$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

W San Diego

4 stars
421 West B Street, 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
132 reviews
Awesome NYE Trip

The room was comfortable, the room service was great and fast, and the NYE party was a blast. We'll... See full review

  • Brandi G.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Great Hotel, Reasonable Price

Beautiful, trendy place, comfortable bed...room wasn't read till a couple hours after when we... See full review

  • Charles H.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Chic hotel with spa and open-air lounge near Gaslamp Quarter
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

W San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Dining

Kelvin
Savor global cuisine. Let Kelvin elate you and your taste buds.
Rooftop
Frolic in the sun. Bask in the moonlight. Whenever you’re here, heighten your lounge experience with skyline views amid tropical motifs.
The W Living Room
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless High Speed Internet Access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B and Friends
Business
Los Angeles
May 28, 2013

Will be staying there again for sure!

The hotel was super hip and fun, the decor is beautiful, the rooms were a bit on the smaller side but were nice. The biggest downside was the size of the pool, it was really small. The rooftop lounge was great, good music, awesome bartenders, so fun laying out and having margaritas. In the end, I know I will be coming back to the W San Diego again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Brewery literally around the corner from the hotel, AMAZING food and beer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GinaB
Business
Texas
Apr 22, 2013

Good hotel

Within walking distance of most things. Beware that the hotel is across the street from the courthouse/jail. Lots of homeless people hanging out around that area. However, we never had any problems with them. Staff was excellent and room was plenty comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MD1234
Business
Seattle, Washington
Apr 22, 2013

Wow

The W is for Wow. I couldn't have had a better experience. From being allowed to check in at 10am (yes, 10am), to the free door-to-door Acura service (talk about being chauffeured around San Diego), to the comfortable beds, Bliss body products, free coffee, apples, and fruit infused water in the lobby, to the free nightly wine/champagne event with Starwood Preferred Guests (I signed up on the spot) from 5-6pm, I couldn't have been happier. Will definitely stay here again, should I visit SD in the future. Oh, this is also one of the most disability friendly hotels, complete with a lift to get those with disabilities in and out of the pool. Love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For Swordfish Tacos, you can't beat Miguel's Cocina on Coronado.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IvonnePacker12
Business
Bellflower , Ca
Apr 8, 2013

Modern hotel , but not 4 star luxury

I have to say staying at the W was hassle free. The room was ready for us when we got there and no additional issues at check in which is perfect when all you want to do is hang out with your friends. I can't say I was completely satisfied though. Although the room was great... I did notice it had a very poor cleaning staff. The phones in the room looked like they hadn't been dusted in days along with the desk area. The bathroom also had that neglect that you would expect not to be overlooked by a 4 star hotel. Overall was a good place to stay, but it didn't meet my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunnie LA traveler
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Apr 2, 2013

Smooth sailing

My weekend getaway was amazing. The valet guys are on top of their game. As soon as you pull up they are waiting to assist you and thats because there were a line of cars and I was still attended to quickly. I didn't get any of their names but they were all very attentive and nice. There was a moment I forgot cupcakes in my car and I went back down stairs, told one of the guys the situation and without hesitation, my cupcakes were in my hands within minutes. The downside it's $35/ day and street parking isn't much of an option when you are there longer than 3 days. After parking I walked into the lobby and was greeted by a few staffers beside the lady behind the front desk. The lobby has a bar area with plenty of seating. Once checked in, we were directed to the elevator and our floor. The beds are amazing! They are so comfortable that when I got back home, I realized how much I need to invest into a new mattress and down comforters. I slept like a baby. The entertainment choice on the TV definitely needs to be worked on. Not everyone who goes to San Diego wants to party all the time. Some R&R was much needed. They do offer in room massage which I didn't decide to take up but they are plenty of local massage, nail, hair and wax salons. Most are pretty reasonable. The room service choice are okay. i would rate that a 2.5 if i could. I ordered chicken strips and a grill cheese for us and the chicken strips were a but salty. I was only able to enjoy 1, waste of money. my friend killed her grilled cheese though. The hotel restaurant was interesting. the booth seats are actually couches and are a bit inconvenient when getting up to use the restroom or sliding down for the person next to you. The food choices were upscale so if you are looking for a burger this isnt the spot. Needless to say I enjoyed myself. Shopping, food and relaxation, the convenience of the Horton plaza and all the little shops as well as being in the gaslamp district, there was plenty to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking sucks but if you are a female walking to this hotel at 3am is not an option. Take the short drive, you'll be thankful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
orel
Business
los angeles
Feb 15, 2013

tv

Everything was great great staff great food and drinks . Blueberry pancakes were wonderful bfast kinda pricey cup of oj 5 bucks!! But that hotel prices for ya .tv was pretty bad tho lots of channels weren't in service went out during a movie but was fixed right away and movie was given at no charge . Rice crspies at front desk was nice also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffre Collins
Business
Dallas, Tx and Miami Beach Florida
Jan 10, 2013

Perfection

As with every stay at The W, our stay was superb in every way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hash House on 5th

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eighty twenty Dirtbag
Business
Laguna Beach
Jan 8, 2013

A fun New Year's Eve

A very simple, but comfortable room. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Chloe. A wonderful french restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse Flo
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 27, 2012

A businessman's hotel

Room not particularly comfortable for a couple in town to sightsee. Room small, furniture not for comfort but desk area nice for business persons. One uncomfortable desk chair, no table. Shower looked neat but left water all over the floor. Free coffee in the "living room" was a plus. Otherwise just a blah room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaslight district with lots of restaurants very close. Harbor visible from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
msnhess
Business
dallas, tx
Dec 21, 2012

fantastic trip in san diego!

I loved it. No complaints. The rooms were cozy and immaculate. The hotel itself was contemporary and beautiful. Next time, I'll have to utilize the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top