$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

W San Diego

4 stars
View map of 421 West B Street, 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
135 reviews
Downtown San Diego Conference

Great stay and nice location in downtown San Diego. I attended a conference and it was convenient... See full review

  • NateDawg
  • Feb 19, 2015
Perfect Weekend Getaway

I was looking for a hotel room for the night, to explore downtown with my boyfriend. Great... See full review

  • Kris
  • Feb 3, 2015
Chic hotel with spa and open-air lounge near Gaslamp Quarter
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Dining

The W Living Room
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless High Speed Internet Access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.
Rooftop
Frolic in the sun. Bask in the moonlight. Whenever you’re here, heighten your lounge experience with skyline views amid tropical motifs.
Kelvin
Savor global cuisine. Let Kelvin elate you and your taste buds.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jubileewee
Business
Irvine, CA
Sep 19, 2012

Used to be a great hotel

Staff was polite but very unhelpful. I had several bags with me at check in, no one offered to help. Was not greeted once the entire 4 days I was there. The carpet was very dirty. Stains on the carpet, bedskirt, and the curtains. Only 1 elevator was working. Waited over 15 minutes to get onto the elevator. Had a do not disturb sign and housekeeping just walked in at 8am on a Saturday. Luckily I had a latch on the door. Later, they came in when no one was there. And i had specifically asked them not to. The shower is poorly designed. Leaves the entire floor and the entrance carpet soaking wet. Extremely dangerous. The furniture was worn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Viceroy guest Dec 2012
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 6, 2013

1 star (if it wasn't for a serious attitude problem with staff, I'd give them five stars)

It it wasn't for a serious attitude problem by the hotel staff, I'd give them five stars. Problems happen. Just because there was a problem, I didn't "deduct" points. However, the problem was 100% the hotels, yet still the hotel staff displayed a serious bad/lecturing attitude. That's what I remember. That's the lasting impression. That's why the hotel receives the lowest possible rating of 1 star. Too bad. And on check-out, when I was asked about my stay, I made sure the staff knew of the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 8, 2011

Unbearable Noise!!

The room was clean but real small. There was apparently clubbing party every Saturday located at the second floor. Our room was at the 17th floor. We can hear the beats of the music perfectly. Even after closing my other ear with the other pillow. Just imagine!! called the front desk twice to complain. The lady said that oh...sorry, I'll ask the manager of the party to lower the volume.... yeah right! There was no change in the noise we were hearing. The second time I called, she said that she'll ask the manager of the party to end the party earlier... come on!! who is she fooling? After the party ends at 1:30 a.m., the party goers returned to their rooms. We can hear conversations and noises from next door. Just unbelievable. We were traveling with two other families. One of them complained that they can even clearly hear the people from the next room 'making out' after the party. The noise partition between the rooms is attrocious!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not so relaxing trip
Business
Riverside, California
Aug 18, 2014

Terrible birthday getaway

To begin with, we were given a bedroom with one bed when we had booked a double bed. They said all rooms with two beds were booked and completely disregard our reservation. The room was tiny but 4 adults had to cram in. The hotel card key didn't work. We went down to the lobby 3 times to get them to fix our keys. At the third time, the receptionist sent security with us "to show us how to use they key." The key didn't work for the security guard either! They finally said they would reprogram the key and they ony gave us one working key. The air conditioning didn't work in the room. Only the bathroom would get cool. We were hot and uncomfortable during the entire stay. Cleaning crew and hotel bartenders were nice but overall the room was a huge disappointment! It was clean but subpar amenities. Valet was $40 and they parked our car in an outdoor lot. We will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The bar in the lobby serves great drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gary M.
Business
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Business trip

Visiting this hotel you would think being quote is normal but not when your building every morning and not allowing people to sleep !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Feb 15, 2012

Not tipical W

Botique hotel, under construction. No spa, no restaurants. Can get sandwich or cocktail in loby; that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tekman
Business
Boston
May 23, 2012

Contruction in Lobby during our time there.

There was no notification of construction going on during our stay. Staff was top notch. Early morning work noise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Apr 14, 2011

Not a family-friendly hotel

Lobby noise on weekend evenings was ear-piercing (D-J), but that's apparently what you can expect at a "life-style" hotel. Would not recommend a weekend stay for anyone with children or perhaps anyone over the ancient age of 30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJD
Business
Austin, TX
May 4, 2011

Nothing Special for a Special Occasion

My new husband and I went to San Diego for a relaxed, short honeymoon. The room we stayed in was as pictured, the bed was cozy and customer service was mediocre. Unfortunately there were more negatives about the hotel than positives. As mentioned previously by other reviews, internet is $15 per 24 hours. It's not wifi, you have to hook up to a cord. There is free wifi in the lobby but it was not working with my computer while we were there. You could call a 1-800 number if you had issues but that's not how I wanted to spend my honeymoon. There are few channels on the tv and current movie releases, something you could rent from Redbox for $1, are $17 to watch in the rooms. Room service for 2 people ended up costing around $50 and was so salty that it was almost inedible. Plan on renting a car? Be prepared to pay $32 a night to keep the car at the hotel. The location, though downtown, really has nothing around it to visit. I believe this location is trying so hard to be trendy and create the night life atmosphere that they have forgotten that they are a hotel and that guest should be more of a priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our favorite 2 restaurants from the trip were both French. St. Tropez Bakery and Bistro is great for breakfast. My favorite was Cafe Chloe on 9th Avenue. Don't go if you are in a hurry, but if you want to enjoy a delicious meal in a beautiful, sun-filled setting you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Aug 8, 2011

Not what you expect from the W

Loud music and People coming from pool area all night, windows kept no sound out of room. Very Noisy and somewhat dirty. The worse W I ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top