$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
324 reviews
Great stay

We had a great time. The swimlng pool was clean. Close To stores, eateries, and nice area to take a... See full review

  • Eperaza
  • Aug 10, 2014
fun family time

Its a great place to stay super clean and roomy we love the privacy wall between our bed and the... See full review

  • curlyqt
  • Apr 29, 2014
Intimate hotel located near Mission Bay with pool
The Wyndham Garden San Diego is located within a short drive of Sea World, Mission Bay and just about every other attraction north of downtown San Diego. The property features a heated outdoor pool and hot tub with a large sundeck, as well as Dupar's, a 24-hour restaurant on-site. Visiting children will love the suites with bunk beds. Accommodations boast flat-screen TV and complimentary high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Heated outdoor pool and hot tub with spacious sundeck
  • Enjoy late-night dining at on-site, 24-hour restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access in rooms
Rooms

The 112 regular rooms and 10 suites at The Wyndham Garden San Diego vary significantly depending on room type. All accommodations come standard with flat-screen TV, hair-dryer and ironing board. Suites comprise two rooms and the second room boasts a sleeper sofa, desk and chair, microwave and a mini-refrigerator. One suite even features bunk beds for children. All accommodations include complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

Wyndham Garden San Diego has received a Three Diamond Award from AAA. All guests receive free parking, as well as discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also receive complimentary access to a heated outdoor pool and hot tub on a spacious sundeck.

While there is no on-site fitness center, guests have complimentary access to the nearby Victory MMA Gym and Boxing Ring, a full-service facility with cardio equipment, free weights and (as the name suggests) a boxing ring. The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Dining
Dupar's, the on-site restaurant, is open 24 hours and serves traditional deli food, as well as freshly baked breads and cakes. Wyndham Garden San Diego is also within walking distance to a number of other restaurants and bars on Mission Bay.
Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • More than 2,500 square feet of meeting space

 

Hotel Map

32.7539 -117.2152
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport Lindbergh Field.
Area description
Sun-splashed San Diego is packed with fun local activities and so many of them are remarkably close by. Just two miles away you can immerse yourself in all the fun at SeaWorld San Diego. It's the place to see Shamu and all his underwater friends. Or step back in time and stroll through Old Town with its wonderful galleries and museums, then visit Cabrillo National Monument. It's also home to the Old Point Loma Lighthouse. Just four miles from the hotel you'll find even more excitement. Choose from the world-class San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, or the charming Gaslamp Quarter. Kids of all ages will love a chance to see the awe-inspiring and totally fun LEGOLAND. What's more, Valley View Casino Center is just across the street and it's the place to see Cirque du Soleil, Disney on Ice, and so much more. Don't forget, since the hotel is located just four miles from the San Diego International Airport, getting here takes only minutes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Wyndham Garden San Diego Rooms

Double Suite
The room offers two double beds and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom with two double beds, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.
Family Superior Suite
With one king-size bed and one set of bunk beds, these family suites are truly unique. The Kids Mini Suite makes a great choice when you're bringing the whole family along. A half wall gives everyone a little extra privacy. One full bathroom. One Flat Screen TV for family to see from their beds, includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Deluxe Queen
The room offers two queen beds. This newly renovated room consists of two (2) Queen-size beds. Each room has a 32inch flat-panel TV, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi because the hotel know the right technology is just as important when your hotel room becomes your home away from home. In the bathroom you'll find True Blue Spa Bath amenities for just the right amount of pampering.
King Suite
The room offers one king bed and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Some say it's location, location, location. And at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Hotel Near SeaWorld the hotel could not agree more. The hotel is not only walking distance to more than 100 businesses and restaurants, The property is less than five miles from important military installations. But a convenient address is only the beginning of the story. Here at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Near SeaWorld, a great location is combined with spectacular service to create something truly outstanding. With three Meeting Rooms offering a total of 2,800 square feet of event space, the hotel provide a level of personalized attention you just won't find at larger factory-style meeting venues. What's more, with windows in each and every one of the San Diego Meeting Room, all rooms boast refreshing natural sunlight.

Dining

Phil's BBQ - Famous since the 70's in San Diego!
This is a local favorite and worth the wait in line.
Pt. Loma Seafood - Fresh fish daily!
Considered to have the freshest fish in town. Casual outdoor seating and deli style set up. CASH ONLY but worth making a trip.
Old Town Mexican Cafe - Fresh tortillas!
San Diego favorite tourism spot is Old Town and you will have a variety of Mexican flare to choose from.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (324)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
324 out of 324
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jumbp
San antonio, tx
Sep 10, 2012

Avoid this place

Rated as 3 star .... Motel 6 would be better than this. I paid just $60 bucks but still its not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Worcester, MA
Jul 11, 2010

