$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

W San Diego

4 stars
421 West B Street, 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
128 reviews
Great

Great hotel in a great location. Everyone was extremely friendly. See full review

  • Doctor23
  • Dec 7, 2014
Most amazing staff

I can't tell you enough about how great the staff was. From the valet always opening the door with... See full review

  • Elts
  • Nov 30, 2014
Chic hotel with spa and open-air lounge near Gaslamp Quarter
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

W San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Dining

The W Living Room
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless High Speed Internet Access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.
Rooftop
Frolic in the sun. Bask in the moonlight. Whenever you’re here, heighten your lounge experience with skyline views amid tropical motifs.
Kelvin
Savor global cuisine. Let Kelvin elate you and your taste buds.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 128
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not so relaxing trip
Business
Riverside, California
Aug 18, 2014

Terrible birthday getaway

To begin with, we were given a bedroom with one bed when we had booked a double bed. They said all rooms with two beds were booked and completely disregard our reservation. The room was tiny but 4 adults had to cram in. The hotel card key didn't work. We went down to the lobby 3 times to get them to fix our keys. At the third time, the receptionist sent security with us "to show us how to use they key." The key didn't work for the security guard either! They finally said they would reprogram the key and they ony gave us one working key. The air conditioning didn't work in the room. Only the bathroom would get cool. We were hot and uncomfortable during the entire stay. Cleaning crew and hotel bartenders were nice but overall the room was a huge disappointment! It was clean but subpar amenities. Valet was $40 and they parked our car in an outdoor lot. We will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The bar in the lobby serves great drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schatzi22
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Sep 23, 2013

Fun Girls Night

Great overall experience. Drove down from LA for a day of shopping and overnight. Hotel staff was attentive and friendly and the rice krispy treat at check is a fun perk! The outdoor bar has a great vibe and was fun for a drink after dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must have dinner at Searsucker!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CynnJc
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 25, 2013

Great!

wasnt what i expected since I live in LA and the W here is so much more fancy. But besides that i absolutely loved it.. seems very private and the service and area is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B and Friends
Business
Los Angeles
May 28, 2013

Will be staying there again for sure!

The hotel was super hip and fun, the decor is beautiful, the rooms were a bit on the smaller side but were nice. The biggest downside was the size of the pool, it was really small. The rooftop lounge was great, good music, awesome bartenders, so fun laying out and having margaritas. In the end, I know I will be coming back to the W San Diego again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Brewery literally around the corner from the hotel, AMAZING food and beer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IvonnePacker12
Business
Bellflower , Ca
Apr 8, 2013

Modern hotel , but not 4 star luxury

I have to say staying at the W was hassle free. The room was ready for us when we got there and no additional issues at check in which is perfect when all you want to do is hang out with your friends. I can't say I was completely satisfied though. Although the room was great... I did notice it had a very poor cleaning staff. The phones in the room looked like they hadn't been dusted in days along with the desk area. The bathroom also had that neglect that you would expect not to be overlooked by a 4 star hotel. Overall was a good place to stay, but it didn't meet my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunnie LA traveler
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Apr 2, 2013

Smooth sailing

My weekend getaway was amazing. The valet guys are on top of their game. As soon as you pull up they are waiting to assist you and thats because there were a line of cars and I was still attended to quickly. I didn't get any of their names but they were all very attentive and nice. There was a moment I forgot cupcakes in my car and I went back down stairs, told one of the guys the situation and without hesitation, my cupcakes were in my hands within minutes. The downside it's $35/ day and street parking isn't much of an option when you are there longer than 3 days. After parking I walked into the lobby and was greeted by a few staffers beside the lady behind the front desk. The lobby has a bar area with plenty of seating. Once checked in, we were directed to the elevator and our floor. The beds are amazing! They are so comfortable that when I got back home, I realized how much I need to invest into a new mattress and down comforters. I slept like a baby. The entertainment choice on the TV definitely needs to be worked on. Not everyone who goes to San Diego wants to party all the time. Some R&R was much needed. They do offer in room massage which I didn't decide to take up but they are plenty of local massage, nail, hair and wax salons. Most are pretty reasonable. The room service choice are okay. i would rate that a 2.5 if i could. I ordered chicken strips and a grill cheese for us and the chicken strips were a but salty. I was only able to enjoy 1, waste of money. my friend killed her grilled cheese though. The hotel restaurant was interesting. the booth seats are actually couches and are a bit inconvenient when getting up to use the restroom or sliding down for the person next to you. The food choices were upscale so if you are looking for a burger this isnt the spot. Needless to say I enjoyed myself. Shopping, food and relaxation, the convenience of the Horton plaza and all the little shops as well as being in the gaslamp district, there was plenty to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking sucks but if you are a female walking to this hotel at 3am is not an option. Take the short drive, you'll be thankful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffre Collins
Business
Dallas, Tx and Miami Beach Florida
Jan 10, 2013

Perfection

As with every stay at The W, our stay was superb in every way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hash House on 5th

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eighty twenty Dirtbag
Business
Laguna Beach
Jan 8, 2013

A fun New Year's Eve

A very simple, but comfortable room. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Chloe. A wonderful french restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dean P.
Business
New York, NY
Dec 11, 2012

Nice spot minutes away from Gaslamp

Great spot to stay for a short vaca! My room was clean, staff was nice and location was satisfactory. Minutes away walking to the Gaslamp District. The new 'rooftop' lounge is a nice spot, even though its not literally on the rooftop (2nd floor). Very posh. The gym has minimal equipment but enough to get by. They have a nice foosball table close to the pool which is always fun. I would recommend a stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Wanderer Linda
Business
Spokane, WA
Nov 6, 2012

Great getaway!

My experience was great! Staff was helpful and friendly. The environment was attractive and pleasant. The room was small but very comfortable and all the necessities were provided. Located within easy walking distance to many interesting places.Really appreciated the Acura car service! The only disappointment was the ice machine on my floor was not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top