$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

W San Diego

4 stars
421 West B Street, 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
128 reviews
Great

Great hotel in a great location. Everyone was extremely friendly. See full review

  • Doctor23
  • Dec 7, 2014
Most amazing staff

I can't tell you enough about how great the staff was. From the valet always opening the door with... See full review

  • Elts
  • Nov 30, 2014
Chic hotel with spa and open-air lounge near Gaslamp Quarter
The swanky W San Diego sits on the doorstep of the Gaslamp Quarter, one of the most happening neighborhoods in all of San Diego.  The property features many of the same amenities found at other W hotels. The spa, AWAY, offers treatments designed to detoxify and release tension. The pool, WET, is surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel also features Rice, a restaurant featuring contemporary cuisine and Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge. The W San Diego rooftop bar is now open to the public and Kelvin restaurant is opening on May 14th.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located near Gaslamp Quarter
  • Enjoy detoxifying treatments at AWAY, the on-site spa
  • Party outdoors at Beach, an open-air lounge
  • Rooftop bar
  • Kelvin restaurant opens on May 14th
Rooms

The W San Diego offers 258 rooms, including 13 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Bliss bath amenities, oversized desk and ironing board. Larger rooms and suites incorporate deep soaking tubs. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The W San Diego prides itself on a number of eco-friendly practices, such as recycling, occupancy-sensor driven HVAC systems and high-efficiency lighting.

On property, all guests receive complimentary access to SWEAT, the on-site fitness center and WET, the heated outdoor pool with a view of San Diego Bay. Guests also can receive treatments at AWAY, the on-site day spa (fees apply). Guests may opt to be chauffeured around town in one of the hotel's Acura MDX vehicles (fees apply).

Rice, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine made from locally-sourced ingredients. After hours, guests enjoy kicking back at Beach, a tropical-themed, open-air lounge with cabanas.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (4 blocks)
  • San Diego Convention Center (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

W San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Dining

The W Living Room
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless High Speed Internet Access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.
Rooftop
Frolic in the sun. Bask in the moonlight. Whenever you’re here, heighten your lounge experience with skyline views amid tropical motifs.
Kelvin
Savor global cuisine. Let Kelvin elate you and your taste buds.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunnie LA traveler
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Apr 2, 2013

Smooth sailing

My weekend getaway was amazing. The valet guys are on top of their game. As soon as you pull up they are waiting to assist you and thats because there were a line of cars and I was still attended to quickly. I didn't get any of their names but they were all very attentive and nice. There was a moment I forgot cupcakes in my car and I went back down stairs, told one of the guys the situation and without hesitation, my cupcakes were in my hands within minutes. The downside it's $35/ day and street parking isn't much of an option when you are there longer than 3 days. After parking I walked into the lobby and was greeted by a few staffers beside the lady behind the front desk. The lobby has a bar area with plenty of seating. Once checked in, we were directed to the elevator and our floor. The beds are amazing! They are so comfortable that when I got back home, I realized how much I need to invest into a new mattress and down comforters. I slept like a baby. The entertainment choice on the TV definitely needs to be worked on. Not everyone who goes to San Diego wants to party all the time. Some R&R was much needed. They do offer in room massage which I didn't decide to take up but they are plenty of local massage, nail, hair and wax salons. Most are pretty reasonable. The room service choice are okay. i would rate that a 2.5 if i could. I ordered chicken strips and a grill cheese for us and the chicken strips were a but salty. I was only able to enjoy 1, waste of money. my friend killed her grilled cheese though. The hotel restaurant was interesting. the booth seats are actually couches and are a bit inconvenient when getting up to use the restroom or sliding down for the person next to you. The food choices were upscale so if you are looking for a burger this isnt the spot. Needless to say I enjoyed myself. Shopping, food and relaxation, the convenience of the Horton plaza and all the little shops as well as being in the gaslamp district, there was plenty to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking sucks but if you are a female walking to this hotel at 3am is not an option. Take the short drive, you'll be thankful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
orel
Business
los angeles
Feb 15, 2013

tv

Everything was great great staff great food and drinks . Blueberry pancakes were wonderful bfast kinda pricey cup of oj 5 bucks!! But that hotel prices for ya .tv was pretty bad tho lots of channels weren't in service went out during a movie but was fixed right away and movie was given at no charge . Rice crspies at front desk was nice also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffre Collins
Business
Dallas, Tx and Miami Beach Florida
Jan 10, 2013