Don't

Clerk could not find reservation and appeared to be illiterate: "What's your name?" "On the license I just gave you." "What's your first name?" "On the license." "How do you spell that?" "License." Where did the reservation confirmation sheet come from? [...] The clue was the word [...] at the top of the page.Pool pictured: NOT the pool they have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barbecue place across the street.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Les 8945
San Diego
Aug 3, 2012

MEDIOCRE AT BEST

We found the hotel to be below expectations. I chose it as the web site made it appear to be above average. It was not. No one was actually friendly. the pool was murky, the food average and they even charged for a bad cup of coffee. I will not stay at Wynham again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tony grandpa
seattle, wa
Oct 7, 2013

overall not good

bathroom commode leaking move to other room wait for 0ne hour so tired from outing. front desk not nice staff. we ask for convenience for another room for my granddaughter to have a bunk bed said no we could get for upgrade were willing to pay for extra, said no that is for reserved but we always passed that room no one stayed still vacant. its really disappointed to my family we take them for vacations, for my granddaughter 3rd birthday. Im not recommend to my family. its a short stay only thanks God. We travel everywhere with my family, every year all over the country, but this is my first experience. Hope it wouldnt anymore. thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phils Barbeque

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lots of miles travelled
Goleta, CA, USA
Dec 3, 2011

not 3 star

if you like a lumpy bed, with lots of squeaks, and a room with lots of surrounding noise...near the stairwell...etc this room is for the one that does not need a quiet space for rest and relaxation. Other wise it is fine.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lousy Guest Accomodations
Fountain Valley, California
Jun 18, 2012

Lack of parking is irresponsible!

I cannot believe that anyone would operate a hotel that cannot provide enough parking spaces for their guests. In addition to not having enough parking spaces, a majority of the spaces were so small that I saw passengers who had to exit the car before the car pulled into the parking space in order to be able to get out! I had to park my Lexus across the street at Phil's BBQ Restaurant and was praying that it would be safe. I wasn't expecting anything spectacular about the room. It was very ordinary, the mattress was uncomfortable, the lighting above the sink was very dim, and the remote control to the tv did not work. I'm glad that I only had to stay one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phil's BBQ Restaurant, which is across the street from the hotel, is sooooo delicious! I highly recommend it but be prepared to wait in line. It is a very popular spot and the line moves fairly quick.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SpYderman and MJ
SUNNY SO CAL
Aug 7, 2012

Low Budget = Low amenities and service

This hotel was less than desirable. If you want microwave you are charged $25 extra, bedding appreared to be scortched from iron, not enough towels to accommodate the # of guests we paid for (4). The pool is YUCK! It is sitting right next to a restaurant, so the patrons of the restaurant watch you swim/lay out. WEIRD! Lousy service at front desk. They tell you they will put a $50 incidental fee on hold with your credit card, but do not be alarmed it is a $99 fee that takes a while to get returned. If you inquire about the fee, they will refer you to your bank! Nothing like passing the buck!! We have stayed at other wyndams and enjoyed the hotel, pool, etc. I will NEVER stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Cabrillo National Park for their tide pools. It is a great place for the kids to roam around and explore. It is also beautiful and worth the view!

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chapulines Family
Lancaster, California
Jul 30, 2014

Unprepared & Unorganized.

The carpet of my room was soaking wet and the room was not clean properly. I was told by the night manager that there was no more rooms available. Very disappointing......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
SANTA CLARITA
Oct 18, 2010

MOST DISGUSTING HOTEL EVER

DO NOT STAY HERE.... DISGUSTING.. HORRIBLE SERVICE... RUDE. IF I COULD GIVE NEGATIVE STARS I WOULD. I CHECKED IN SAW MY ROOM AND THE THUGS WALKIING THE PARKING LOT. I CHECKED OUT 5 MINUTES LATER AND WAS THANKFUL MY TRUCK HAD NOT BEEN STOLEN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JediMama
Escondido, CA
May 17, 2014

HORRIBLE smell, wrong room, made us leave early.

This hotel does have a good location near a lot of things but that is the only thing good I have to say about it. We had to leave our home because of the wildfires and they gave us a 1:00p.m. checkout time which we thought was really nice. We were given the wrong room at 9 p.m. so after we unpacked four kids and all of our stuff we had to move clear across the hotel to a room that smelled like mildew. The a/c only worked on one side of a wall and there was no a/c in the back room. One tv would not turn on, the phone did not work. There was black mold on the ceiling of the bathroom that they attempted to paint over but failed. That worst part was that they made us leave early and did not honor the 1 p.m. check out time that the lady gave us the day before so we could have more time to figure out what was going on with the fire. The manager said "I have no record of that so you need to leave." I had not even complained about ANYTHING previous to him asking us to leave but I did inform them that I was going to leave a review of how we were treated. Also, the lobby is beautiful but that's as far as it goes. The rooms are not nice at all. We went and paid $10 more the next night at a nice hotel in the gaslamp district that allowed both of out pets for free and even gave them dog beds and water bowls. Don't waste your money on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to walk to eat

Back to menu Return to top

Change search