$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

W San Diego

4 stars
421 West B Street, 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
124 reviews
Great!

wasnt what i expected since I live in LA and the W here is so much more fancy. But besides that i... See full review

  • CynnJc
  • Jul 25, 2013
Wow

The W is for Wow. I couldn't have had a better experience. From being allowed to check in at 10am... See full review

  • MD1234
  • Apr 22, 2013
Chic hotel with spa and open-air lounge near Gaslamp Quarter
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7178 -117.167
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.22, KM;
Area description
Airport, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

W San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sea World: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Dining

The W Living Room
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless High Speed Internet Access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.
Rooftop
Frolic in the sun. Bask in the moonlight. Whenever you’re here, heighten your lounge experience with skyline views amid tropical motifs.
Kelvin
Savor global cuisine. Let Kelvin elate you and your taste buds.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jkhjhg
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Satisfied

70s decor is cool. Vibe was cool. Pool bar was happening at night. Staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al Bee
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Beware

I spent 1 night on 9/30. They decided to put me in the Third floor. This floor is where the conference rooms are located. There are a few rooms at the end of the hallway. My friends who were also staying here, could not find our room for the longest. In the room, both beds had the bedspreads with noticeable cuum stains. I tried to look for ice, little did I know I had to go three floors up for the nearest ice machine. I requested a room change. They put me in the 16th floor. The room was a little cleaner. The floor had an ice machine. Upon returning home, I saw an additional charge on my bank account for about $7.. not sure for what, will be calling them soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girl From Jersey
New Jersey, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Perfect Location

This is the perfect stay if your in San Diego to party. It is near the Gaslamp area. It is not too far from Pacific Beach and Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rockanlover
Phoenix, Az
Sep 12, 2011

Nice hotel, great location, nice stay!

The hotel is very edgy and chic. I liked the decor and the design. I had a nice room with a view of the ocean. I loved waking up to that view. The staff was nice for the most part. I didn't like the woman at the concierge desk. She was a bit rude to my taste and I did not ask for anything special. All I wanted was a car to take me to a venue. I ended up taking a cab after the way she responded. Did not want to deal with her. The other guy at the Whenever desk was way nicer and helpful, but I think he was only there on the daytime. Also, my room seemed clean when I first walked there, but after a few hours I noticed food crumbs on the bench next to the window (yikes.) The next morning the housekeeper did not throw all the trash away from my bathroom. Not a biggy, but it is a lot nicer to walk into a clean bathroom. Locationwise, I was very happy because the whole reason of my trip was to go to a concert at 4th and B, and the venue is about 6 blocks away. In the daytime I walked to the Horton Plaza. It is not far at all either. Lastly, it is a hotel where a lot of guests like to have their little after-parties. I had one next to my room. I could hear people screaming and laughing so hard, it was ridiculous. I tried to call front desk, but they did not answer the phone. The party stopped at around 4:30am. I know so because that is when I finally could sleep. Before booking, I read other reviews, so I wasn't surprised that happened. I guess I should've joined the party. Other than that, I had a nice stay. I went to the gym, the pool and the restaurant downstairs. It is a beautiful hotel, but beware of the noise outside. After all it is downtown and when the sun goes down, its nightlife comes alive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you want to go somewhere at night and would like to use their car service to get you there, call concierge and make a reservation. They did not tell me that I needed to make reservation, but once you go to concierge she told me I had to or wait for their next car available. I took a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viejo
Oceanside, CA, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Great Location For Walkers

Near Little Italy,Gaslamp dining and downtown. When I first checked in, the person at the desk didn't want to accept my Orbitz free day parking. After several trips to the back and looking at my printed coupon,I was given the free parking. It was valet parking so I had to tip. The room was large with a great view. The staff was pleasant and we had a terrific day in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around to see all the restaurants in the Gaslamp area before making a decision where to eat..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
golfaholica
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2011

Nice hotel, not the best locations

There are some reviewers comment that the service level is unacceptable. I have probably talked to at least 7 people from the hotel lobby, phone receptionist, bell man, bartender and valet. They are all nice and greet us promtly. I just don't see that the service being rude... The room was clean but small, we got a two double bed. Because of the room size, I don't think they could offer two queen size beds as some of you comment. However, the bathroom sliding doors has problem open and closing. My 11 years old daughter and my wife can not close the door completely, which left about 8 inches left open. Also the shower is literally "dripping" water, you have to turn to a very hot temperature to get some water pressure. To me this is very bad for a four star hotel. The LCD is flat screen however doesn't have a HDMI hook up to my laptop. Overall the hotel is good, modern, not too kid friendly. I might consider trying a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I decided to take a chance to park on the street instead of Valet it for $35. It was a Friday night and public parking is located just couple short blocks away from the hotel at 10pm. Just be careful that some street can't park overnight, which the meter will have the dates there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denver Aggie
Denver
Aug 24, 2011

The W Hotel is fantastic!

Very comfortable beds, nice rooms, cool pool and outside bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AmyB
Orange County, CA
Aug 22, 2011

Below Average

Paid extra on Orbitz to book for a 2 room 2 queen bed. Arrived and was told that one of the room will be king's bed. Extremely disappointed. Because they took FOREVER to deliver our extra twin bed into the 1 king bed room. And our 2 queen bed was a HANDICAPPED room. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xaixen
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 19, 2011

SD cool @ the W

Great all around experience. Every aspect of the hotel was different than the standard. Check-in was friendly and effortless. Room was funky w/o being cold or sterile. Coming home at night felt like I was slipping in past the velvet rope. The roof top bar was missing Jack Johnson playing acoustic guitar by fire pit, but that was about it. Memorable stay in SD @ the W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Croce's Restaurant, Lounge, Jazz Club.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simpleginius
New York, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

As Usual The "W Hotel" Delivers

As usual, the "W Hotel" delivers, great everything; A* for Service (hotel, concierge and maid), A* for In and Out of room dining, A* for Ambiance, A* for Amenities (everything you need is right there, and if not there "anytime/anywhere" service is amazing. I would definitely recommend staying there and it is close to everything, including the trolley to TiaJuana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I would definitely recommend staying there and it is close to everything, including the trolley to TiaJuana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search