$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
324 reviews
Great stay

We had a great time. The swimlng pool was clean. Close To stores, eateries, and nice area to take a... See full review

  • Eperaza
  • Aug 10, 2014
fun family time

Its a great place to stay super clean and roomy we love the privacy wall between our bed and the... See full review

  • curlyqt
  • Apr 29, 2014
Intimate hotel located near Mission Bay with pool
The Wyndham Garden San Diego is located within a short drive of Sea World, Mission Bay and just about every other attraction north of downtown San Diego. The property features a heated outdoor pool and hot tub with a large sundeck, as well as Dupar's, a 24-hour restaurant on-site. Visiting children will love the suites with bunk beds. Accommodations boast flat-screen TV and complimentary high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Heated outdoor pool and hot tub with spacious sundeck
  • Enjoy late-night dining at on-site, 24-hour restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access in rooms
Rooms

The 112 regular rooms and 10 suites at The Wyndham Garden San Diego vary significantly depending on room type. All accommodations come standard with flat-screen TV, hair-dryer and ironing board. Suites comprise two rooms and the second room boasts a sleeper sofa, desk and chair, microwave and a mini-refrigerator. One suite even features bunk beds for children. All accommodations include complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

Wyndham Garden San Diego has received a Three Diamond Award from AAA. All guests receive free parking, as well as discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also receive complimentary access to a heated outdoor pool and hot tub on a spacious sundeck.

While there is no on-site fitness center, guests have complimentary access to the nearby Victory MMA Gym and Boxing Ring, a full-service facility with cardio equipment, free weights and (as the name suggests) a boxing ring. The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Dining
Dupar's, the on-site restaurant, is open 24 hours and serves traditional deli food, as well as freshly baked breads and cakes. Wyndham Garden San Diego is also within walking distance to a number of other restaurants and bars on Mission Bay.
Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • More than 2,500 square feet of meeting space

 

Hotel Map

32.7539 -117.2152
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport Lindbergh Field.
Area description
Sun-splashed San Diego is packed with fun local activities and so many of them are remarkably close by. Just two miles away you can immerse yourself in all the fun at SeaWorld San Diego. It's the place to see Shamu and all his underwater friends. Or step back in time and stroll through Old Town with its wonderful galleries and museums, then visit Cabrillo National Monument. It's also home to the Old Point Loma Lighthouse. Just four miles from the hotel you'll find even more excitement. Choose from the world-class San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, or the charming Gaslamp Quarter. Kids of all ages will love a chance to see the awe-inspiring and totally fun LEGOLAND. What's more, Valley View Casino Center is just across the street and it's the place to see Cirque du Soleil, Disney on Ice, and so much more. Don't forget, since the hotel is located just four miles from the San Diego International Airport, getting here takes only minutes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Wyndham Garden San Diego Rooms

Double Suite
The room offers two double beds and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom with two double beds, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.
Family Superior Suite
With one king-size bed and one set of bunk beds, these family suites are truly unique. The Kids Mini Suite makes a great choice when you're bringing the whole family along. A half wall gives everyone a little extra privacy. One full bathroom. One Flat Screen TV for family to see from their beds, includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Deluxe Queen
The room offers two queen beds. This newly renovated room consists of two (2) Queen-size beds. Each room has a 32inch flat-panel TV, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi because the hotel know the right technology is just as important when your hotel room becomes your home away from home. In the bathroom you'll find True Blue Spa Bath amenities for just the right amount of pampering.
King Suite
The room offers one king bed and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120 mi

Dining

Phil's BBQ - Famous since the 70's in San Diego!
This is a local favorite and worth the wait in line.
Pt. Loma Seafood - Fresh fish daily!
Considered to have the freshest fish in town. Casual outdoor seating and deli style set up. CASH ONLY but worth making a trip.
Old Town Mexican Cafe - Fresh tortillas!
San Diego favorite tourism spot is Old Town and you will have a variety of Mexican flare to choose from.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Some say it's location, location, location. And at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Hotel Near SeaWorld the hotel could not agree more. The hotel is not only walking distance to more than 100 businesses and restaurants, The property is less than five miles from important military installations. But a convenient address is only the beginning of the story. Here at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Near SeaWorld, a great location is combined with spectacular service to create something truly outstanding. With three Meeting Rooms offering a total of 2,800 square feet of event space, the hotel provide a level of personalized attention you just won't find at larger factory-style meeting venues. What's more, with windows in each and every one of the San Diego Meeting Room, all rooms boast refreshing natural sunlight.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (324)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
324 out of 324
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vacation 2014
Wisconsin
May 1, 2014

Not recommended for families!!

