$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
350 reviews
Good Hotel

The location is good. It is close to sea world. The wifi is not that good. Nice breakfast services.... See full review

  • Zenan
  • Dec 21, 2014
AWESOME !!

My fiancé and I loved this hotel ! The staff is so ever accommodating , the rooms were clean and... See full review

  • Megdun
  • Oct 1, 2014
Intimate hotel located near Mission Bay with pool
The Wyndham Garden San Diego is located within a short drive of Sea World, Mission Bay and just about every other attraction north of downtown San Diego. The property features a heated outdoor pool and hot tub with a large sundeck, as well as Dupar's, a 24-hour restaurant on-site. Visiting children will love the suites with bunk beds. Accommodations boast flat-screen TV and complimentary high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Heated outdoor pool and hot tub with spacious sundeck
  • Enjoy late-night dining at on-site, 24-hour restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access in rooms
Rooms

The 112 regular rooms and 10 suites at The Wyndham Garden San Diego vary significantly depending on room type. All accommodations come standard with flat-screen TV, hair-dryer and ironing board. Suites comprise two rooms and the second room boasts a sleeper sofa, desk and chair, microwave and a mini-refrigerator. One suite even features bunk beds for children. All accommodations include complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

Wyndham Garden San Diego has received a Three Diamond Award from AAA. All guests receive free parking, as well as discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also receive complimentary access to a heated outdoor pool and hot tub on a spacious sundeck.

While there is no on-site fitness center, guests have complimentary access to the nearby Victory MMA Gym and Boxing Ring, a full-service facility with cardio equipment, free weights and (as the name suggests) a boxing ring. The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Dining
Dupar's, the on-site restaurant, is open 24 hours and serves traditional deli food, as well as freshly baked breads and cakes. Wyndham Garden San Diego is also within walking distance to a number of other restaurants and bars on Mission Bay.
Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • More than 2,500 square feet of meeting space

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Wyndham Garden San Diego Rooms

Double Suite
The room offers two double beds and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom with two double beds, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.
Family Superior Suite
With one king-size bed and one set of bunk beds, these family suites are truly unique. The Kids Mini Suite makes a great choice when you're bringing the whole family along. A half wall gives everyone a little extra privacy. One full bathroom. One Flat Screen TV for family to see from their beds, includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Deluxe Queen
The room offers two queen beds. This newly renovated room consists of two (2) Queen-size beds. Each room has a 32inch flat-panel TV, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi because the hotel know the right technology is just as important when your hotel room becomes your home away from home. In the bathroom you'll find True Blue Spa Bath amenities for just the right amount of pampering.
King Suite
The room offers one king bed and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120 mi

Dining

Old Town Mexican Cafe - Fresh tortillas!
San Diego favorite tourism spot is Old Town and you will have a variety of Mexican flare to choose from.
Phil's BBQ - Famous since the 70's in San Diego!
This is a local favorite and worth the wait in line.
Pt. Loma Seafood - Fresh fish daily!
Considered to have the freshest fish in town. Casual outdoor seating and deli style set up. CASH ONLY but worth making a trip.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Some say it's location, location, location. And at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Hotel Near SeaWorld the hotel could not agree more. The hotel is not only walking distance to more than 100 businesses and restaurants, The property is less than five miles from important military installations. But a convenient address is only the beginning of the story. Here at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Near SeaWorld, a great location is combined with spectacular service to create something truly outstanding. With three Meeting Rooms offering a total of 2,800 square feet of event space, the hotel provide a level of personalized attention you just won't find at larger factory-style meeting venues. What's more, with windows in each and every one of the San Diego Meeting Room, all rooms boast refreshing natural sunlight.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judo33
Business
Sacramento, California
May 22, 2014

Great location

Perfect location to see all that San Diego has to offer. Only a short drive to most locations. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice outdoor pool and hot tub to relax in at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
first time staying
Business
Minnesota
May 19, 2014

Average stay , staff was very helpful and knowledgeable

check in lines were long and wait time was long as well, Once we were checked in, it was a short walk to the hotel room. The jr. suites were ok, could use updating , carpet is old, and the bathroom was small, beds were comfortable and clean. Overall an average stay. Even tho the shuttle was there , there was no offer to take us to the shopping areas and it was too far to walk as we did not have a rental car. The pool was nice but kids filled it until it closed at 11. Staff was very helpful in finding a limo/taxi service to take us where we needed to go, order pizza or whatever we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seaworld and old town was close and its a good value if you are going to be busy out and about.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mcarycat
Business
Modesto, CA
May 18, 2014

Shabby, needs new carpet and furnishings

It was decent. It was comfortable. It seemed clean. Old, low quality furnishings, needed updating. Very well worn. The staff was really nice, helpful, friendly. I think it is more of a 2 star property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JediMama
Business
Escondido, CA
May 17, 2014

HORRIBLE smell, wrong room, made us leave early.

