$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

W San Diego

4 stars
View map of 421 West B Street, 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
golfaholica
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2011

Nice hotel, not the best locations

There are some reviewers comment that the service level is unacceptable. I have probably talked to at least 7 people from the hotel lobby, phone receptionist, bell man, bartender and valet. They are all nice and greet us promtly. I just don't see that the service being rude... The room was clean but small, we got a two double bed. Because of the room size, I don't think they could offer two queen size beds as some of you comment. However, the bathroom sliding doors has problem open and closing. My 11 years old daughter and my wife can not close the door completely, which left about 8 inches left open. Also the shower is literally "dripping" water, you have to turn to a very hot temperature to get some water pressure. To me this is very bad for a four star hotel. The LCD is flat screen however doesn't have a HDMI hook up to my laptop. Overall the hotel is good, modern, not too kid friendly. I might consider trying a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I decided to take a chance to park on the street instead of Valet it for $35. It was a Friday night and public parking is located just couple short blocks away from the hotel at 10pm. Just be careful that some street can't park overnight, which the meter will have the dates there.

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denver Aggie
Business
Denver
Aug 24, 2011

The W Hotel is fantastic!

Very comfortable beds, nice rooms, cool pool and outside bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AmyB
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 22, 2011

Below Average

Paid extra on Orbitz to book for a 2 room 2 queen bed. Arrived and was told that one of the room will be king's bed. Extremely disappointed. Because they took FOREVER to deliver our extra twin bed into the 1 king bed room. And our 2 queen bed was a HANDICAPPED room. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AmyB
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 22, 2011

Below Average

Paid extra on Orbitz to book for a 2 room 2 queen bed. Arrived and was told that one of the room will be king's bed. Extremely disappointed. Because they took FOREVER to deliver our extra twin bed into the 1 king bed room. And our 2 queen bed was a HANDICAPPED room. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xaixen
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 19, 2011

SD cool @ the W

Great all around experience. Every aspect of the hotel was different than the standard. Check-in was friendly and effortless. Room was funky w/o being cold or sterile. Coming home at night felt like I was slipping in past the velvet rope. The roof top bar was missing Jack Johnson playing acoustic guitar by fire pit, but that was about it. Memorable stay in SD @ the W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Croce's Restaurant, Lounge, Jazz Club.

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simpleginius
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

As Usual The "W Hotel" Delivers

As usual, the "W Hotel" delivers, great everything; A* for Service (hotel, concierge and maid), A* for In and Out of room dining, A* for Ambiance, A* for Amenities (everything you need is right there, and if not there "anytime/anywhere" service is amazing. I would definitely recommend staying there and it is close to everything, including the trolley to TiaJuana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I would definitely recommend staying there and it is close to everything, including the trolley to TiaJuana

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summertravels
Business
Chino Hills, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Took the family

When I went in the hotel with the family I quickly realized that this was not a place for kids, luckily my kids are teenagers. The room was clean but very small. Overall it was a pretty good room but not good enough for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jamf
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Are those the photos of the same hotel???

The pool was very disappointing. It was far from the sand lounge (which was closed for a private party) and had room for only 7 lounge chairs. Everybody that walked in had the same question-is this the only pool in this hotel??? It looked more like a jacuzzi. The lobby is pretty and the staff is nice, but the location is a long walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Gaslamp quarters was a couple mile walk and has great restaurants and small "touristy" shops.

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 8, 2011

Unbearable Noise!!

The room was clean but real small. There was apparently clubbing party every Saturday located at the second floor. Our room was at the 17th floor. We can hear the beats of the music perfectly. Even after closing my other ear with the other pillow. Just imagine!! called the front desk twice to complain. The lady said that oh...sorry, I'll ask the manager of the party to lower the volume.... yeah right! There was no change in the noise we were hearing. The second time I called, she said that she'll ask the manager of the party to end the party earlier... come on!! who is she fooling? After the party ends at 1:30 a.m., the party goers returned to their rooms. We can hear conversations and noises from next door. Just unbelievable. We were traveling with two other families. One of them complained that they can even clearly hear the people from the next room 'making out' after the party. The noise partition between the rooms is attrocious!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OC, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Nice stay

Nice hotel. Clean and modern rooms. Friendly staff. Not really good for families on over the weekend visits due to party scene and loud music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top