$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
View map of 3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
364 reviews
Family trip

Great stay at Wyndham Garden. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Very close to Sea World and Mission... See full review

  • Adrian R.
  • May 17, 2015
Good Hotel

The hotel overall was nice. The staff in the lobby were very friendly. I called to the desk to ask... See full review

  • JENNIFER W.
  • Apr 6, 2015
The Wyndham Garden San Diego is located within a short drive of Sea World, Mission Bay and just about every other attraction north of downtown San Diego. The property features a heated outdoor pool and hot tub with a large sundeck, as well as Dupar's, a 24-hour restaurant on-site. Visiting children will love the suites with bunk beds. Accommodations boast flat-screen TV and complimentary high-speed Internet access.
Dining
Dupar's, the on-site restaurant, is open 24 hours and serves traditional deli food, as well as freshly baked breads and cakes. Wyndham Garden San Diego is also within walking distance to a number of other restaurants and bars on Mission Bay.
Rooms

The 112 regular rooms and 10 suites at The Wyndham Garden San Diego vary significantly depending on room type. All accommodations come standard with flat-screen TV, hair-dryer and ironing board. Suites comprise two rooms and the second room boasts a sleeper sofa, desk and chair, microwave and a mini-refrigerator. One suite even features bunk beds for children. All accommodations include complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Property features

Wyndham Garden San Diego has received a Three Diamond Award from AAA. All guests receive discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also receive complimentary access to a heated outdoor pool and hot tub on a spacious sundeck.

While there is no on-site fitness center, guests have complimentary access to the nearby Victory MMA Gym and Boxing Ring, a full-service facility with cardio equipment, free weights and (as the name suggests) a boxing ring. The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor pool and hot tub with spacious sundeck
  • Enjoy late-night dining at on-site, 24-hour restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access in rooms
Nearby attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • More than 2,500 square feet of meeting space
Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
Policies

Parking fee is $10/night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden San Diego also booked these hotels.

★★★
$122
3.9 / 5 459 reviews
★★★
$79
3.3 / 5 296 reviews
★★★
$107
3.8 / 5 266 reviews
★★★
$79
3.5 / 5 122 reviews
★★★
$92
4.1 / 5 122 reviews
★★
$57
3.1 / 5 69 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 425 reviews
★★★★
$155
3.8 / 5 341 reviews

Wyndham Garden San Diego Rooms

Double Suite
The room offers two double beds and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom with two double beds, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.
Family Superior Suite
With one king-size bed and one set of bunk beds, these family suites are truly unique. The Kids Mini Suite makes a great choice when you're bringing the whole family along. A half wall gives everyone a little extra privacy. One full bathroom. One Flat Screen TV for family to see from their beds, includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Deluxe Queen
The room offers two queen beds. This newly renovated room consists of two (2) Queen-size beds. Each room has a 32inch flat-panel TV, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi because the hotel know the right technology is just as important when your hotel room becomes your home away from home. In the bathroom you'll find True Blue Spa Bath amenities for just the right amount of pampering.
King Suite
The room offers one king bed and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.6 mi
  • Viejas Arena: 2,120 mi

Dining

Phil's BBQ - Famous since the 70's in San Diego!
This is a local favorite and worth the wait in line.
Pt. Loma Seafood - Fresh fish daily!
Considered to have the freshest fish in town. Casual outdoor seating and deli style set up. CASH ONLY but worth making a trip.
Old Town Mexican Cafe - Fresh tortillas!
San Diego favorite tourism spot is Old Town and you will have a variety of Mexican flare to choose from.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Some say it's location, location, location. And at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Hotel Near SeaWorld the hotel could not agree more. The hotel is not only walking distance to more than 100 businesses and restaurants, The property is less than five miles from important military installations. But a convenient address is only the beginning of the story. Here at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Near SeaWorld, a great location is combined with spectacular service to create something truly outstanding. With three Meeting Rooms offering a total of 2,800 square feet of event space, the hotel provide a level of personalized attention you just won't find at larger factory-style meeting venues. What's more, with windows in each and every one of the San Diego Meeting Room, all rooms boast refreshing natural sunlight.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
364 out of 364
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
River runner
Couples
Barstow
Mar 30, 2014

Not what I expected for the money I spent.

The room was pretty pricey so I expected everything to go smoothly but upon checking in or rather trying to there was some sort of mix up of the days. Luckily I had my hotel confirmation email so they had to give me a room. The staff wasn't that friendly even though whatever mistake it was that had been made was at no fault of mine. Their deposit fee was a bit high and they had all these extra fees so I was afraid to touch anything in the room. The shower didn't get that hot and the shower head was quite loose. They gave us two beds even though I requested one. The tv remote didn't work and the outside noise was very loud. I heard everything that was happening outside all night long. And I could hear every move the people above us made. I did not rest well at all and could not wait to check out the next day. I definitely don't recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vacation 2014
Family
Wisconsin
May 1, 2014

Not recommended for families!!

