$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

W San Diego

4 stars
View map of 421 West B Street, 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationin' Vic
Friends
Boston, MA
May 10, 2011

Great stay @ The W

Stayed @ The W with a few friends for a long weekend. Hotel was very modern, clean, and impressive. Our wonderful room was a little on the small side but for not being there much, it was perfect. The bars are great, expensive but what you would expect from The W. The pool is small. All in all if you get a great deal, or can afford it - I recommend The W San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They have a great Acura Experience that will take you one way in the city at no cost in a nice Acura - great feature since it's location was a long walk from the Gaslamp (although only a less than $10 cab ride).

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
May 9, 2011

The W Experience

Me and my boyfriend went to SD just to get away and we loved the service at The W. They weren't snotty like other hotels we've stayed at. The room was very nice and trendy. I've found the hotel that I will stay at everytime I visit SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMRT
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 7, 2011

Great stay

This hotel was convenient, comfortable, and the staff was very pleasant. On Saturday night the lobby (they call it the living room) was a high energy party scene. Definitely a hot spot for young people. They have an incredible outdoor terrace bar (2nd floor) called "the beach" with outdoor sofas on a sand beach. Really unique. I stayed on the 5th floor and didn't hear the 'party' at all. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJD
Couples
Austin, TX
May 4, 2011

Nothing Special for a Special Occasion

My new husband and I went to San Diego for a relaxed, short honeymoon. The room we stayed in was as pictured, the bed was cozy and customer service was mediocre. Unfortunately there were more negatives about the hotel than positives. As mentioned previously by other reviews, internet is $15 per 24 hours. It's not wifi, you have to hook up to a cord. There is free wifi in the lobby but it was not working with my computer while we were there. You could call a 1-800 number if you had issues but that's not how I wanted to spend my honeymoon. There are few channels on the tv and current movie releases, something you could rent from Redbox for $1, are $17 to watch in the rooms. Room service for 2 people ended up costing around $50 and was so salty that it was almost inedible. Plan on renting a car? Be prepared to pay $32 a night to keep the car at the hotel. The location, though downtown, really has nothing around it to visit. I believe this location is trying so hard to be trendy and create the night life atmosphere that they have forgotten that they are a hotel and that guest should be more of a priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our favorite 2 restaurants from the trip were both French. St. Tropez Bakery and Bistro is great for breakfast. My favorite was Cafe Chloe on 9th Avenue. Don't go if you are in a hurry, but if you want to enjoy a delicious meal in a beautiful, sun-filled setting you will not be disappointed.

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LZem
Couples
Huntington Woods Mi
May 4, 2011

A Birthday Surprise

I surprised my husband with a long weekend trip from cold Michigan to Warm SUNNY CA for his 34th birthday. We were both so excited to be out of the cold and just a chance to leisurely see and do as we pleased;And that's what we did! The hotel was nice. I honestly can't go on and on about it or it's amenities because we really only used it to sleep at night. BUT... the sleep was great. Because we were on Michigan time, our first night we accidentally fell asleep by 630pm. It was a night of complete and total uninterrupted sleep and the black out curtains were a nice touch. We were on the 14th floor and didn't have any noise from the Beach bar or hall ways. In the day sometimes you could hear through the walls but it was never actually disturbing. The lighting in the room was a little on the dim side which wasn't the best for getting ready. House Keeping came everyday and always refreshed our toiletries with the Bliss products. We LOVED those. Although one day we're pretty sure they folded up our dirty wet towels from the floor and put them back on the shelf. One great thing I can say....the Acura service.... SO convenient. We used it twice and it really saves time from walking and money from cab fare. Definitely utilize that amenity! LOCATION: I've read a lot of mixed reviews about the location. Honestly I thought it was in a great spot. Yes, there are quite a few bail bonds lining the street and you're only blocks away from a jail/prison but we NEVER EVER felt unsafe. I also read there are a ton of bums. Yes there were a handful here and there but it wasn't like you had to step over them to get to your destination. You mind your business they mind theirs. We basically walked to most places. Seaport Village is a 10minute walk (Coronado island ferry, Top of the market fish market, little shops and restaurants, museum etc) Little Italy-10/15 min walk GasLamp- We took the Acura there and a Pedicab back after the bar. Pedicab guy originally told us 40$ but a friend got him down to 20$. It was a 10min drive by car. Old Town was a 12-15$ cab ride We took the bus to the San Diego zoo. $2.25 a person one way. Not bad at all. (side note, I'm not a usual public bus taker...and the atmosphere is what you expect a public bus in a major city to be)But it's SUPER CHEAP and a 30 minute ride. There wasn't much as far as breakfast places. We ate twice at Grand Central and once in Little Italy at a Trattoria. It was Amazing. I think it was one of the only places open for breakfast in Little Italy. I do have one complaint. We did order room serivce one morning. My order was not difficult by any means but it was comletely screwed up. I double of things that I only asked for 1 of and 1 of what I ordered 2 of and one whole entree was missing, and I was charged for the double items I didn't order! When I realized it, I called and let them know I was not trying to be difficult,the food we actually did get was good but just didn't want to pay for the extra stuff. The woman I spoke with said "No problem, I'll let my manager know and have it taken care of". I said "Thanks" and forgot about it. The day of check out we received a reciept with all the items still on it stating I would be charged that amount. When we checked out I once again had to bring it to their attention. His reaction was polite, and slyly asked me "What do I think would be fair to do about the situation" In the end he took a portion of the charge off the bill but at that point I almost feel it should have been completely comped. My husband didn't even get his breakfast!! But we aren't complainers and just shared what we did have and I don't like making any kind of scene so I just went with what was happening. All in all. Good service, pretty clean, nice people and a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The tourist info station near Seaport- gives great discounted tickets to the Zoo, Destination Temecula Wine tours and lots of other touristy things!

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, Arizona
Apr 29, 2011

Fantastic Getaway

great service, nice people, great Hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

great golf courses, and entertainment

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
SF, CA
Apr 27, 2011

Great place & great location

What can I say? It's a W Hotel...just great hotels!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Washington DC
Apr 14, 2011

Not a family-friendly hotel

Lobby noise on weekend evenings was ear-piercing (D-J), but that's apparently what you can expect at a "life-style" hotel. Would not recommend a weekend stay for anyone with children or perhaps anyone over the ancient age of 30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hcronin
Couples
Chicago,IL
Apr 2, 2011

Great stay!

Great stay and very accommodating. Pool was very small, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago, IL
Mar 26, 2011

W Hotel San Diego

Great hotel, very convenient location. Friendly staff, excellent valet parking service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel restaurant was expensive, but Gas Lamp district and dining was walkable, though a little far.

Back to menu Return to top