$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
View map of 3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MomS view
Family
Alaska
Aug 7, 2012

Awful Service

Tried to go to office and call for towels. Had to do this numerous times to get anything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matt the Fitness Coach
Family
Covina, California
Aug 10, 2012

Family Getaway

The room itself was decent, but we were given a choice between quiet, near the pool, or on the third floor with a view. We chose near the pool, and it wasn't very close at all. It was not quiet because we could hear the outside noise, and our windows were blocked by a huge pillar. The family suite was great for our boys, who got their own bunk beds and we had a little privacy on the other side of the wall, but that was about it for the positives. The bed was very hard, our air conditioner was leaking and falling apart. When we returned home after a long day, we came back to a clogged toilet and it took maintenance over a half hour to arrive with a plunger in a plastic bag. This place is not bad if you don't plan on spending much time in your room. Thankfully, we had planned to be out enjoying what San Diego had to offer. The location was great, with Sea World, Point Loma, and Old Town San Diego just minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
That's So Fargo
Family
North Dakota
Feb 8, 2013

Disappointment

The location was great as it was near everything, especially the MCRD. Food, shopping and attractions all within a few miles. However, lots of homeless people in the area. The room was outdated and small even though we had a suite. Was stuffy and musty smelling when we would get back at the end of the day. Breezeway was fenced off construction materials. On site restraunt was business next door and food was very disappointing. Fitness center was business down the block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casa De Juice around the corner is a great healthy way to start the day or lunch. Also, if you rent a car getting the GPS was well worth the 10 a day. We easily navigated the whole city.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommy2QandZ
Family
Pasadena, CA
Mar 26, 2013

I'd say you get what you pay for ...but I've paid less and got more.

I guess I expected a little more from a three-star hotel. It felt more like a motel. Ther was no "garden" anything about this place. Here's the story- We arrived at night. The person at the counter was really nice. I told him we were traveling with a toddler and asked for a ground-level room or one pretty close to elevators. He told me they were sold out and our room was not too far from an elevator. He then proceeded to pull out a map and tell me we had to drive to our "lot". Turns out our building was the furthest one back but in order to access it we had to drive out onto the main street, pass a tire repair shop, a couple of other businesses, turn right at the corner, pass some men sitting at the curb next to a couple of junk hauling trucks, and turn into our parking lot driveway, where our building was located. It wasn't a pretty scene. We get inside our room and it was very small- but we had reserved the Family Suite, which is the largest they had. We figured we would not spend too much time there so decided to stay. But every move led to new discoveries. The front half of the room had a halogen ceiling light - not very inviting. We did get a king size bed, which was nice. From first look the room was very clean and nice enough. We opened the mini-fridge and over a pint of water fell out onto the carpet - I called and told the front desk what happened that we would need extra towels to clean it up. There was silence on the other end. "hello,hello," I said. "Okay, we'll send someone up to check it out.". About 10 mins later someone knocks on the door, delivers a whole set of clean towels and leaves...??? Okay so we cleaned it up and hoped the wet carpet didn't start to smell. When we went to use the restroom, equipped with more halogen lights, we first noticed mold on several parts of the ceiling. Then noticed the cracks in the shower enclosure and the front falling off of the granite vanity (literally, it was about three inches off on one side and you could see the glue - the only thing keeping it up was the wall on one side!). So, except for the halogen light as we entered, the front of the room was nice enough - and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been touched for twenty years. Oh....did I tell you our building looked more like low-rent apartments in a dirty neighborhood than of a hotel???? What saved this experience was the great breakfast at Du-Pars next door. Great food, service and delish desserts all made on site! They will deliver to your room as well:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Du-Pars is a must - and although we didn't have time to go, the BBQ spot across the street was always packed and had great reviews. There is no shortage of food choices all around!

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mama G.
Family
Riverside,CA.
Apr 3, 2013

good location, closed to most attractions.

the bed mattreses were so hard and the pillows so uncomfortable, that the next day woke up very sore. the room didnn't have small refrigerator, which can be handy when you travel w/ small children. the price was right, I guess you get what you paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

most fast food restaurant are within walking distance. and a few good restaurants also.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A long search for value
Family
Bay Area, California
Mar 30, 2013

Grand-looking reception, but rooms like in a motel.

The hotel staff was kind and let us check in 40 minutes early. The hotel is a short drive away from Sea World, and within walking distance to several restaurants. The reception looked very bright, with large windows and high ceilings. What we however did not like was the motel feel to the rooms out in the back (the ones where one can walk to from the reception, but by car needs to drive out onto Kemper St.). The carpet was probabily not cleaned in weeks - our socks were black after one evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Vietnamese and the Indian restaurants across the street serve hearty food with friendly service.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Segway Enthusiasts
Couples
Orange County California
Apr 14, 2013

Less than Stellar

Staff upgraded us from 2 queen size bed single room to a junior suite with a single king. If this was a larger room I would hate to see how small the original room was. It was as if the "suite" had been put together piecemeal as an afterthought. The was very little space to walk around. It was very clean and the staff was friendly. But the fire alarms in the entire building went off at 10:30 at night and it was several minutes trying to figure out how to quite them and then they shut off automatically. Du-pars is the 24 hour restaurant and altho the food was adequate (comparably to a good Denny's in selections) , the prices we're outrageous. The place was virtually empty and after eating here I can see why.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an IHOP not too far away and the prices we're much more reasonable. For an different was to see San Diego, head to Segway of Mission Beach and have a blast on their personal transport. The people were helpful, the freedom to go anywhere you want on the Segway was great. Definitely worth the money!

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
XiangXiang
Couples
Peoria
Apr 17, 2013

It is disappointed

The location and staff is good,they have pretty hall,warm pool.It is convenient to take a bus. But Hot spring is closed.the room is old simple.No microwave ,refrigerator.The worse is the cable TV.Sometimes you can hear plane.If you wanna see the bay you need across the dangerous highway. No free breakfast. Comfort Suite is best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flight Attendant on Vaca
Family
Denver, CO
Apr 19, 2013

Could be better

This hotel leaves something to be desired! It was a little creepy and there was a major issue with the tub/shower... It was like there was water under the tub liner so it was like you were surfing while in the shower. Dangerous!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hot summer of the year
Family
san francisco
Jul 1, 2013

family vacation

The pull out sofa bed matress is so old and worn out. It should have been replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top