$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

W San Diego

4 stars
421 West B Street, 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
128 reviews
Great

Great hotel in a great location. Everyone was extremely friendly. See full review

  • Doctor23
  • Dec 7, 2014
Most amazing staff

I can't tell you enough about how great the staff was. From the valet always opening the door with... See full review

  • Elts
  • Nov 30, 2014
Chic hotel with spa and open-air lounge near Gaslamp Quarter
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

W San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Dining

The W Living Room
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless High Speed Internet Access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.
Rooftop
Frolic in the sun. Bask in the moonlight. Whenever you’re here, heighten your lounge experience with skyline views amid tropical motifs.
Kelvin
Savor global cuisine. Let Kelvin elate you and your taste buds.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 128
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baron of Leather
Business
Sacramento
Sep 10, 2012

Why stay anywhere else?

I came to San Diego for a conference at the convention center. While my colleagues were scattered across downtown San Diego, including some hotels nearer the convention center, I am confident is saying I found the greatest value for my dollar. The hotel was extraordinary in nearly every way and the price was unbeatable. The only downside was the lack of an affordable internet connection. WiFi internet was available at a premium (approximately $15/day) that I was unwilling to pay. Making up for that was the unique room design and modern features that the hotel is known for. I really didn't want to leave when my conference was over and am now considering how to redesign parts of my home to reflect what I saw in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the Tin Fish in the Gaslamp for great seafood and drinks on a cool patio near Petco Park, Marina, and Convention Center. They feature fish tacos, live music, and a very relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Feb 15, 2012

Not tipical W

Botique hotel, under construction. No spa, no restaurants. Can get sandwich or cocktail in loby; that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CorbetRiley
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Renovations that killed the fun

I had been to this hotel before, and one of the primary reasons for booking here was to hang out at the Beach Bar on the second floor. I received no word prior to my arrival that not only was the Beach Bar closed for renovations during my stay, but also was the restaurant. So, needless to say, I was disappointed. Had I known this, I would have chosen another hotel. On another note, the internet is $14.95 per day PER DEVICE, so I also had the expectation that the internet would work with relative efficiency. Perhaps, their routers were, too, under construction since the crippling slow speeds are not something I often witness from internet that I have to pay for. I tried, with many failed attempts, to get adequate service from 3G to no avail. After my first night's experience, I put all of this commentary into a nicely worded note to the General Manager, Ms. Suzie Yang, to which she has yet to respond. This has put quite a bad taste in my mouth for W Hotels, a brand that had exceeded my expectations. Next time, I'll try a Kimpton hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gwynn
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Holiday Bowl Getaway

Great place to stay while my partner & I were in San Diego to watch the CAL vs. Texas game. We had a comfortable & spacious room. And the service (concierge & front desk staff) was great! Just wish the restaurants and bars had better hours of operation since it seemed limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichaelD
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Trendy but friendly

The rooms are getting a little worn, but the professional and very friendly staff make this an exceptional place to stay. Valet parking a tad pricey ($35), and self park a block or more away. As with most W properties, morning coffee not in the room, but a trip to the lobby. We happened to catch the UC Berkeley marching band staying here at the same time - I now know how many Tuba players we can share an elevator with! ;-) (2)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top