$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
405 reviews
fun family time

Its a great place to stay super clean and roomy we love the privacy wall between our bed and the... See full review

  • curlyqt
  • Apr 29, 2014
Traveling cali to md--couthern route

This hotel was 5 minutes from the beach. The heated pool and hot tub was my favorite. It was... See full review

  • Essiebum
  • Mar 3, 2014
Intimate hotel located near Mission Bay with pool
The Wyndham Garden San Diego is located within a short drive of Sea World, Mission Bay and just about every other attraction north of downtown San Diego. The property features a heated outdoor pool and hot tub with a large sundeck, as well as Dupar's, a 24-hour restaurant on-site. Visiting children will love the suites with bunk beds. Accommodations boast flat-screen TV and complimentary high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Heated outdoor pool and hot tub with spacious sundeck
  • Enjoy late-night dining at on-site, 24-hour restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access in rooms
Rooms

The 112 regular rooms and 10 suites at The Wyndham Garden San Diego vary significantly depending on room type. All accommodations come standard with flat-screen TV, hair-dryer and ironing board. Suites comprise two rooms and the second room boasts a sleeper sofa, desk and chair, microwave and a mini-refrigerator. One suite even features bunk beds for children. All accommodations include complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

Wyndham Garden San Diego has received a Three Diamond Award from AAA. All guests receive free parking, as well as discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also receive complimentary access to a heated outdoor pool and hot tub on a spacious sundeck.

While there is no on-site fitness center, guests have complimentary access to the nearby Victory MMA Gym and Boxing Ring, a full-service facility with cardio equipment, free weights and (as the name suggests) a boxing ring. The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Dining
Dupar's, the on-site restaurant, is open 24 hours and serves traditional deli food, as well as freshly baked breads and cakes. Wyndham Garden San Diego is also within walking distance to a number of other restaurants and bars on Mission Bay.
Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • More than 2,500 square feet of meeting space

 

Hotel Map

32.7539 -117.2152
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport Lindbergh Field.
Area description
Sun-splashed San Diego is packed with fun local activities and so many of them are remarkably close by. Just two miles away you can immerse yourself in all the fun at SeaWorld San Diego. It's the place to see Shamu and all his underwater friends. Or step back in time and stroll through Old Town with its wonderful galleries and museums, then visit Cabrillo National Monument. It's also home to the Old Point Loma Lighthouse. Just four miles from the hotel you'll find even more excitement. Choose from the world-class San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, or the charming Gaslamp Quarter. Kids of all ages will love a chance to see the awe-inspiring and totally fun LEGOLAND. What's more, Valley View Casino Center is just across the street and it's the place to see Cirque du Soleil, Disney on Ice, and so much more. Don't forget, since the hotel is located just four miles from the San Diego International Airport, getting here takes only minutes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Wyndham Garden San Diego Rooms

Double Suite
The room offers two double beds and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom with two double beds, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.
Family Superior Suite
With one king-size bed and one set of bunk beds, these family suites are truly unique. The Kids Mini Suite makes a great choice when you're bringing the whole family along. A half wall gives everyone a little extra privacy. One full bathroom. One Flat Screen TV for family to see from their beds, includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Deluxe Queen
The room offers two queen beds. This newly renovated room consists of two (2) Queen-size beds. Each room has a 32inch flat-panel TV, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi because the hotel know the right technology is just as important when your hotel room becomes your home away from home. In the bathroom you'll find True Blue Spa Bath amenities for just the right amount of pampering.
King Suite
The room offers one king bed and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120 mi

Dining

Phil's BBQ - Famous since the 70's in San Diego!
This is a local favorite and worth the wait in line.
Pt. Loma Seafood - Fresh fish daily!
Considered to have the freshest fish in town. Casual outdoor seating and deli style set up. CASH ONLY but worth making a trip.
Old Town Mexican Cafe - Fresh tortillas!
San Diego favorite tourism spot is Old Town and you will have a variety of Mexican flare to choose from.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Some say it's location, location, location. And at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Hotel Near SeaWorld the hotel could not agree more. The hotel is not only walking distance to more than 100 businesses and restaurants, The property is less than five miles from important military installations. But a convenient address is only the beginning of the story. Here at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Near SeaWorld, a great location is combined with spectacular service to create something truly outstanding. With three Meeting Rooms offering a total of 2,800 square feet of event space, the hotel provide a level of personalized attention you just won't find at larger factory-style meeting venues. What's more, with windows in each and every one of the San Diego Meeting Room, all rooms boast refreshing natural sunlight.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (405)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
405 out of 405
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacation 101
Phx, az
Jul 9, 2012

Nightmare in San Diego

We arrived at midnight to a supposed Junior Suite that would sleep 6! What a not good. It was a standard room with a partition wall - 2 very small double beds in one part that almost touched even though they were already touching the walls on the other side. The other side of the partition was a pull out couch that when opened almost completely filled the room! Even though our information showed 5 people there was no bedding for the pull out couch and only 3 towels. The hotel description told us it would sleep 6-8. It would only just hold 3 and we were a family of 5 with nowhere else to go. There were people sleeping on the streets around the hotel and the room smelt like someone had smoked recently in it and someone had just recently sprayed it with an aweful scent to try and cover the smell of the smoke! The hotel manager and myself were on hold for almost an hour the next morning before the situation was resolved and we were able to leave and move to find a better hotel. You need to verify the descriptions given to you by your listed properties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Furiesego
San Diego
Jul 8, 2012

