$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

W San Diego

4 stars
View map of 421 West B Street, 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USNavy retired
Business
Urbana, Il
Feb 24, 2014

Hip hotel, questionable location.

W's are decidedly for young people. Lots on energy. Loud music. Lobby full of people on laptops. Great staff. The San Diego location is not the best, however. Across from the county courts and correctional facilities. Quite a few homeless folks in the neighborhood make walking a bit uncomfortable. Several blocks from Gaslight Quarter and Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex N
Business
State College, PA
Feb 4, 2014

Great price

Great price for a W. Not really the best location, but a short half mile walk from LIttle Italy and Gaslamp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Viceroy guest Dec 2012
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 6, 2013

1 star (if it wasn't for a serious attitude problem with staff, I'd give them five stars)

It it wasn't for a serious attitude problem by the hotel staff, I'd give them five stars. Problems happen. Just because there was a problem, I didn't "deduct" points. However, the problem was 100% the hotels, yet still the hotel staff displayed a serious bad/lecturing attitude. That's what I remember. That's the lasting impression. That's why the hotel receives the lowest possible rating of 1 star. Too bad. And on check-out, when I was asked about my stay, I made sure the staff knew of the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schatzi22
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Sep 23, 2013

Fun Girls Night

Great overall experience. Drove down from LA for a day of shopping and overnight. Hotel staff was attentive and friendly and the rice krispy treat at check is a fun perk! The outdoor bar has a great vibe and was fun for a drink after dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must have dinner at Searsucker!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CynnJc
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 25, 2013

Great!

wasnt what i expected since I live in LA and the W here is so much more fancy. But besides that i absolutely loved it.. seems very private and the service and area is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B and Friends
Business
Los Angeles
May 28, 2013

Will be staying there again for sure!

The hotel was super hip and fun, the decor is beautiful, the rooms were a bit on the smaller side but were nice. The biggest downside was the size of the pool, it was really small. The rooftop lounge was great, good music, awesome bartenders, so fun laying out and having margaritas. In the end, I know I will be coming back to the W San Diego again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Brewery literally around the corner from the hotel, AMAZING food and beer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GinaB
Business
Texas
Apr 22, 2013

Good hotel

Within walking distance of most things. Beware that the hotel is across the street from the courthouse/jail. Lots of homeless people hanging out around that area. However, we never had any problems with them. Staff was excellent and room was plenty comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MD1234
Business
Seattle, Washington
Apr 22, 2013

Wow

The W is for Wow. I couldn't have had a better experience. From being allowed to check in at 10am (yes, 10am), to the free door-to-door Acura service (talk about being chauffeured around San Diego), to the comfortable beds, Bliss body products, free coffee, apples, and fruit infused water in the lobby, to the free nightly wine/champagne event with Starwood Preferred Guests (I signed up on the spot) from 5-6pm, I couldn't have been happier. Will definitely stay here again, should I visit SD in the future. Oh, this is also one of the most disability friendly hotels, complete with a lift to get those with disabilities in and out of the pool. Love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For Swordfish Tacos, you can't beat Miguel's Cocina on Coronado.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IvonnePacker12
Business
Bellflower , Ca
Apr 8, 2013

Modern hotel , but not 4 star luxury

I have to say staying at the W was hassle free. The room was ready for us when we got there and no additional issues at check in which is perfect when all you want to do is hang out with your friends. I can't say I was completely satisfied though. Although the room was great... I did notice it had a very poor cleaning staff. The phones in the room looked like they hadn't been dusted in days along with the desk area. The bathroom also had that neglect that you would expect not to be overlooked by a 4 star hotel. Overall was a good place to stay, but it didn't meet my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunnie LA traveler
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Apr 2, 2013

Smooth sailing

My weekend getaway was amazing. The valet guys are on top of their game. As soon as you pull up they are waiting to assist you and thats because there were a line of cars and I was still attended to quickly. I didn't get any of their names but they were all very attentive and nice. There was a moment I forgot cupcakes in my car and I went back down stairs, told one of the guys the situation and without hesitation, my cupcakes were in my hands within minutes. The downside it's $35/ day and street parking isn't much of an option when you are there longer than 3 days. After parking I walked into the lobby and was greeted by a few staffers beside the lady behind the front desk. The lobby has a bar area with plenty of seating. Once checked in, we were directed to the elevator and our floor. The beds are amazing! They are so comfortable that when I got back home, I realized how much I need to invest into a new mattress and down comforters. I slept like a baby. The entertainment choice on the TV definitely needs to be worked on. Not everyone who goes to San Diego wants to party all the time. Some R&R was much needed. They do offer in room massage which I didn't decide to take up but they are plenty of local massage, nail, hair and wax salons. Most are pretty reasonable. The room service choice are okay. i would rate that a 2.5 if i could. I ordered chicken strips and a grill cheese for us and the chicken strips were a but salty. I was only able to enjoy 1, waste of money. my friend killed her grilled cheese though. The hotel restaurant was interesting. the booth seats are actually couches and are a bit inconvenient when getting up to use the restroom or sliding down for the person next to you. The food choices were upscale so if you are looking for a burger this isnt the spot. Needless to say I enjoyed myself. Shopping, food and relaxation, the convenience of the Horton plaza and all the little shops as well as being in the gaslamp district, there was plenty to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking sucks but if you are a female walking to this hotel at 3am is not an option. Take the short drive, you'll be thankful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top