$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Town and Country Resort San Diego

3 stars
500 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
255 reviews
Quick Getaway

Well mannered staff throughout. Pool very well kept. The hotel was close to our children and that... See full review

  • NY Mother and Dad
  • Jul 11, 2014
cool vintage hotel

Our room was comfortable, clean and vintage! The gardens were beautiful, the property is well loved! See full review

  • Road Trip Angela
  • Jul 3, 2014
Historic resort offers meeting space and a relaxing getaway
Located in Mission Valley, the circa 1953 Town & Country Resort Hotel is the largest privately owned resort and convention center in San Diego. The property combines the very best attributes of two worlds. On one hand, it is located a brief trolley-ride from the restaurants, shopping and attractions in downtown San Diego. On the other hand, it is surrounded by picturesque open space adjacent to a 27-hole golf course. The resort boasts a day spa and outdoor pool complex to maximize relaxation. Two on-site restaurants serve many types of cuisine.
Highlights
  • Golf 27 holes at the neighboring Riverwalk Golf Course
  • Arrange massage treatments through the Bella Tosca Day Spa
  • On-property trolley stop for easy access into San Diego
  • Two on-site restaurants
Rooms

Town & Country Resort Hotel features 970 rooms, including more than 40 suites that vary in size and configuration, comprising two towers and a host of garden bungalows. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, hair dryer, ironing board and in-room safe. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply).

Features

The Town & Country Resort Hotel opened with great fanfare in 1953 and has been independently owned and operated ever since.

Today, all guests receive complimentary access to a pool complex that features three pools, as well as a modest on-site fitness center. The Bella Tosca Day Spa offers a variety of treatments seven days a week (fees apply). The hotel sits next to the 27-hole Riverwalk Golf Course and near many walking and jogging paths.

Two on-site restaurants serve very different types of cuisine. At Trellises Garden Grille, dishes are prepared in French and Californian style. Kelly's Steakhouse is a more traditional meat-and-potatoes type of place.

Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • MTS Bus (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 200,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 41,000-square-foot Grand Hall and Plaza Pavilion
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Hotel services fee (inclusive of Wi-Fi, access nearby to fitness centre, local calls, bottled water, coffee and printer access) is $14 USD per room
  • Parking fee is $14 USD per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Town and Country Resort San Diego also booked these hotels.

Town and Country Resort San Diego Rooms

Traditional King
Traditional King room includes coffee makers, Remote control TV with cable movie channels, in-room pay movies, Voice mail, telephone with message light,Video account review and video check-out, Individual climate control, Electronic door locks with automatic deadbolt, Full bath amenities, Turn down available on request, Iron, ironing boards, AM/FM alarm clock radio, Hair dryer, Free weekday newspaper& High Speed Internet Access (charge).
Traditional Queen
Traditional Queen includes coffee makers, Remote control TV with cable movie channels, in-room pay movies, Voice mail, telephone with message light,Video account review and video check-out, Individual climate control, Electronic door locks with automatic deadbolt, Full bath amenities, Turn down available on request, Iron, ironing boards, AM/FM alarm clock radio & Hair dryer, Free weekday newspaper, High Speed Internet Access (charge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.9 mi
  • Legoland: 26.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
205,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 50 breakout rooms and experienced hospitality professionals to care for every detail.

Dining

Sunshine Deli
When you're on the go, the Sunshine Deli keeps you on schedule with expresso, quick sandwiches or delicious salads. Open daily 7:00 a.m 7:000 pm Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Kelly's Steakhouse
Dinner & Cocktails Daily Prime Rib, Steaks & Chicken Early Diners Specials Outrageous Desserts Lively Piano Bar Kids Menu Available Join us for Prime Rib Tuesday! Prime Rib dinner special from $14.95. Open for dinner.
Terrace Cafe
Enjoy the casual Terrace Cafe where dining is convenient and satisfying. Hours/Day of operation: 6:00 a.m. 2:00 pm. 7 days a week. Serves breakfast and lunch in a casual, bright and cheerful atmosphere. Morning breakfast buffet
Charlie's Fun, Food & Spirits
Nachos, Salads, Tacos, Burgers & Pizza. 7 HD TV Big Screens. Video Games & Pool Tables Full Cocktail Service Over 20 Beers including Local Microbrews. Open daily for lunch and dinner.
Trellises Garden Grille
Menu features fresh fish and healthy dining in a beautiful garden setting. Pool or garden views, full bar, entertainment Friday and Saturday.Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Join us for our Lobster Special Wednesday and Thursday evenings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Town and Country Resort San Diego

