$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
364 reviews
Staycation

While this hotel isn't in the greatest of neighborhoods, this hotel is a short Uber or SideCar ride... See full review

  • N2OCEAN
  • Jan 12, 2015
Great Trip

I slept really well and my daughters did, too. The location was great and right across the street... See full review

  • Donna M.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Intimate hotel located near Mission Bay with pool
The Wyndham Garden San Diego is located within a short drive of Sea World, Mission Bay and just about every other attraction north of downtown San Diego. The property features a heated outdoor pool and hot tub with a large sundeck, as well as Dupar's, a 24-hour restaurant on-site. Visiting children will love the suites with bunk beds. Accommodations boast flat-screen TV and complimentary high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Heated outdoor pool and hot tub with spacious sundeck
  • Enjoy late-night dining at on-site, 24-hour restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access in rooms
Rooms

The 112 regular rooms and 10 suites at The Wyndham Garden San Diego vary significantly depending on room type. All accommodations come standard with flat-screen TV, hair-dryer and ironing board. Suites comprise two rooms and the second room boasts a sleeper sofa, desk and chair, microwave and a mini-refrigerator. One suite even features bunk beds for children. All accommodations include complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

Wyndham Garden San Diego has received a Three Diamond Award from AAA. All guests receive discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also receive complimentary access to a heated outdoor pool and hot tub on a spacious sundeck.

While there is no on-site fitness center, guests have complimentary access to the nearby Victory MMA Gym and Boxing Ring, a full-service facility with cardio equipment, free weights and (as the name suggests) a boxing ring. The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Dining
Dupar's, the on-site restaurant, is open 24 hours and serves traditional deli food, as well as freshly baked breads and cakes. Wyndham Garden San Diego is also within walking distance to a number of other restaurants and bars on Mission Bay.
Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • More than 2,500 square feet of meeting space
Policies and fees

Parking fee is $10/night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Wyndham Garden San Diego Rooms

Double Suite
The room offers two double beds and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom with two double beds, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.
Family Superior Suite
With one king-size bed and one set of bunk beds, these family suites are truly unique. The Kids Mini Suite makes a great choice when you're bringing the whole family along. A half wall gives everyone a little extra privacy. One full bathroom. One Flat Screen TV for family to see from their beds, includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Deluxe Queen
The room offers two queen beds. This newly renovated room consists of two (2) Queen-size beds. Each room has a 32inch flat-panel TV, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi because the hotel know the right technology is just as important when your hotel room becomes your home away from home. In the bathroom you'll find True Blue Spa Bath amenities for just the right amount of pampering.
King Suite
The room offers one king bed and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120 mi

Dining

Old Town Mexican Cafe - Fresh tortillas!
San Diego favorite tourism spot is Old Town and you will have a variety of Mexican flare to choose from.
Phil's BBQ - Famous since the 70's in San Diego!
This is a local favorite and worth the wait in line.
Pt. Loma Seafood - Fresh fish daily!
Considered to have the freshest fish in town. Casual outdoor seating and deli style set up. CASH ONLY but worth making a trip.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Some say it's location, location, location. And at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Hotel Near SeaWorld the hotel could not agree more. The hotel is not only walking distance to more than 100 businesses and restaurants, The property is less than five miles from important military installations. But a convenient address is only the beginning of the story. Here at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Near SeaWorld, a great location is combined with spectacular service to create something truly outstanding. With three Meeting Rooms offering a total of 2,800 square feet of event space, the hotel provide a level of personalized attention you just won't find at larger factory-style meeting venues. What's more, with windows in each and every one of the San Diego Meeting Room, all rooms boast refreshing natural sunlight.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (364)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
364 out of 364
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
REALLYWASDISAPPOINTED
Business
KINGMAN AZ
Jun 11, 2012

NOT FOR A FAMILY

JR. SUITE WAS SMALL, COULD NOT GET ENOUGH TOWELS, ONE DAY THEY TOOK ALL THE TOWELS AND LEFT US ONE, NO HAND TOWEL OR WASH CLOTH, WE STAYED FOR FOUR NIGHTS AND WAS NOT OFFERED RESTURANT VOCHERS FOR DU-PARS, I THINK IT WAS BECAUSE WE USED A THIRD PARTY TO RESERVE AND PAY FOR THE ROOM. I DON'T THINK THAT SHOULD BE A FACTOR, I THINK FOUR NIGHTS DESERVES BREAKFAST.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

VERY CLOSE TO SEAWORLD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frank15
Business
Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico
Aug 6, 2012

Good location near to Sea world and Mission bay beaches

The location is very good, too close to sea world. The room was very clean except for the bathroom that looked old not dirty but old. In the hotel description it said that this room inlcuded microwave and refrigerator but according to the hotel they would charge 10 dlls for the micro and 15 or 25 for the fridge. Maybe this is not a 3 star hotel, I would rate it as 2 or 2.5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Sea world and Mission bay beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MomS view
Business
Alaska
Aug 7, 2012

Awful Service

Tried to go to office and call for towels. Had to do this numerous times to get anything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matt the Fitness Coach
Business
Covina, California
Aug 10, 2012