This hotel does have a good location near a lot of things but that is the only thing good I have to say about it. We had to leave our home because of the wildfires and they gave us a 1:00p.m. checkout time which we thought was really nice. We were given the wrong room at 9 p.m. so after we unpacked four kids and all of our stuff we had to move clear across the hotel to a room that smelled like mildew. The a/c only worked on one side of a wall and there was no a/c in the back room. One tv would not turn on, the phone did not work. There was black mold on the ceiling of the bathroom that they attempted to paint over but failed. That worst part was that they made us leave early and did not honor the 1 p.m. check out time that the lady gave us the day before so we could have more time to figure out what was going on with the fire. The manager said "I have no record of that so you need to leave." I had not even complained about ANYTHING previous to him asking us to leave but I did inform them that I was going to leave a review of how we were treated. Also, the lobby is beautiful but that's as far as it goes. The rooms are not nice at all. We went and paid $10 more the next night at a nice hotel in the gaslamp district that allowed both of out pets for free and even gave them dog beds and water bowls. Don't waste your money on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to walk to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TOGDC
Business
DC
May 11, 2014

Work trip

Good time - nice staff, the breakfast place next door is quality

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sonja410
Business
Janesville Wisconsin
May 10, 2014

Fun Relaxing Vacation

The first thing we noticed is the outside appearance of the hotel is very good. We were checking in late at night (11:00 PM) and check-in seemed painfully slow with only 1 attendant and more than 2 guests trying to check in. Our room however was relatively clean, outside of some stains on a pillow, and the front of the A/C unit barely hanging on. The cleaning staff was very courteous and always asked us if we needed anything. When we wanted to use the onsite laundry room which was actually quite nice there was no change machine, the front desk had no change either. I asked if there was a place nearby I could go get quarters and the 2 desk clerks looked at each other and had no idea where I could go. Walking out the front door I immediately noticed a bank directly across the street, Info the desk clearly should have provided . The one day of five there we decided to use the pool around 9:30 PM the guard come and told us to leave the pool as maintenance had shocked the pool and hot tub. This we already knew as our eyes were burning already and our suits were completely bleached out. We never knew why they didn't just wait an hour and a half until the pool closed at 11 to shock it. or at least tell us before hand. Never the less it was better than most hotels we've stayed in and its location made it very convenient to get to all the greatest attractions San Diego has to offer. Will we stay there again? Maybe if we got a really good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World is a very short easy drive.A great tip for those on a budget...we went 45 minutes before the park opened (by accident) and were rewarded with free parking for being so early. a $16 value!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vacation 2014
Business
Wisconsin
May 1, 2014

Not recommended for families!!

We arrived late after a day at the Zoo, and walked into a musty damp room. After switching to the correct Family Suite room we went to sleep on the most uncomfortable beds with blankets and sheets that had holes in them. In the morning I actually took a look at the room with its damp floor and noticed black mold on the bathroom ceiling. We checked out immediately and ended our stay early. The staff was very helpful in this process and we are appreciative of them working out the refunds for us. I would definitely say this hotel needs a major renovation before continuing to do business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
curlyqt
Business
far away
Apr 29, 2014

fun family time

Its a great place to stay super clean and roomy we love the privacy wall between our bed and the kids bunkbeds, swimming pool nice and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rondor
Business
Newbury park Can.
Apr 26, 2014

convenient location

Mold in bathroom. Otherwise clean. Very helpful staff. Very small for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phills barbeque

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smilbs
Business
California
Apr 26, 2014

Could use an update, but overall good

Lobby area is very nice, staff very helpful and accommodating. Carpet in room desperately needs replaced - filthy and falling apart. My girls loved the bunk beds!! Many reaturaunts within walking distance. Target and Ralph's only 10 minute walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top