We arrived late after a day at the Zoo, and walked into a musty damp room. After switching to the correct Family Suite room we went to sleep on the most uncomfortable beds with blankets and sheets that had holes in them. In the morning I actually took a look at the room with its damp floor and noticed black mold on the bathroom ceiling. We checked out immediately and ended our stay early. The staff was very helpful in this process and we are appreciative of them working out the refunds for us. I would definitely say this hotel needs a major renovation before continuing to do business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SnoopIndia
Family
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Not for Family with Kids

Please dont fall for the lobby pictures posted on the site. The room is complete different. Also 1 br/ba ends up in a very small room with a bad television and very poor wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lots of miles travelled
Family
Goleta, CA, USA
Dec 3, 2011

not 3 star

if you like a lumpy bed, with lots of squeaks, and a room with lots of surrounding noise...near the stairwell...etc this room is for the one that does not need a quiet space for rest and relaxation. Other wise it is fine.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacation 101
Family
Phx, az
Jul 9, 2012

Nightmare in San Diego

We arrived at midnight to a supposed Junior Suite that would sleep 6! What a not good. It was a standard room with a partition wall - 2 very small double beds in one part that almost touched even though they were already touching the walls on the other side. The other side of the partition was a pull out couch that when opened almost completely filled the room! Even though our information showed 5 people there was no bedding for the pull out couch and only 3 towels. The hotel description told us it would sleep 6-8. It would only just hold 3 and we were a family of 5 with nowhere else to go. There were people sleeping on the streets around the hotel and the room smelt like someone had smoked recently in it and someone had just recently sprayed it with an aweful scent to try and cover the smell of the smoke! The hotel manager and myself were on hold for almost an hour the next morning before the situation was resolved and we were able to leave and move to find a better hotel. You need to verify the descriptions given to you by your listed properties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Les 8945
Family
San Diego
Aug 3, 2012

MEDIOCRE AT BEST

We found the hotel to be below expectations. I chose it as the web site made it appear to be above average. It was not. No one was actually friendly. the pool was murky, the food average and they even charged for a bad cup of coffee. I will not stay at Wynham again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lousy Guest Accomodations
Family
Fountain Valley, California
Jun 18, 2012

Lack of parking is irresponsible!

I cannot believe that anyone would operate a hotel that cannot provide enough parking spaces for their guests. In addition to not having enough parking spaces, a majority of the spaces were so small that I saw passengers who had to exit the car before the car pulled into the parking space in order to be able to get out! I had to park my Lexus across the street at Phil's BBQ Restaurant and was praying that it would be safe. I wasn't expecting anything spectacular about the room. It was very ordinary, the mattress was uncomfortable, the lighting above the sink was very dim, and the remote control to the tv did not work. I'm glad that I only had to stay one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phil's BBQ Restaurant, which is across the street from the hotel, is sooooo delicious! I highly recommend it but be prepared to wait in line. It is a very popular spot and the line moves fairly quick.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SpYderman and MJ
Family
SUNNY SO CAL
Aug 7, 2012

Low Budget = Low amenities and service

This hotel was less than desirable. If you want microwave you are charged $25 extra, bedding appreared to be scortched from iron, not enough towels to accommodate the # of guests we paid for (4). The pool is YUCK! It is sitting right next to a restaurant, so the patrons of the restaurant watch you swim/lay out. WEIRD! Lousy service at front desk. They tell you they will put a $50 incidental fee on hold with your credit card, but do not be alarmed it is a $99 fee that takes a while to get returned. If you inquire about the fee, they will refer you to your bank! Nothing like passing the buck!! We have stayed at other wyndams and enjoyed the hotel, pool, etc. I will NEVER stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Cabrillo National Park for their tide pools. It is a great place for the kids to roam around and explore. It is also beautiful and worth the view!

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel SuperExpert
Family
Salem, Oregon
Aug 13, 2012

Unfriendly staff

Definitely not staying there again. The staff at the front desk is not helpful, and treat you like you are bothering them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice Red Lobster close by.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alberto Intrepid traveler
Family
Upland, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Good trip in spite of the hotel

My family and i decided to splurge on a hotel room, and we learn that spending more those not equate into a better experience. The hotel stated that there was free WiFi, but it did not work in our room. I informed the hotel staff and the tech support number multiple time, but they did not fix the problem. there were also multiple broken fixtures, the ice machine on our building and a fan in our room. There were some pleasant features, the room layout and the proximity to the freeway, but these were not enough to salvage the letdown we experienced. Had this hotel been 50 cheaper perhaps it would have been worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top