$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

W San Diego

4 stars
View map of 421 West B Street, 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
133 reviews
nice getaway

It was a nice getaway for a week! It was near the Gaslamp Quarter which was nice to walk to. The... See full review

  • Katie D.
  • Jul 21, 2015
Great stay

Awesome hotel, friendly staff. Very modern and clean. You must checkout the rooftop bar. See full review

  • Amy M.
  • May 26, 2015
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Property features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Nearby attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Policies
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

★★★
$101
4.1 / 5 371 reviews
★★★★
$143
3.9 / 5 284 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.2 / 5 144 reviews
★★★★
$170
4.2 / 5 165 reviews
★★★
$119
3.6 / 5 260 reviews
★★★★★
$163
4.3 / 5 96 reviews
★★★
$114
4.1 / 5 163 reviews
★★★★
$127
3.9 / 5 149 reviews
★★★★★
$189
4.0 / 5 37 reviews

W San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Viejas Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Dining

Kelvin
Savor global cuisine. Let Kelvin elate you and your taste buds.
Rooftop
Frolic in the sun. Bask in the moonlight. Whenever you’re here, heighten your lounge experience with skyline views amid tropical motifs.
The W Living Room
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless High Speed Internet Access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 133
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kristin g.
Family
tacoma
Jul 28, 2015

SDSU Orientation

We had a wonderful experience. It was close to everything! Very nice staff! I will be going back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandi G.
Family
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Awesome NYE Trip

The room was comfortable, the room service was great and fast, and the NYE party was a blast. We'll definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Salvador H.
Family
Los angeles
Dec 30, 2014

Christmas Outing

The hotel was awesome. The staff were genuinely polite. Even after having to work on the holiday. We travel often to San Diego. We have stayed at several hotels. This is by far the best one. Everything was GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is very well centralized. Everything is a short cab ride away. For the price of parking you can catch a cab. Which works out well if you plan to party it up.

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Family Jon
Family
Southern California
May 12, 2014

We are not their normal demographic

This hotel probably skews more to the under 35 single dating crowd, with the DJ and other funky things. We are 40 year olds with a small kid. That being said, we brought the whole family and the dog for a quick get-away and were pleasantly surprised. We are got a small, but very comfortable room, the dog was more than welcome and they brought a crib right up for our toddler. We travel a ton, in a variety of hotels and levels and this had 2 things that are very critical to us, a comfortable bed with no groove worn down the mattress, and a workout room with free weights and good cardio machines. All in all, we would stay here again, even if we look like the parents of the rest of the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GinaB
Family
Texas
Apr 22, 2013

Good hotel

Within walking distance of most things. Beware that the hotel is across the street from the courthouse/jail. Lots of homeless people hanging out around that area. However, we never had any problems with them. Staff was excellent and room was plenty comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hendo
Family
San Dieago
Dec 18, 2012

seeing family

We visited family which were in walking distance. Loved the Accura promotion. Were able to get a few rides for free. Tim Bruss at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Nice to run into someone from close to home. David also very helpful. Finding us a place to watch the Packer game. Looking forward to coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saurabh Tripathi
Family
San Jose,CA
Sep 28, 2012

Staff was very helpful.

Hotel is located at very good location. Staff are very helpful and responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
golfaholica
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2011

Nice hotel, not the best locations

There are some reviewers comment that the service level is unacceptable. I have probably talked to at least 7 people from the hotel lobby, phone receptionist, bell man, bartender and valet. They are all nice and greet us promtly. I just don't see that the service being rude... The room was clean but small, we got a two double bed. Because of the room size, I don't think they could offer two queen size beds as some of you comment. However, the bathroom sliding doors has problem open and closing. My 11 years old daughter and my wife can not close the door completely, which left about 8 inches left open. Also the shower is literally "dripping" water, you have to turn to a very hot temperature to get some water pressure. To me this is very bad for a four star hotel. The LCD is flat screen however doesn't have a HDMI hook up to my laptop. Overall the hotel is good, modern, not too kid friendly. I might consider trying a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I decided to take a chance to park on the street instead of Valet it for $35. It was a Friday night and public parking is located just couple short blocks away from the hotel at 10pm. Just be careful that some street can't park overnight, which the meter will have the dates there.

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summertravels
Family
Chino Hills, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Took the family

When I went in the hotel with the family I quickly realized that this was not a place for kids, luckily my kids are teenagers. The room was clean but very small. Overall it was a pretty good room but not good enough for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jamf
Family
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Are those the photos of the same hotel???

The pool was very disappointing. It was far from the sand lounge (which was closed for a private party) and had room for only 7 lounge chairs. Everybody that walked in had the same question-is this the only pool in this hotel??? It looked more like a jacuzzi. The lobby is pretty and the staff is nice, but the location is a long walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Gaslamp quarters was a couple mile walk and has great restaurants and small "touristy" shops.

Back to menu Return to top