$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Americas Best Value Inn

2 stars
View map of 2322 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KittyBearDuck
Business
Orange County, CA
Dec 2, 2013

Quick and easy for casual road trips

Don't expect amazing luxuries at ABVI; this is the kind of hotel geared toward the passing traveler who's just looking for a somewhat cheap bed for a night or two before continuing on his/her sight-seeing adventure. Check-In: Pleasant check-in, if a bit long. No smoking allowed anywhere except outside of the complex—great for people like me who hate smokers. The man at the front desk was courteous, though the process itself took quite a bit as he had to manually enter a ton of information into the computer before giving us our key cards. Note: they do require a $50 CC hold for incidentals and will credit it back once you check out. Bedroom Area: Not amazingly clean but not the worst. It's sort of dingy in a few spots, but I wasn't at any point afraid for my health. Lights weren't all functioning correctly, but I only needed one to work anyway. Bathroom: bottle-free. Soap, shower gel, lotion, and shampoo/conditioner dispenser units are built into the bathroom. Plenty of towels are provided along with a weak hair-dryer. No toothbrushes/toothpaste, so bring your own! Walls: Thin but bearable. You can hear outside activity, but ABVI is in a somewhat quiet area, so falling asleep wasn't difficult. It did get chilly, though, but I blame my sheet-hogging fiance for that one. Breakfast: Ick. You get your choice of toast, pre-packed cinnamon buns, and coffee/juice. Not exactly a breakfast for champions. Then again, you're in SF; there are tons of good breakfast/coffee options around. Parking: Free but first-come, first-served. It shouldn't be a problem as long as you come some time in the late morning/afternoon (when people have checked out or driven off to go sight-seeing around town). Check-out: Super quick. Hand in key cards and done. Location: All right. It's less than a mile away from Van Ness, so it's totally walkable. Fortunately, SF has a decent public transportation system, so no matter where you are, you can get to where you want to go fairly quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dsrtmom6
Business
Palm Desert
Nov 19, 2013

Can't wait to go back!!

We didn't spend much time in our room. The beds were comfortable so we were happy. We loved the location and for the price we'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galant
Business
USA
Oct 20, 2013

Location location location

Hotel very well located at Lombard Street. Good sleeping quality is good. Restaurants and public transportation around you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for a room away from the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alcatraz Invitational
Business
Santa Cruz
Sep 30, 2013

Just OK

Stay was ok, parking slots narrow. Was quieter than I expected. Very average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Willie D
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 9, 2013

Not the best.

Not the best I have stayed in . Parking sucked, room did not have enough light at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short cab drive to downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sam pancholi
Business
Uk
Aug 1, 2013

Just ok

Overall not very good.breakfast is rubbish, no space to even stand properly, forget about sitting. Very small and crowded space for even 10 people. No hot breakfast at all. Very poor service and no one there to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DutchTulipGirl
Business
San Francisco
Jul 21, 2013

Do Not Recommend This Hotel

I am shocked I was booked with this hotel. The staff were not friendly, never asked about our stay at check out, no thank you just "have a nice day." The furniture and bed spreads had visible dirt on them. One sink drain stop didn't work making the sink unusable. The were 2 large holes in the floor covered by carpet only. The iron didn't work properly, one lamp and 2 electric outlets didn't work. Finally the breakfast consisted of pasties in plastic bags, toast, coffee, and juice. The outside was dingy and dirty, paint peeling off the railings, dirty walls, pathetic little window boxes sitting on the ground with dying dry plants in them. I was told there was free parking along with the room however there were only a few spots in the hotel parking which were always occupied, we paid to park in a public garage for our entire stay. We also had to pay for breakfast at a local restaurant each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bereka Coffee shop next to the hotel was lovely, delicious coffee and very friendly caring staff. Cash only.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Betsy Rose
Business
Fresno, CA
Jan 14, 2013

Perfect for our needs!

We went there for my boyfriend's birthday and weren't in the room very often, we slept there and kept our car in the lot for free. The staff even let us stay there for a few hours after checkout so that we could do a few more things in SF before we left. Everything was clean and great for the price. It's right across the street from Ihop and a block away from a Muni stop. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Punchline Comedy Club is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lilac Girl
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 8, 2012

Stop and sleep

All I needed was a bed and a bathroom, both of which were clean. The location was good, and several great restaurants were within walking distance, as was the Muni stop. A continental breakfast was included, and it consisted of muffins and toast - nothing special at all. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tipsy Pig is just around the corner; it is a great place to meet friends for a meal. Across the street from the The Tipsy Pig is a wonderful Italian restaurant, E'Angelo. It is a very small, quaint establishment that is perfect for parties of two or for dining alone. Both The Tipsy Pig and E'Angelo are located on Chestnut Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Heartbroken from Oregon
Business
Beaverton, Oregon
Oct 8, 2012

HORRIBLE - CRIED EACH DAY!!!

I choose this room because the pictures being displayed of the rooms showed that it had a kitchenette with a stove and full size fridge at the location where I wanted to stay, which was the big reason I reserved 5 days there. According to the picture the room looked remodel and fresh paint and a kitchen. Oh, I was so excited when I made the reservation. I could not wait to go to San Francisco. Oh, what a nightmare. What I received PALED in comparison to the pictures that were shown. I walked into my room and it was a cheap motel; no stove, no full size fridge, no kitchenette, no coffee pot, no microwave. There was not even a double lock on the front door for security, just the one on the handle. The other lock had been removed. The shower curtain contain black mold along the entire curtain bottom. The room smelled musty and old. Did not look freshly painted. I paid over $900 for a motel room, plus we had to go out to eat because I could not cook which cost us extra money for 5 days which we were not counting on spending so much money because we were on a budget. I JUST CRIED . The first day I walked into the room I went back to the office to tell the front desk person that room was not what I reserved online. I told him the one I reserved had a kitchenette. He smirked and said none of the rooms have a kitchenettes. I was so heart broken that our hotel room was actually a old motel room. Before my vacation I was bragging to all my friends of what a great deal I got and that my room was beautiful and it had a kitchenette. Now, I have to tell them my awful experience. I would not recommend this location to anyone. I am so HEARTBROKEN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top