We arrived late after a day at the Zoo, and walked into a musty damp room. After switching to the correct Family Suite room we went to sleep on the most uncomfortable beds with blankets and sheets that had holes in them. In the morning I actually took a look at the room with its damp floor and noticed black mold on the bathroom ceiling. We checked out immediately and ended our stay early. The staff was very helpful in this process and we are appreciative of them working out the refunds for us. I would definitely say this hotel needs a major renovation before continuing to do business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
curlyqt
far away
Apr 29, 2014

fun family time

Its a great place to stay super clean and roomy we love the privacy wall between our bed and the kids bunkbeds, swimming pool nice and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smilbs
California
Apr 26, 2014

Could use an update, but overall good

Lobby area is very nice, staff very helpful and accommodating. Carpet in room desperately needs replaced - filthy and falling apart. My girls loved the bunk beds!! Many reaturaunts within walking distance. Target and Ralph's only 10 minute walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rondor
Newbury park Can.
Apr 26, 2014

convenient location

Mold in bathroom. Otherwise clean. Very helpful staff. Very small for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phills barbeque

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperLea
San Francisco
Apr 22, 2014

Great experience

The room was decent for the price i paid and its located in a nice neighborhood with restaurants and shops nearby. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The only thing that i didnt like about the room was that there was a big wet spot in the carpet near the TV when I checked into the room at 6 pm. I thought it was weird.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdownerd
Ohio
Apr 20, 2014

Nice place to stay for the money

It was a late check in for me. Clean room, friendly workers but parking was limited. I literally was fortunate to get the last parking spot. Not so close to my room but it all worked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sedona Ed
Sister Bay WI
Apr 17, 2014

weekend away

got what we needed, but everything was a half hour away. neighborhood is not conducive for walking, all good restaurants were downtown, we booked here because it was close to xpressway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SP Mom
San Pedro, California
Apr 17, 2014

Quick Family Getaway

The hotel was very clean and nice and staff was great. It is more of a motel feel than hotel. Parking at night was disappointing, our building had its own lot but was always full later at night so we had to park pretty far. We got lucky one night and found the last spot in the entire hotel parking lot. It was small and my car got dinged up but we found a spot. Otherwise, I did really like the family rooms with the bunk beds, room was small but kids had their own space. Lastly, the pool leaves much to be desired as it's attached to Dupars bar and in the middle of the parking lot, not much privacy and small for the size of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town is really close by and lots of restaurants and major stores in area. Short drive to Petco Park and other attractions as well.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frigin Bill
Business
Orlando, Fl
Apr 16, 2014

Noisy as Heck!

My room was in the D building. The windows were closed but the noise coming through was as if they were open. On top of that, they are next to a fire station. And these guys don't care when they sound the sirens. The small frig sounds and when it clicks on. When anybody flushes in other rooms, the pipes sound. Needless to say, the first night I didn't get any sleep. I got some sleep the next night because I had to buy earplugs. I got my ticket reserved a month in advance and came in on time as stated and I still got the worst place in the hotel. Never again! Wyndham is no garden!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeachVolleyballMom
Dallas, TX
Apr 7, 2014

perfectly acceptable

Staff was pleasant, hotel was cleanish... registered and paid for five in the suite but only was given towels and amenities for three. Late checkout even though I was told at registration we could request was then told the day of check out was not available. No hot water the second day - no bueno when you've been on a beach all day and have dinners planned. But the staff was courteous and helpful when asked to fix any issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search