Family Getaway

The room itself was decent, but we were given a choice between quiet, near the pool, or on the third floor with a view. We chose near the pool, and it wasn't very close at all. It was not quiet because we could hear the outside noise, and our windows were blocked by a huge pillar. The family suite was great for our boys, who got their own bunk beds and we had a little privacy on the other side of the wall, but that was about it for the positives. The bed was very hard, our air conditioner was leaking and falling apart. When we returned home after a long day, we came back to a clogged toilet and it took maintenance over a half hour to arrive with a plunger in a plastic bag. This place is not bad if you don't plan on spending much time in your room. Thankfully, we had planned to be out enjoying what San Diego had to offer. The location was great, with Sea World, Point Loma, and Old Town San Diego just minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
That's So Fargo
Business
North Dakota
Feb 8, 2013

Disappointment

The location was great as it was near everything, especially the MCRD. Food, shopping and attractions all within a few miles. However, lots of homeless people in the area. The room was outdated and small even though we had a suite. Was stuffy and musty smelling when we would get back at the end of the day. Breezeway was fenced off construction materials. On site restraunt was business next door and food was very disappointing. Fitness center was business down the block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casa De Juice around the corner is a great healthy way to start the day or lunch. Also, if you rent a car getting the GPS was well worth the 10 a day. We easily navigated the whole city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommy2QandZ
Business
Pasadena, CA
Mar 26, 2013

I'd say you get what you pay for ...but I've paid less and got more.

I guess I expected a little more from a three-star hotel. It felt more like a motel. Ther was no "garden" anything about this place. Here's the story- We arrived at night. The person at the counter was really nice. I told him we were traveling with a toddler and asked for a ground-level room or one pretty close to elevators. He told me they were sold out and our room was not too far from an elevator. He then proceeded to pull out a map and tell me we had to drive to our "lot". Turns out our building was the furthest one back but in order to access it we had to drive out onto the main street, pass a tire repair shop, a couple of other businesses, turn right at the corner, pass some men sitting at the curb next to a couple of junk hauling trucks, and turn into our parking lot driveway, where our building was located. It wasn't a pretty scene. We get inside our room and it was very small- but we had reserved the Family Suite, which is the largest they had. We figured we would not spend too much time there so decided to stay. But every move led to new discoveries. The front half of the room had a halogen ceiling light - not very inviting. We did get a king size bed, which was nice. From first look the room was very clean and nice enough. We opened the mini-fridge and over a pint of water fell out onto the carpet - I called and told the front desk what happened that we would need extra towels to clean it up. There was silence on the other end. "hello,hello," I said. "Okay, we'll send someone up to check it out.". About 10 mins later someone knocks on the door, delivers a whole set of clean towels and leaves...??? Okay so we cleaned it up and hoped the wet carpet didn't start to smell. When we went to use the restroom, equipped with more halogen lights, we first noticed mold on several parts of the ceiling. Then noticed the cracks in the shower enclosure and the front falling off of the granite vanity (literally, it was about three inches off on one side and you could see the glue - the only thing keeping it up was the wall on one side!). So, except for the halogen light as we entered, the front of the room was nice enough - and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been touched for twenty years. Oh....did I tell you our building looked more like low-rent apartments in a dirty neighborhood than of a hotel???? What saved this experience was the great breakfast at Du-Pars next door. Great food, service and delish desserts all made on site! They will deliver to your room as well:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Du-Pars is a must - and although we didn't have time to go, the BBQ spot across the street was always packed and had great reviews. There is no shortage of food choices all around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A long search for value
Business
Bay Area, California
Mar 30, 2013

Grand-looking reception, but rooms like in a motel.

The hotel staff was kind and let us check in 40 minutes early. The hotel is a short drive away from Sea World, and within walking distance to several restaurants. The reception looked very bright, with large windows and high ceilings. What we however did not like was the motel feel to the rooms out in the back (the ones where one can walk to from the reception, but by car needs to drive out onto Kemper St.). The carpet was probabily not cleaned in weeks - our socks were black after one evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Vietnamese and the Indian restaurants across the street serve hearty food with friendly service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mama G.
Business
Riverside,CA.
Apr 3, 2013

good location, closed to most attractions.

the bed mattreses were so hard and the pillows so uncomfortable, that the next day woke up very sore. the room didnn't have small refrigerator, which can be handy when you travel w/ small children. the price was right, I guess you get what you paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

most fast food restaurant are within walking distance. and a few good restaurants also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Segway Enthusiasts
Business
Orange County California
Apr 14, 2013

Less than Stellar

Staff upgraded us from 2 queen size bed single room to a junior suite with a single king. If this was a larger room I would hate to see how small the original room was. It was as if the "suite" had been put together piecemeal as an afterthought. The was very little space to walk around. It was very clean and the staff was friendly. But the fire alarms in the entire building went off at 10:30 at night and it was several minutes trying to figure out how to quite them and then they shut off automatically. Du-pars is the 24 hour restaurant and altho the food was adequate (comparably to a good Denny's in selections) , the prices we're outrageous. The place was virtually empty and after eating here I can see why.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an IHOP not too far away and the prices we're much more reasonable. For an different was to see San Diego, head to Segway of Mission Beach and have a blast on their personal transport. The people were helpful, the freedom to go anywhere you want on the Segway was great. Definitely worth the money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
XiangXiang
Business
Peoria
Apr 17, 2013

It is disappointed

The location and staff is good,they have pretty hall,warm pool.It is convenient to take a bus. But Hot spring is closed.the room is old simple.No microwave ,refrigerator.The worse is the cable TV.Sometimes you can hear plane.If you wanna see the bay you need across the dangerous highway. No free breakfast. Comfort Suite is best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top