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 255
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Parents always on the go
Business
Murrieta, ca
Oct 3, 2014

Too much for too little

I stayed in this hotel for one night and I will never stay again. When I got to my hotel room the room was little and cute, I when to turn on the TV and the remote did not work. I called into the front desk at 3:20pm then called again at 5:00pm. Let me just say I NEVER received it. Did not like the staff and hotel too much money for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBLIZARDI
Business
TIJUANA, MEXICO
Sep 21, 2014

GREAT DAY

EVERYTHING WAS OK ONLY THE WIFI NEVER WORKS BUT ALL THE OTHER SERVICES WERE FINE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NONE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Pianoman
Business
Casa Grande,AZ
Sep 3, 2014

Great stay

We had trouble with the air conditioner first night but they switched our room. The room was very large with a great bed. It is an older style resort but i liked that about it. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Biggest Kahuna
Business
California
Sep 2, 2014

Fine for the money

The hotel grounds were nice. The room we had was a little small, but it worked. The only knock was the tiny bathroom and it literally took 10 minutes to get hot water at 11:30 at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D Perez
Business
los Angeles, California
Aug 24, 2014

Disappointed

Book king nonsmoking room, upon checking in no rooms were available. Was put into smoking room which we had to move the smell was unbearable. We were put into queen size to bed room which the shower was very dirty! I will not stay here again. Should have read reviews before booking, bad experience...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

SeaWorld

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stefunny1
Business
Hemet, CA
Aug 16, 2014

Anniversary weekend stay!

We stayed here because we wanted to get away for our anniversary weekend, but didn't have a lot of money to spend. The place is older, so of course things are a bit worn, but it was very charming actually. I love the little patio areas outside our room with little chairs and tables surrounded by flowers and beautiful landscaping. There are multiple buildings, 2 pools, a bar and grill with a pool table. The location was great because its in the center of town, close to everything. We were trying to decide where to go for dinner and saw Benihana on the other side of the freeway, so our decision was easy! We will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Benihana right on the other side of the freeway!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danni0730
Business
mesa, az
Aug 4, 2014

watch out for hidden fees

I was surprised at how many hidden fees were charged. $40 a night was held, along with $14 a night for parking. The guy who helped me said usually about $10 a night is refunded, but that's all. We did get two travel size waters for free :/ Other than that, the staff was great! Our room was way nicer then I was expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SuzeeeQ
Business
Sarasota, Florida
Jul 13, 2014

Disappointed

When I made the reservation I thought the price was great. However, when we checked in we were charged an additional $14 for parking and another $14 for "complimentary" Wi-Fi, amenities (shampoo) and two 6 ounce bottles of Aquafina water for each night. Suddenly the good price was nothing special. I could have had my choice of nicer accommodations in the same area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Mother and Dad
Business
NYC
Jul 11, 2014

Quick Getaway

Well mannered staff throughout. Pool very well kept. The hotel was close to our children and that was the main reason we picked the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If needed, the Fashion Valley Mall is easily accessible from one of the parking lots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelingMan86
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 25, 2014

NEVER AGAIN

WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER!! Hidden RESORT FEES and Parking fees. Room was clean but not even a television remote. Staff was rude and didn't even mention the fee till AFTER swiping my card. DO NOT STAY HERE. $8 for parking. What a ripoff. Worst Mistake I've ever made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top