water plunge, tiled hot room, and a rubbing room. On the third floor one could find a barber, chiropodist, and a bar and lounge. The fourth and fifth floors featured small sleeping rooms and a steam room. Finally, on floors six and seven, one could rent one of several small apartments, each containing a bedroom and a parlor. Rumor has it that, at one time, the establishment had a rather unsavory reputation.

Valet parking is $34 + 15.5% tax for regular and $46 + 15.5% tax for oversized vehicle. Please be advised that valet parking fees will be higher on New Year Eve ( fees to be announced in December). Parking fees are subject to change without notice.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrews Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Andrews Hotel Rooms

Cozy Double
The bedding option for this room includes 1 double bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.
Comfy Queen
The bedding option for this room includes 1 queen bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Fino Bar & Ristorante
Located adjacent to the lobby, Fino Bar & Ristorante is a popular gathering place among locals and visitors alike. Fino's highly praised menu features many finely prepared Italian classics along with an assortment of innovative weekly specials and nightly fresh fish. Fino also has a very extensive wine list that compliments the menu's variety of entrees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Andrews Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hakin04
Tampa, Florida
Jun 26, 2012

Perfect place for tourists

This place is perfect to fellow tourists and explorers. If your like me and make the most of San Fran during your stay, this is perfect. We only used our room for getting ready and sleeping so the price was perfect. Not to mention it gives the real feel of San Fran without the corporate feeling you see in every other city. Nothing against the big chain hotels but why pay hundreds for a place that your luggage sits and you dont occupy the room? Very clean, staff is VERY nice. Two thumbs up to the staff at Andrews Hotel. We will stay again when we come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David of Hawaii
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Oct 29, 2012

Awesome Place to Stay, Love it

Great Place to stay, The whole staff made it even better. Breakfast in the hallway everymoring on every floor. The cleaning staff was like family, easy to talk too and they smiled alot too. I would go back again soon. My favorite place as of my last stay. Anytime I wanted to go somewhere I ask them and they would tell me how to get there, and even what bus to take.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Few Blocks from Union Square and all shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French tourist
Business
Paris
Aug 27, 2012

That's ok

Had a very enjoyable stay at Andrews hotel. Great location, room was very clean and the front staff was very friendly. Slightly overpriced for my taste, but I guess proximity from Union Square is a premium. Will definetly consider coming on my next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GR5 Hikers
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 26, 2012

Just OK

The Andrews is worn around the edges and you would expect to pay half as much for a room like this almost anywhere else. But this is San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tadich Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jesyoung
Business
los angeles, california
Aug 2, 2012

GREAT LOCATION, NOT SO GREAT HOTEL

The hotel is located in an area that is walkable to practically anywhere in the city. The hotel also offers a free breakfast of pastries, coffee, fruit, tea, and orange juice which is delicious. However, the bed sheets/pillow cases were stained, and there were other furniture that was sticky or dirty. The bathroom and bedroom was extremely small. Some of the front desk people are very nice and some are borderline rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hakin04
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jun 26, 2012

Perfect place for tourists

This place is perfect to fellow tourists and explorers. If your like me and make the most of San Fran during your stay, this is perfect. We only used our room for getting ready and sleeping so the price was perfect. Not to mention it gives the real feel of San Fran without the corporate feeling you see in every other city. Nothing against the big chain hotels but why pay hundreds for a place that your luggage sits and you dont occupy the room? Very clean, staff is VERY nice. Two thumbs up to the staff at Andrews Hotel. We will stay again when we come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ILDarrell
Business
Taylorville, IL
Jun 13, 2012

Cozy

The room was quite small and no A/C. I know it's SF but it happened to be hot the weekend we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the public transportation. We purchased 3 day passes and were able to use bus, streetcar, trolley and train.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goose61
Business
Arizona
Jun 11, 2012

summer vacation

We traveled by car to the Andrews Hotel located in San Francisco in early June 2012. I was pleasantly surprised at how courteous and helpful the hotel staff were for us. The room was very quaint by completely acceptable for our needs. They offered a continental breakfast for guests which was very good! And despite it being in the center of the city, we heard very little noise from our room. I would high recommend this establishment in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skadip
Business
NYC
Apr 4, 2012

Great little old hotel

This was a great hotel, especially for the price. The location was perfect -- just a few blocks from Union Square, but a little bit away from the craziness. When we first walked in it was a tiny bit warm and we went to to turn on the AC and there wasn't any and we thought "uh oh", but then we cracked the window and turned on the ceiling fan and the room was comfortable and cool the whole time. We also got a complimentary glass of wine at Fino Restaurant next door when we checked in, which was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a fantastic little wine bar behind the hotel next door called the Barrel Room. The bar tender, Sarah, was extremely nice and helpful and let me taste a few different wines before finding one I really liked. It is cozy and romantic and quiet with a little fireplace and couches. The best thing we didn't even know we wanted to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pikachu19
Business
Champaign, IL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Great Location, disappointing stay

We picked this hotel because of its great location, however, the stay wasn't at all comfortable. The room for 2 is very small. The bathroom is even smaller. There is no place to even stand straight inside the bathroom, let alone dress. The bed covers seemed like they haven't been washed in quite a while. The carpet was musty and definitely needed cleaning. The room was depressing in general. There was complimentary breakfast which consisted just of inferior quality coffee, pastry and rolls. I would not recommend this place to stay, since I have seen better in the similar price range and in the same location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
al b
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Feb 15, 2012

I'd go back

This hotel had a wonderful overall atmosphere, and delivered on every promise made on the website. The continental breakfast included great fresh pastries, fresh fruit, orange juice, and hot coffee. Overall much better spread that I would have expected. In addition the free happy hour drinks were generous, and the staff was always helpful. The room was clean as well. The biggest drawbacks were the small size of the room, and the noise. It was never extremely loud, but the walls were thin, so you could easily hear other guests coming and going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop by the Farallon resturant about 2 blocks in the direction of Union Square. Order the Bittersweet Chocolate Malt Gateau dessert... it's other worldly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top