Perfection

As with every stay at The W, our stay was superb in every way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hash House on 5th

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eighty twenty Dirtbag
Business
Laguna Beach
Jan 8, 2013

A fun New Year's Eve

A very simple, but comfortable room. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Chloe. A wonderful french restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse Flo
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 27, 2012

A businessman's hotel

Room not particularly comfortable for a couple in town to sightsee. Room small, furniture not for comfort but desk area nice for business persons. One uncomfortable desk chair, no table. Shower looked neat but left water all over the floor. Free coffee in the "living room" was a plus. Otherwise just a blah room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaslight district with lots of restaurants very close. Harbor visible from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
msnhess
Business
dallas, tx
Dec 21, 2012

fantastic trip in san diego!

I loved it. No complaints. The rooms were cozy and immaculate. The hotel itself was contemporary and beautiful. Next time, I'll have to utilize the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hendo
Business
San Dieago
Dec 18, 2012

seeing family

We visited family which were in walking distance. Loved the Accura promotion. Were able to get a few rides for free. Tim Bruss at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Nice to run into someone from close to home. David also very helpful. Finding us a place to watch the Packer game. Looking forward to coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patwill9
Business
Honolulu, Hzi
Dec 16, 2012

Upscale and affordable

A surprisingly affordable slice of luxury in downtown San Diego. The rooms are spacious and attractively decorated, there's a friendly vibe among the staff and guests, the marina is a 10 minute walk away, and there's a terrific brewpub next door. There is a downside to all this value: not an awesome location if you are a fun seeker instead of a businessperson. You'll have to cab or walk to the Gas Lamp district and there is zero shopping other than the chain store laden mall. I was happy to make the trade off to stay at a hotel I couldn't otherwise afford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dean P.
Business
New York, NY
Dec 11, 2012

Nice spot minutes away from Gaslamp

Great spot to stay for a short vaca! My room was clean, staff was nice and location was satisfactory. Minutes away walking to the Gaslamp District. The new 'rooftop' lounge is a nice spot, even though its not literally on the rooftop (2nd floor). Very posh. The gym has minimal equipment but enough to get by. They have a nice foosball table close to the pool which is always fun. I would recommend a stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago travelers XYZHGER
Business
Chicago
Dec 8, 2012

Couple getaway for 5 days

The staff here is fantastic. They are proactive, always asking if there is anything needed and attentive. The lobby is amazing. Just redone with collaborative areas to work off laptop, read the paper or join a group during the day and a great bar and DJ area for the evenings. The rooms are great with exteremley comforatable beds and pillows. The location is a 8 block from Gaslamp which could be a good thing since Gaslamp is very croweded/loud in evening. We had a room with the view of the bay on the 16th floor that did not disappoint. Centrally located - everything was within 8 block s - We were in walking distance from the bay to catch the ferry to Coranado Island, N & S bay tours, walking distance to Gaslamp, walking distance to Petco Park and under 10 minutes from the airport. We based ourselves out of San Diego and did day trips everywhere - La Jolla, Del Mar, Laguna, Newport even LA/Beverly HIlls/Santa Monica. I'd recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We visited Corando Island. Since it was December it did not warm up until 11am. We walked the 8 blocks to the ferry - ($8 per person round trip) 15 minute boat ride over. There is a landing area with a few restaurants and shops. We walked due west - a long walk approximately 45 minutes all the way to the other side of island. The majority is resential until you get to the western part of island. Then there are more shops, coffee shops and restaurants. We ate lunch on the sun deck at Del Coranado Hotel (built in 1888) with a fanatstic view of the Pacific. Lunch was reasonable there $12 for a salad $5 for house wine. Spent about 3+ hours people watching and enjoying the view. Walked the 45 mins back/caught ferry and went to the Hyatt Grand 40th floor for a cocktail to watch the sunset - amazing 360 degree views of the Pacific/Bay/all downtown. The sunset was great but also the entire city lit up at night was a great site as well. We then walked from the Hyatt Grand to Gaslamp for dinner - short 5 block walks to 5th street where there are many many options for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top