$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

W San Diego

4 stars
421 West B. Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
180 reviews
Great!

wasnt what i expected since I live in LA and the W here is so much more fancy. But besides that i... See full review

  • CynnJc
  • Jul 25, 2013
Wow

The W is for Wow. I couldn't have had a better experience. From being allowed to check in at 10am... See full review

  • MD1234
  • Apr 22, 2013
Chic hotel with spa and open-air lounge near Gaslamp Quarter
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7178 -117.167
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport (Lindbergh Field), (SAN), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W San Diego Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Cordless phone
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sea World: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jubileewee
Business
Irvine, CA
Sep 19, 2012

Used to be a great hotel

Staff was polite but very unhelpful. I had several bags with me at check in, no one offered to help. Was not greeted once the entire 4 days I was there. The carpet was very dirty. Stains on the carpet, bedskirt, and the curtains. Only 1 elevator was working. Waited over 15 minutes to get onto the elevator. Had a do not disturb sign and housekeeping just walked in at 8am on a Saturday. Luckily I had a latch on the door. Later, they came in when no one was there. And i had specifically asked them not to. The shower is poorly designed. Leaves the entire floor and the entrance carpet soaking wet. Extremely dangerous. The furniture was worn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Aug 8, 2011

Unbearable Noise!!

The room was clean but real small. There was apparently clubbing party every Saturday located at the second floor. Our room was at the 17th floor. We can hear the beats of the music perfectly. Even after closing my other ear with the other pillow. Just imagine!! called the front desk twice to complain. The lady said that oh...sorry, I'll ask the manager of the party to lower the volume.... yeah right! There was no change in the noise we were hearing. The second time I called, she said that she'll ask the manager of the party to end the party earlier... come on!! who is she fooling? After the party ends at 1:30 a.m., the party goers returned to their rooms. We can hear conversations and noises from next door. Just unbelievable. We were traveling with two other families. One of them complained that they can even clearly hear the people from the next room 'making out' after the party. The noise partition between the rooms is attrocious!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Viceroy guest Dec 2012
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 6, 2013

1 star (if it wasn't for a serious attitude problem with staff, I'd give them five stars)

It it wasn't for a serious attitude problem by the hotel staff, I'd give them five stars. Problems happen. Just because there was a problem, I didn't "deduct" points. However, the problem was 100% the hotels, yet still the hotel staff displayed a serious bad/lecturing attitude. That's what I remember. That's the lasting impression. That's why the hotel receives the lowest possible rating of 1 star. Too bad. And on check-out, when I was asked about my stay, I made sure the staff knew of the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Aug 8, 2011

Unbearable Noise!!

The room was clean but real small. There was apparently clubbing party every Saturday located at the second floor. Our room was at the 17th floor. We can hear the beats of the music perfectly. Even after closing my other ear with the other pillow. Just imagine!! called the front desk twice to complain. The lady said that oh...sorry, I'll ask the manager of the party to lower the volume.... yeah right! There was no change in the noise we were hearing. The second time I called, she said that she'll ask the manager of the party to end the party earlier... come on!! who is she fooling? After the party ends at 1:30 a.m., the party goers returned to their rooms. We can hear conversations and noises from next door. Just unbelievable. We were traveling with two other families. One of them complained that they can even clearly hear the people from the next room 'making out' after the party. The noise partition between the rooms is attrocious!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al Bee
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Beware

I spent 1 night on 9/30. They decided to put me in the Third floor. This floor is where the conference rooms are located. There are a few rooms at the end of the hallway. My friends who were also staying here, could not find our room for the longest. In the room, both beds had the bedspreads with noticeable cuum stains. I tried to look for ice, little did I know I had to go three floors up for the nearest ice machine. I requested a room change. They put me in the 16th floor. The room was a little cleaner. The floor had an ice machine. Upon returning home, I saw an additional charge on my bank account for about $7.. not sure for what, will be calling them soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ellie Belly
Washington, D.C.
Jan 4, 2011

Nice, but not great.

The W Hotel in San Diego is nicely decorated, but definitely suited more for the party-goer than the city-goer. We arrived on New Years Eve with plans outside of the hotel. The W was hosting a huge NYE party which looked beautiful and appeared to be a lot of fun. However, it did pose a huge inconvenience to those that were staying at the hotel, but not going to the party. When we arrived back to the hotel at around 1:30 a.m., we were unable to get to our room via the elevator due to the number of party peeps that were overwhelming the elevator, lobby, and entire hotel area. We had to, instead, seek out stairs which no one could point us to. By the time we reached our room, our room key did not work, and we had to go back down to the front desk to ask for a new key, which they were not very nice about replacing. Listen, I am young. I'm not some old fart who is complaining about these young kids partying it up. But, when I am paying to stay at your hotel out of preference, please make it easy for me to get in and out of my room without being confronted with hundreds of belligerent celebrants. Otherwise, nice hotel, with OK service, and a not so OK location. Be sure to know what events they are hosting in advance of booking in case you are looking for some shut eye at any point prior to 3 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They do offer a car service compliments of Acura. It is free and will happily take you where you want to go. However, do note that they will try to sell you on buying an Acura. Not a bad sales pitch, but just be aware of it. :D

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al Bee
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Beware

I spent 1 night on 9/30. They decided to put me in the Third floor. This floor is where the conference rooms are located. There are a few rooms at the end of the hallway. My friends who were also staying here, could not find our room for the longest. In the room, both beds had the bedspreads with noticeable cuum stains. I tried to look for ice, little did I know I had to go three floors up for the nearest ice machine. I requested a room change. They put me in the 16th floor. The room was a little cleaner. The floor had an ice machine. Upon returning home, I saw an additional charge on my bank account for about $7.. not sure for what, will be calling them soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis
Aug 8, 2011

Not what you expect from the W

Loud music and People coming from pool area all night, windows kept no sound out of room. Very Noisy and somewhat dirty. The worse W I ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
las vegas
Feb 11, 2011

Nice but didn't like hidden fees

some what disappointing to find a little far off from Gaslight district when walking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJD
Austin, TX
May 4, 2011

Nothing Special for a Special Occasion

My new husband and I went to San Diego for a relaxed, short honeymoon. The room we stayed in was as pictured, the bed was cozy and customer service was mediocre. Unfortunately there were more negatives about the hotel than positives. As mentioned previously by other reviews, internet is $15 per 24 hours. It's not wifi, you have to hook up to a cord. There is free wifi in the lobby but it was not working with my computer while we were there. You could call a 1-800 number if you had issues but that's not how I wanted to spend my honeymoon. There are few channels on the tv and current movie releases, something you could rent from Redbox for $1, are $17 to watch in the rooms. Room service for 2 people ended up costing around $50 and was so salty that it was almost inedible. Plan on renting a car? Be prepared to pay $32 a night to keep the car at the hotel. The location, though downtown, really has nothing around it to visit. I believe this location is trying so hard to be trendy and create the night life atmosphere that they have forgotten that they are a hotel and that guest should be more of a priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our favorite 2 restaurants from the trip were both French. St. Tropez Bakery and Bistro is great for breakfast. My favorite was Cafe Chloe on 9th Avenue. Don't go if you are in a hurry, but if you want to enjoy a delicious meal in a beautiful, sun-filled setting you will not be disappointed.

Back to menu Return to top