$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

W San Diego

4 stars
421 West B. Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
180 reviews
Great!

wasnt what i expected since I live in LA and the W here is so much more fancy. But besides that i... See full review

  • CynnJc
  • Jul 25, 2013
Wow

The W is for Wow. I couldn't have had a better experience. From being allowed to check in at 10am... See full review

  • MD1234
  • Apr 22, 2013
Chic hotel with spa and open-air lounge near Gaslamp Quarter
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W San Diego Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Cordless phone
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7178 -117.167
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport (Lindbergh Field), (SAN), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sea World: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
holmesxxx
Las Vegas
May 31, 2010

w hotel san diego

First class service. Acura service was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
disney kid
Business
Goleta,CA
Jul 5, 2010

Business and fun, great time!

I love staying at the W whenever I can because the staff makes you feel like you are at home. Anything you ask, they are there to serve. Great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, Arizona
Apr 29, 2011

Fantastic Getaway

great service, nice people, great Hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

great golf courses, and entertainment

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
SF, CA
Apr 27, 2011

Great place & great location

What can I say? It's a W Hotel...just great hotels!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PJS321
San Diego, CA
Jul 7, 2011

1st California Trip

Hotel was very nice...It was a couple blocks from all the action was, but still close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Market Street is really fun at night

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simpleginius
New York, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

As Usual The "W Hotel" Delivers

As usual, the "W Hotel" delivers, great everything; A* for Service (hotel, concierge and maid), A* for In and Out of room dining, A* for Ambiance, A* for Amenities (everything you need is right there, and if not there "anytime/anywhere" service is amazing. I would definitely recommend staying there and it is close to everything, including the trolley to TiaJuana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I would definitely recommend staying there and it is close to everything, including the trolley to TiaJuana

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
msnhess
dallas, tx
Dec 21, 2012

fantastic trip in san diego!

I loved it. No complaints. The rooms were cozy and immaculate. The hotel itself was contemporary and beautiful. Next time, I'll have to utilize the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moe.
Tempe, AZ
Jun 4, 2010

Great Location, Great Facilities

Four of my friends and I took a road trip to San Diego. The room fit 5 very comfortably - 2 in each bed, and the 5th one slept by the window, which had it's own elongated bed (sorry, don't really know how to described it!) Great room, great facilities. Free wifi in the lobby. They have a great car service through ACURA. You just call downstairs and they will drive you anywhere (within reason) before 8:30pm. My friends and I used the ACURA service to go to the Gaslamp district and it saved us some cash and some hassle. The hotel is located in a safe location, valet service is about $35 a night. We did not do the valet service, instead we parked a block away (2 minute walk) in a pay parking lot. It was $15 for 24 hours - with in and out privileges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moe.
Tempe, AZ
Jun 4, 2010

Great Location, Great Facilities

Four of my friends and I took a road trip to San Diego. The room fit 5 very comfortably - 2 in each bed, and the 5th one slept by the window, which had it's own elongated bed (sorry, don't really know how to described it!) Great room, great facilities. Free wifi in the lobby. They have a great car service through ACURA. You just call downstairs and they will drive you anywhere (within reason) before 8:30pm. My friends and I used the ACURA service to go to the Gaslamp district and it saved us some cash and some hassle. The hotel is located in a safe location, valet service is about $35 a night. We did not do the valet service, instead we parked a block away (2 minute walk) in a pay parking lot. It was $15 for 24 hours - with in and out privileges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stockbrokerfraud
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 3, 2012

The W is the best

really does not get any better, and am continually amazed at the innovative amenities at the W! I think it was also really inexpensive...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Killer restaurants and nightlife on 5th street and little italy... close to courthouse

Back to menu Return to top