Paper thin walls

The staff was polite however all the room staff were hispanic and could not speak english. So if you needed anything you had to call the front desk. The walls were so thin you could hear people doing their routines. The fan in the bathroom was so loud that it kept me awake most of the night because it was two other people who had the fan going. I called the front desk to ask them to turn their fans off and they said they could not do that. However, when we requested extra blankets and a new pillowcase for one that smelled they did it immediately. The beds were very comfortable though I must say that. However the place wasn't in walking distance to anything. The wifi was ok wasn't very strong. The all night restaurant next to the hotel was excellent they waitstaff was above par and the food was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DuPars was the best place to eat. We ate at several places and this was the best. They treated you like you were at a 5 star restaurant. Totally worth the manageable price for the food. And they are open 24 hours a day.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lousy Guest Accomodations
Fountain Valley, California
Jun 18, 2012

Lack of parking is irresponsible!

I cannot believe that anyone would operate a hotel that cannot provide enough parking spaces for their guests. In addition to not having enough parking spaces, a majority of the spaces were so small that I saw passengers who had to exit the car before the car pulled into the parking space in order to be able to get out! I had to park my Lexus across the street at Phil's BBQ Restaurant and was praying that it would be safe. I wasn't expecting anything spectacular about the room. It was very ordinary, the mattress was uncomfortable, the lighting above the sink was very dim, and the remote control to the tv did not work. I'm glad that I only had to stay one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phil's BBQ Restaurant, which is across the street from the hotel, is sooooo delicious! I highly recommend it but be prepared to wait in line. It is a very popular spot and the line moves fairly quick.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fairy Angry
Phoenix, Arizona
Jun 18, 2012

Clean & Comfortable

Room was very clean and comfortable. Worth the price. Please keep in mind it's in a very busy area and traffic is heavy and you can hear the fireworks at Sea World as if they are in your room, but other than that it was worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
REALLYWASDISAPPOINTED
KINGMAN AZ
Jun 11, 2012

NOT FOR A FAMILY

JR. SUITE WAS SMALL, COULD NOT GET ENOUGH TOWELS, ONE DAY THEY TOOK ALL THE TOWELS AND LEFT US ONE, NO HAND TOWEL OR WASH CLOTH, WE STAYED FOR FOUR NIGHTS AND WAS NOT OFFERED RESTURANT VOCHERS FOR DU-PARS, I THINK IT WAS BECAUSE WE USED A THIRD PARTY TO RESERVE AND PAY FOR THE ROOM. I DON'T THINK THAT SHOULD BE A FACTOR, I THINK FOUR NIGHTS DESERVES BREAKFAST.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

VERY CLOSE TO SEAWORLD

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madre of 2
Whittier, California
Jun 11, 2012

Loved this place!!

When we first exited the freeway, we were a little leary of the area, there is a lot of adult entertainment venues around. We didn't have any problems at the hotel. I requested a room with a refrigerator, so I was assigned a junior suite. The room was great. We have 2 kids under 5 and the room was perfect for us. It had 2 TV's and the room was divided by a sliding glass door, which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GlobeTrotter22
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Jun 10, 2012

Best Location- Best Price.

First time staying at a Wyndham Garden's property, and I have no reservations about staying there again! Great location- walking distance to grocery stores, fast food spots, and a few restaurants- and just short drive to Seaworld, all sports stadiums, and the beach. Thanks again Wyndham Gardens!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a few miles from this hotel is Hunters Steakhouse- it is absolutely worth the short and easy drive to get the BEST prime rib you've ever had! It is also very moderately priced for such high quality food- I highly recommend it!

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tattoodiva
San Diego, CA
Jun 6, 2012

family vacation

the hotel was satisfactory. Great location to get to nearby areas of San Diego. Not on the beach but with in 5 min drive. Staff was friendly but had to go each day and ask for sufficient bath towels for a family of four. There were only 3 in the room. No refrigeration in room but had ice for cooler. Pool was nice and clean. All in all a decent hotel with quick freeway access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The USS Midway is a must see and was quite easy to get to from Hotel.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two grad students
Los Angeles
Jun 1, 2012

great location

the best part about this hotel is that it is located right across the street from Phil's BBQ. The hotel itself was clean. The room had all the essential amenities i.e hair dryer, ironing board + iron, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, tv. The staff was friendly. The only thing that wasnt great was the check-in time, 3 pm was kind of late for us. But in the hotel lobby there's a huge table with many chairs so we ordered Phil's to go and ate at the hotel while we were waiting for our room's to be prepared. Overall good hotel to stay at with a fair price. We were very satisfied =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at phils BBQ. Yelp it. Top 10 in the USA

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pat P.
rhode island
May 31, 2012

Simple

If you are looking for a hotel that is a good value and not much more..... this is the hotel for you. It's a little worn and tired but clean. The hotel is in an economically depressed area. However, there are lots of good restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top