$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

W San Diego

4 stars
421 West B. Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
180 reviews
Great!

wasnt what i expected since I live in LA and the W here is so much more fancy. But besides that i... See full review

  • CynnJc
  • Jul 25, 2013
Wow

The W is for Wow. I couldn't have had a better experience. From being allowed to check in at 10am... See full review

  • MD1234
  • Apr 22, 2013
Chic hotel with spa and open-air lounge near Gaslamp Quarter
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7178 -117.167
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport (Lindbergh Field), (SAN), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W San Diego Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Cordless phone
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sea World: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hendo
San Dieago
Dec 18, 2012

seeing family

We visited family which were in walking distance. Loved the Accura promotion. Were able to get a few rides for free. Tim Bruss at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Nice to run into someone from close to home. David also very helpful. Finding us a place to watch the Packer game. Looking forward to coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patwill9
Honolulu, Hzi
Dec 16, 2012

Upscale and affordable

A surprisingly affordable slice of luxury in downtown San Diego. The rooms are spacious and attractively decorated, there's a friendly vibe among the staff and guests, the marina is a 10 minute walk away, and there's a terrific brewpub next door. There is a downside to all this value: not an awesome location if you are a fun seeker instead of a businessperson. You'll have to cab or walk to the Gas Lamp district and there is zero shopping other than the chain store laden mall. I was happy to make the trade off to stay at a hotel I couldn't otherwise afford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dean P.
New York, NY
Dec 11, 2012

Nice spot minutes away from Gaslamp

Great spot to stay for a short vaca! My room was clean, staff was nice and location was satisfactory. Minutes away walking to the Gaslamp District. The new 'rooftop' lounge is a nice spot, even though its not literally on the rooftop (2nd floor). Very posh. The gym has minimal equipment but enough to get by. They have a nice foosball table close to the pool which is always fun. I would recommend a stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago travelers XYZHGER
Chicago
Dec 8, 2012

Couple getaway for 5 days

The staff here is fantastic. They are proactive, always asking if there is anything needed and attentive. The lobby is amazing. Just redone with collaborative areas to work off laptop, read the paper or join a group during the day and a great bar and DJ area for the evenings. The rooms are great with exteremley comforatable beds and pillows. The location is a 8 block from Gaslamp which could be a good thing since Gaslamp is very croweded/loud in evening. We had a room with the view of the bay on the 16th floor that did not disappoint. Centrally located - everything was within 8 block s - We were in walking distance from the bay to catch the ferry to Coranado Island, N & S bay tours, walking distance to Gaslamp, walking distance to Petco Park and under 10 minutes from the airport. We based ourselves out of San Diego and did day trips everywhere - La Jolla, Del Mar, Laguna, Newport even LA/Beverly HIlls/Santa Monica. I'd recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We visited Corando Island. Since it was December it did not warm up until 11am. We walked the 8 blocks to the ferry - ($8 per person round trip) 15 minute boat ride over. There is a landing area with a few restaurants and shops. We walked due west - a long walk approximately 45 minutes all the way to the other side of island. The majority is resential until you get to the western part of island. Then there are more shops, coffee shops and restaurants. We ate lunch on the sun deck at Del Coranado Hotel (built in 1888) with a fanatstic view of the Pacific. Lunch was reasonable there $12 for a salad $5 for house wine. Spent about 3+ hours people watching and enjoying the view. Walked the 45 mins back/caught ferry and went to the Hyatt Grand 40th floor for a cocktail to watch the sunset - amazing 360 degree views of the Pacific/Bay/all downtown. The sunset was great but also the entire city lit up at night was a great site as well. We then walked from the Hyatt Grand to Gaslamp for dinner - short 5 block walks to 5th street where there are many many options for dinner.

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDsrs
Business
Madison
Dec 8, 2012

Business

Room needed upgrade, carpet was filthy. Also better lighting. Staff was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJHartnett
Orange County, CA
Nov 19, 2012

Great Night

We had a great time at the W. Be careful when you book the hotel the night before. They did not have our reservation at the W and it took some time to get it sorted out. The W staff was excellent as usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Call and confirm your reservation.

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Wanderer Linda
Spokane, WA
Nov 6, 2012

Great getaway!

My experience was great! Staff was helpful and friendly. The environment was attractive and pleasant. The room was small but very comfortable and all the necessities were provided. Located within easy walking distance to many interesting places.Really appreciated the Acura car service! The only disappointment was the ice machine on my floor was not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saurabh Tripathi
San Jose,CA
Sep 28, 2012

Staff was very helpful.

Hotel is located at very good location. Staff are very helpful and responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChiTownTraveller
Chicago
Sep 24, 2012

Perfect

The W was great. Clean modern and in a great location. we couldnt have asked for more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bankers Hill is an amazing restaurant

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jubileewee
Business
Irvine, CA
Sep 19, 2012

Used to be a great hotel

Staff was polite but very unhelpful. I had several bags with me at check in, no one offered to help. Was not greeted once the entire 4 days I was there. The carpet was very dirty. Stains on the carpet, bedskirt, and the curtains. Only 1 elevator was working. Waited over 15 minutes to get onto the elevator. Had a do not disturb sign and housekeeping just walked in at 8am on a Saturday. Luckily I had a latch on the door. Later, they came in when no one was there. And i had specifically asked them not to. The shower is poorly designed. Leaves the entire floor and the entrance carpet soaking wet. Extremely dangerous. The furniture was worn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top