$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

W San Diego

4 stars
421 West B. Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
180 reviews
Great!

wasnt what i expected since I live in LA and the W here is so much more fancy. But besides that i... See full review

  • CynnJc
  • Jul 25, 2013
Wow

The W is for Wow. I couldn't have had a better experience. From being allowed to check in at 10am... See full review

  • MD1234
  • Apr 22, 2013
Chic hotel with spa and open-air lounge near Gaslamp Quarter
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7178 -117.167
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport (Lindbergh Field), (SAN), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W San Diego Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Cordless phone
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sea World: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RogeC
Business
Natick, MA, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Fun hotel, great service

This was an excellent hotel, a lot of fun to stay at, beautiful interior design in rooms, lobby, and everywhere, and excellent service. Definitely not your run of the mill, sterile hotel. This one had some character, and all the staff were super-friendly, helpful and generous. Would stay here again. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AussieInHouston
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 22, 2012

under renovation

Disappointed that some areas were unavailable, renovations needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alflexdog
Business
Bogotá, Bogota, Colombia
Feb 19, 2012

Unusual is good

The rooms at the W are very cool, different, they have a different feel than regular hotels. At night there is a cool clubish feel to the hotel which is fun and cool. In the morning the feel is a little dark kind of down but still cool. I don't like hotels that make you pay for Internet, it just buggs me, but that is a personal preference. Definitely would go again, hopefully with an Internet package included. Also I love you can bring pets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cmtraveler
Raleigh, NC
Feb 15, 2012

Interesting spot for a 4 star hotel, nice rooms, bad bathroom design

The W was just a short walk to everything- the Gaslamp, the pier, the Bay, Little Italy. However, the area directly surrounding the hotel (when looking at a map, northeast of the hotel) was not the greatest when considering that this is a 4 star hotel. The staff was excellent and we loved their happy hour at the restaurant downstairs. The room was very nice, however the bathroom had a sliding door that had lots of space in between it (so you can hear EVERYTHING when sitting on the bed). The shower also had a glass pane that only covered part of the shower, so the water would splash and get the bathroom floor wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Lauderdale
Feb 15, 2012

Not tipical W

Botique hotel, under construction. No spa, no restaurants. Can get sandwich or cocktail in loby; that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danyherrera
Monterrey, NL, México
Feb 7, 2012

Great to travel with friends

Everything was good, I've been to other W Hotels that are a bit nicer but still it lives up to expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea Sucker

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Mono
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Jan 30, 2012

Great Stay

I recommend this hotel, the location is very good, its basically walking distance of all downtown (A few blocks from Horton for your shopping and a bunch of nice restaurants). The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel rooms exceeded our expectations and the lounge was a great place to hang out. Just be careful with the valet price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CorbetRiley
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Renovations that killed the fun

I had been to this hotel before, and one of the primary reasons for booking here was to hang out at the Beach Bar on the second floor. I received no word prior to my arrival that not only was the Beach Bar closed for renovations during my stay, but also was the restaurant. So, needless to say, I was disappointed. Had I known this, I would have chosen another hotel. On another note, the internet is $14.95 per day PER DEVICE, so I also had the expectation that the internet would work with relative efficiency. Perhaps, their routers were, too, under construction since the crippling slow speeds are not something I often witness from internet that I have to pay for. I tried, with many failed attempts, to get adequate service from 3G to no avail. After my first night's experience, I put all of this commentary into a nicely worded note to the General Manager, Ms. Suzie Yang, to which she has yet to respond. This has put quite a bad taste in my mouth for W Hotels, a brand that had exceeded my expectations. Next time, I'll try a Kimpton hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gwynn
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Holiday Bowl Getaway

Great place to stay while my partner & I were in San Diego to watch the CAL vs. Texas game. We had a comfortable & spacious room. And the service (concierge & front desk staff) was great! Just wish the restaurants and bars had better hours of operation since it seemed limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nana B
Anaheim CA
Jan 9, 2012

great hotel

The staff at the "W" could not have been nicer. The free ride to the restaurant was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top