$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
402 reviews
fun family time

Its a great place to stay super clean and roomy we love the privacy wall between our bed and the... See full review

  • curlyqt
  • Apr 29, 2014
Traveling cali to md--couthern route

This hotel was 5 minutes from the beach. The heated pool and hot tub was my favorite. It was... See full review

  • Essiebum
  • Mar 3, 2014
Intimate hotel located near Mission Bay with pool
The Wyndham Garden San Diego is located within a short drive of Sea World, Mission Bay and just about every other attraction north of downtown San Diego. The property features a heated outdoor pool and hot tub with a large sundeck, as well as Dupar's, a 24-hour restaurant on-site. Visiting children will love the suites with bunk beds. Accommodations boast flat-screen TV and complimentary high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Heated outdoor pool and hot tub with spacious sundeck
  • Enjoy late-night dining at on-site, 24-hour restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access in rooms
Rooms

The 112 regular rooms and 10 suites at The Wyndham Garden San Diego vary significantly depending on room type. All accommodations come standard with flat-screen TV, hair-dryer and ironing board. Suites comprise two rooms and the second room boasts a sleeper sofa, desk and chair, microwave and a mini-refrigerator. One suite even features bunk beds for children. All accommodations include complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

Wyndham Garden San Diego has received a Three Diamond Award from AAA. All guests receive free parking, as well as discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also receive complimentary access to a heated outdoor pool and hot tub on a spacious sundeck.

While there is no on-site fitness center, guests have complimentary access to the nearby Victory MMA Gym and Boxing Ring, a full-service facility with cardio equipment, free weights and (as the name suggests) a boxing ring. The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Dining
Dupar's, the on-site restaurant, is open 24 hours and serves traditional deli food, as well as freshly baked breads and cakes. Wyndham Garden San Diego is also within walking distance to a number of other restaurants and bars on Mission Bay.
Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • More than 2,500 square feet of meeting space

 

Wyndham Garden San Diego Rooms

Double Suite
The room offers two double beds and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom with two double beds, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.
Family Superior Suite
With one king-size bed and one set of bunk beds, these family suites are truly unique. The Kids Mini Suite makes a great choice when you're bringing the whole family along. A half wall gives everyone a little extra privacy. One full bathroom. One Flat Screen TV for family to see from their beds, includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Deluxe Queen
The room offers two queen beds. This newly renovated room consists of two (2) Queen-size beds. Each room has a 32inch flat-panel TV, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi because the hotel know the right technology is just as important when your hotel room becomes your home away from home. In the bathroom you'll find True Blue Spa Bath amenities for just the right amount of pampering.
King Suite
The room offers one king bed and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7539 -117.2152
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport Lindbergh Field.
Area description
Sun-splashed San Diego is packed with fun local activities and so many of them are remarkably close by. Just two miles away you can immerse yourself in all the fun at SeaWorld San Diego. It's the place to see Shamu and all his underwater friends. Or step back in time and stroll through Old Town with its wonderful galleries and museums, then visit Cabrillo National Monument. It's also home to the Old Point Loma Lighthouse. Just four miles from the hotel you'll find even more excitement. Choose from the world-class San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, or the charming Gaslamp Quarter. Kids of all ages will love a chance to see the awe-inspiring and totally fun LEGOLAND. What's more, Valley View Casino Center is just across the street and it's the place to see Cirque du Soleil, Disney on Ice, and so much more. Don't forget, since the hotel is located just four miles from the San Diego International Airport, getting here takes only minutes.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Some say it's location, location, location. And at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Hotel Near SeaWorld the hotel could not agree more. The hotel is not only walking distance to more than 100 businesses and restaurants, The property is less than five miles from important military installations. But a convenient address is only the beginning of the story. Here at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Near SeaWorld, a great location is combined with spectacular service to create something truly outstanding. With three Meeting Rooms offering a total of 2,800 square feet of event space, the hotel provide a level of personalized attention you just won't find at larger factory-style meeting venues. What's more, with windows in each and every one of the San Diego Meeting Room, all rooms boast refreshing natural sunlight.

