$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
View map of 3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
splatt
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jul 10, 2012

Good Location and Value

The location was great minutes away from the the San Diego Zoo and Seaworld which was what we came for. The room was clean a bit small, it had a space for a fridge but there wasn't one. The beds were way to hard. Not enough towels or pillows but they did bring them to the room when asked. The staff was plesant. The resturant was over priced for what you got. There was better places to eat within walking distance which was nice. I would stay there again for a short stay but would look elsewhere if I was staying longer than a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The BBQ place across the street was worth the hour wait to get in....would come back again just to eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
villalobos
Business
rialto ca
Jul 10, 2012

Family vacation...

To whom, This experience at this hotel wasn't good from the point of checking in. We arrived at the location to check in 2 adults and 3 kids to find out that they didn't have a room that we reserved for 2 nights 3 day available. To find out that the manager had to transfer us to another hotel about a mile away without good parking. To only check out and go back to the original hotel that we were supppose to stay at . We couldn't get comfortable without out having to wake up early to check out. They promised us a roll away bed to make our stay good to only find out that they gave the roll away that they were suppose to deliver early when checking in to our room to another family. They didn't call to inform us at all we made 3 call to front desk then when asking them for towels they told me I had to go get them because there was no one to deliver them to my room. So my husband had to sleep on the floor with the bed comforters from the bed . Which is so uncofortable and unsanitary and rude. When a guest is paying to stay in a room especially for the price you shouldn't have to sleep on the floor. Also to mention we tried out the pool and that was good but uncomfortable at the same time the pool enviroment is surrounded by a restraunt to were all the guest there can see the whole pool activities because it's all glass. Then not to mention they allow thier guest to buy alchole drinks . So we had to deal with a man who had his 2 kids under 10 in the pool come back in forth intoxicated . So that was not the experience i expected to have with my family so we left. So with all this said the manager of the hotel needs to have the housekeeping manager/supervisor keep better track of where guest reguests need to go instead of telling the guest they actually have limited items and they accidently gave it to another room. Last but no least the night registraion need better work ethic towards guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
another unhappy guest
Business
san diego, california
Jul 13, 2012

family getaway

if you are looking for a average hotel this is the place for u cause that is all u are gonna get. the parking is very tight and the rooms are nothing to write home about i will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seaworld san Diego
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 13, 2012

Satisfied

I really liked it.the only thing is they got my info mixed up and they over charged.but got the problem fixed:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
REALLYWASDISAPPOINTED
Business
KINGMAN AZ
Jun 11, 2012

NOT FOR A FAMILY

JR. SUITE WAS SMALL, COULD NOT GET ENOUGH TOWELS, ONE DAY THEY TOOK ALL THE TOWELS AND LEFT US ONE, NO HAND TOWEL OR WASH CLOTH, WE STAYED FOR FOUR NIGHTS AND WAS NOT OFFERED RESTURANT VOCHERS FOR DU-PARS, I THINK IT WAS BECAUSE WE USED A THIRD PARTY TO RESERVE AND PAY FOR THE ROOM. I DON'T THINK THAT SHOULD BE A FACTOR, I THINK FOUR NIGHTS DESERVES BREAKFAST.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

VERY CLOSE TO SEAWORLD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frank15
Business
Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico
Aug 6, 2012

Good location near to Sea world and Mission bay beaches

The location is very good, too close to sea world. The room was very clean except for the bathroom that looked old not dirty but old. In the hotel description it said that this room inlcuded microwave and refrigerator but according to the hotel they would charge 10 dlls for the micro and 15 or 25 for the fridge. Maybe this is not a 3 star hotel, I would rate it as 2 or 2.5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Sea world and Mission bay beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MomS view
Business
Alaska
Aug 7, 2012

Awful Service

Tried to go to office and call for towels. Had to do this numerous times to get anything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matt the Fitness Coach
Business
Covina, California
Aug 10, 2012

Family Getaway

The room itself was decent, but we were given a choice between quiet, near the pool, or on the third floor with a view. We chose near the pool, and it wasn't very close at all. It was not quiet because we could hear the outside noise, and our windows were blocked by a huge pillar. The family suite was great for our boys, who got their own bunk beds and we had a little privacy on the other side of the wall, but that was about it for the positives. The bed was very hard, our air conditioner was leaking and falling apart. When we returned home after a long day, we came back to a clogged toilet and it took maintenance over a half hour to arrive with a plunger in a plastic bag. This place is not bad if you don't plan on spending much time in your room. Thankfully, we had planned to be out enjoying what San Diego had to offer. The location was great, with Sea World, Point Loma, and Old Town San Diego just minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
That's So Fargo
Business
North Dakota
Feb 8, 2013

Disappointment

The location was great as it was near everything, especially the MCRD. Food, shopping and attractions all within a few miles. However, lots of homeless people in the area. The room was outdated and small even though we had a suite. Was stuffy and musty smelling when we would get back at the end of the day. Breezeway was fenced off construction materials. On site restraunt was business next door and food was very disappointing. Fitness center was business down the block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casa De Juice around the corner is a great healthy way to start the day or lunch. Also, if you rent a car getting the GPS was well worth the 10 a day. We easily navigated the whole city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommy2QandZ
Business
Pasadena, CA
Mar 26, 2013

I'd say you get what you pay for ...but I've paid less and got more.

I guess I expected a little more from a three-star hotel. It felt more like a motel. Ther was no "garden" anything about this place. Here's the story- We arrived at night. The person at the counter was really nice. I told him we were traveling with a toddler and asked for a ground-level room or one pretty close to elevators. He told me they were sold out and our room was not too far from an elevator. He then proceeded to pull out a map and tell me we had to drive to our "lot". Turns out our building was the furthest one back but in order to access it we had to drive out onto the main street, pass a tire repair shop, a couple of other businesses, turn right at the corner, pass some men sitting at the curb next to a couple of junk hauling trucks, and turn into our parking lot driveway, where our building was located. It wasn't a pretty scene. We get inside our room and it was very small- but we had reserved the Family Suite, which is the largest they had. We figured we would not spend too much time there so decided to stay. But every move led to new discoveries. The front half of the room had a halogen ceiling light - not very inviting. We did get a king size bed, which was nice. From first look the room was very clean and nice enough. We opened the mini-fridge and over a pint of water fell out onto the carpet - I called and told the front desk what happened that we would need extra towels to clean it up. There was silence on the other end. "hello,hello," I said. "Okay, we'll send someone up to check it out.". About 10 mins later someone knocks on the door, delivers a whole set of clean towels and leaves...??? Okay so we cleaned it up and hoped the wet carpet didn't start to smell. When we went to use the restroom, equipped with more halogen lights, we first noticed mold on several parts of the ceiling. Then noticed the cracks in the shower enclosure and the front falling off of the granite vanity (literally, it was about three inches off on one side and you could see the glue - the only thing keeping it up was the wall on one side!). So, except for the halogen light as we entered, the front of the room was nice enough - and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been touched for twenty years. Oh....did I tell you our building looked more like low-rent apartments in a dirty neighborhood than of a hotel???? What saved this experience was the great breakfast at Du-Pars next door. Great food, service and delish desserts all made on site! They will deliver to your room as well:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Du-Pars is a must - and although we didn't have time to go, the BBQ spot across the street was always packed and had great reviews. There is no shortage of food choices all around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top