$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Andrews Hotel

3 stars
View map of 624 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Andrews Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David of Hawaii
Honolulu, Hawaii
Oct 29, 2012

Awesome Place to Stay, Love it

Great Place to stay, The whole staff made it even better. Breakfast in the hallway everymoring on every floor. The cleaning staff was like family, easy to talk too and they smiled alot too. I would go back again soon. My favorite place as of my last stay. Anytime I wanted to go somewhere I ask them and they would tell me how to get there, and even what bus to take.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Few Blocks from Union Square and all shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Acov
Business
Chicago, IL
May 19, 2014

Great Experience

We were looking for a unique hotel with convenient location at a reasonable price and The Andrews Hotel was perfect! Adorable, historic European style hotel that was steps away from great restaurants, bars, shopping and public transit. The continental breakfast on each floor every morning was great as well. We would definitely stay here again and recommend The Andrews Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GiulianaM
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 23, 2014

Very good

Good location, easy to get public transportation. Clean room. Worth the price! The only thing I didn't like: they have water, but the bottle has broken and they did not replace it. Please.... In general, very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SylvieH
Business
UK
Feb 23, 2014

Just What We Wanted

This is a lovely cute hotel which is unlike all of the faceless chain establishments which could be in any city in any country. We had a very comfy queen bed, an L shaped bathroom which was more than big enough for us and the only noise which disturbed us overnight was from the emergency services. The location was perfect for EVERYTHING and the staff were very useful in helping us have the most wonderful holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traceylt
Business
Auckland, New Zealand
Feb 19, 2014

Shabby chic or just shabby?

I stayed here for a couple of nights, with my daughter. The location is great ... handy to Union Square & public transport, though the street itself is not particularly attractive. The hotel is rather 'quaint'. The reception area is kind of cute in a shabby-chic-British-B&B-Fawlty-Towers décor kind of way ... there's a couch and (awful) coffee facilities, and the reception staff are personable. The Italian restaurant off reception is busy and engaging staff. Our room was on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel, but we weren't bothered by street noise, nor were we aware of other guests the lift (elevator) or stairs. The room itself was SMALL! Luckily we had no cat with us, as there wouldn't have been room to swing it. The iron bedstead is - again - chabby chic, but a little disconcerting, nevertheless. (I felt like I was staying in a 19th century hospital bed.) There was a small desk/dressing table and a chair as well as the bed crammed in. Whilst the bathroom was clean and the paint not peeling, it did need freshening up. Given the smallness of the room, it was lucky there was a walk-in closet (beneath the hotel staircase) off the bathroom, where we could not only store our suitcase but actually open it without having to put it on the bed. Happily, the room fee included wifi; it also included continental breakfast, (laid out on a table in the hallway). I'd rate the croissants/brioche/pastries as edible/average - but as expected in US hotels. Despite all this, given the outrageous prices of hotels in San Francisco, the Andrews is still worth a look if you: * want to be close to the centre of the Union Square area (which we found great for getting public transport, especially with a 3-day bus/cable-car/trolley pass), * don't want to pay an arm and a leg for SF accommodation * don't expect space, or décor that's less than 50 years old. I'd describe it as more shabby than chic, but the reception staff were pleasant enough, the breakfast edible, and the room adequate for our needs. If you are on a budget and know what to expect of your accommodation here, it's worth a look...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a travel pass, to allow you unlimited travel on buses, trolleys and cable-cars. A 3-day pass cost us ~$28 each; we bought it at the kiosk on the corner of Market & Powell Streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFO my Favorite
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 15, 2014

Great experience a classic Hotel.

Wonderful experience. Felt confortable and welcome the entire time we stayed. This is not your usual Hotel. Rooms clean and size good. Bathrooms smaller than you usually see. Location great. Restaurant and Bar in Lobby a big plus. Continental breakfast in the hall of each floor is perfect. Staff was great all the time. Will definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fino right in the lobby is a great restaurant to have dinner. It is a plus if you happen to be staying at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marybethhhhhh
Business
San Jose, California
Feb 15, 2014

Nice hotel!

Friendly and great location. Free breakfast and wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Gal 74
Business
Chicago
Jan 21, 2014

Cute Boutique Hotel

Overall, we had a great experience. The hotel is centrally located, had a good continental breakfast every morning, and coffee/tea/fruit available 24/7. It's not the Ritz but if you're not planning on spending time in your room, it's a great place. The restaurant downstairs is a MUST. Delicious food, great service, ambiance is cool. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tassie Devil
Business
ex Perth, Australia
Dec 4, 2013

Andrews Hotel

Excellent Boutique Hotel. Only criticism is that the shower volume and height could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friendly group
Business
New York
Nov 12, 2013

Good Value

Good price, great location. Breakfast could be better (they could add yogurt and cut fruit, for example), but I really liked the fact that it was served in the corridor, just outside the door to my room. Room is small, but it is fine for just a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Rage Ran
Business
Marina Del Rey
Sep 11, 2013

I recommend Andrews!

if you are sensitive to noise, make sure you asked for a room in the back. Post is 1 of the busiest street at Union Square. Be assured if you have a room facing Post, you will hear every sound known to man in large quantities. Service is excellent! Workers are cordial and responsive. A complaint I read was no air conditioner. Typically SF doesn't need it cuz it's so cold, so that was no big deal. The room and bathroom is quite small. It's too be expected since its in an old Victorian hotel. Back then people must've been half the size. Over all I must say for the price point, location, professionalism and friendliness you could not ask for more. I recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Finos is very good. Yelp rates it 4 stars, I agree. Btw you get a complimentary wine every day you stay at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top