Dining

Phil's BBQ - Famous since the 70's in San Diego!
This is a local favorite and worth the wait in line.
Pt. Loma Seafood - Fresh fish daily!
Considered to have the freshest fish in town. Casual outdoor seating and deli style set up. CASH ONLY but worth making a trip.
Old Town Mexican Cafe - Fresh tortillas!
San Diego favorite tourism spot is Old Town and you will have a variety of Mexican flare to choose from.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (402)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekly Stay
Frankfort, IN
Sep 19, 2012

Good week vacation

We stayed a week at the hotel. The rooms were average in cleanliness, but we just slept and showered, we didn't hang out. So it was ok. The area around the hotel wasn't that bad. Late at night at the pool the towels ran out. They seem to be upgrading the hotel. Overall it was a good week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great BBQ place across street. Good Chinese Rest. across street. Down the street (Midway) a short walk is a great Mexican Rest. for both breakfast and lunch.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bizzyoz
Sun Valley, CA
Sep 17, 2012

Decent: up to par

I read many negative reviews about this place, and was strongly veered away from wanting to solidify my stay. I would say that most of the reviews are correct. Parking is difficult, rooms are not as nice at the rates, and the amenities are not all up to personal standards. I would say Wyndham gardens wouldn't be equivalent to a 3-4 star hotel but more of a 2 star motel. I think that is were people are mixing up the reviews. Below are my takes of the pros and cons. GOOD: Our trip consisted of going to the Valley View Sports Arena for a 2 night event. The location of the Wyndham was so close that it was literally a 5min walk to the venue. This was convenient as there was an instance of going back to the room. Phil's BBQ was across the street. This helped us check out the line instead of waiting when we arrived. Although it was a wait regardless, we're able to decide to leave just by checking across the street from our room. The staff is something to talk about. Each individual were helpful and very polite. I asked where can a guest park their car when they arrived. It did seem as if guests were not allowed, so one of the representatives walked me out and pointed me in the right direction. BAD: The first thing I noticed was our phone in the room was not working properly. A technician had to come over and check out the line. Next was the ventilation. Since the room was partitioned, the bedroom did not get any flow of AC which was located in the living room area. Although there was a fan that will pull air into the bedroom, it did not have enough power to pull it into the room, and it made a lot of noise. Last, since parking was an issue I had to make sure that all errands such as a trip to the grocery store was made so I could leave the car in the parking lot the rest of the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MG1111
San Jose, CA
Sep 14, 2012

Excellent service

Service was excellent, room was clean. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jumbp
San antonio, tx
Sep 10, 2012

Avoid this place

Rated as 3 star .... Motel 6 would be better than this. I paid just $60 bucks but still its not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenneric
seattle,wa
Sep 7, 2012

super comfy, great staff

Stayed for one night to visit sea world. Staff was great and helpful. great attitudes. Room was standard, fluffy towels. W wished it had a fridge but otherwise great. Restaurant was good, had the chicken apple sausage,YUM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yessie Oi
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 4, 2012

Parking At Night

Parking was quite challenging but maybe because it was Labor Day weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phil's BBQ directly across the street.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jane J
Wisconsin
Aug 29, 2012

would not return!

Check in was bad. Was not in there system as having a reservation and was treated rather poorly. Reservation was made well in advance. Even had my conformation and it did not seem to matter. By the way this was not our first hotel booked on our trip just the most expensive one. They did correct and give us a room with what was listed on our conformation sheet, but did not even give an apology for the mix up. Nothing great about the place except for how nice the lobby looked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jen vacation lover
San Diego, California
Aug 19, 2012

Perfect location for vacation

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is AWESOME. Was 100 % statisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is amazing.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Freelance writer
Glendale
Aug 17, 2012

Be Careful!

Be very careful with this hotel. You may think you're getting a good deal because of the Wyndham name, but this place has seen much better days. The property is dirty (except for the lobby) and the management is unresponsive to suggestions or complaints. We stayed there a few weeks ago and regret it. Circulation fans, ice machine, bathtub were all broken or not functioning well. Since then I've sent complaints but management has ignored them. It was a very uncomforable stay. Pay a little more elsewhere so your vacation won't be ruined, like ours!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllieG
Avon, UT
Aug 16, 2012

Great little getaway

Overall the hotel was great. The room was very clean and had what we needed. I did have to call the front desk for extra supplies because they did not give us enough, but the staff was very friendly and brought them right out to us. There is a restaurant on site, but I did not eat there...prices seemed a little high. The pool and hot tub were smaller than I was expecting, but they were clean! The hotel is very close to several stores and restaurants icluding Target and IHOP. Overall, a pretty good hotel for the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great BBQ place across the street with great food. If you go there, however, give yourself lots of time!!

Back to menu Return to top