$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Town and Country Resort San Diego

3 stars
View map of 500 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
279 reviews
Quaint and pretty

Quaint and pretty landscaping! Everything was nice except the creepy girl painting and the $18... See full review

  • Venice A.
  • Apr 21, 2015
Excellent place to stay, close to major attractions.

Hotel was very clean, easy to get to. Staff was very friendly. Will come abck again. See full review

  • J.Juarez
  • Mar 19, 2015
Historic resort offers meeting space and a relaxing getaway
Located in Mission Valley, the circa 1953 Town & Country Resort Hotel is the largest privately owned resort and convention center in San Diego. The property combines the very best attributes of two worlds. On one hand, it is located a brief trolley-ride from the restaurants, shopping and attractions in downtown San Diego. On the other hand, it is surrounded by picturesque open space adjacent to a 27-hole golf course. The resort boasts a day spa and outdoor pool complex to maximize relaxation. Two on-site restaurants serve many types of cuisine.
Highlights
  • Golf 27 holes at the neighboring Riverwalk Golf Course
  • Arrange massage treatments through the Bella Tosca Day Spa
  • On-property trolley stop for easy access into San Diego
  • Two on-site restaurants
Rooms

Town & Country Resort Hotel features 970 rooms, including more than 40 suites that vary in size and configuration, comprising two towers and a host of garden bungalows. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, hair dryer, ironing board and in-room safe. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply).

Features

The Town & Country Resort Hotel opened with great fanfare in 1953 and has been independently owned and operated ever since.

Today, all guests receive complimentary access to a pool complex that features three pools, as well as a modest on-site fitness center. The Bella Tosca Day Spa offers a variety of treatments seven days a week (fees apply). The hotel sits next to the 27-hole Riverwalk Golf Course and near many walking and jogging paths.

Two on-site restaurants serve very different types of cuisine. At Trellises Garden Grille, dishes are prepared in French and Californian style. Kelly's Steakhouse is a more traditional meat-and-potatoes type of place.

Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • MTS Bus (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 200,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 41,000-square-foot Grand Hall and Plaza Pavilion
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Hotel services fee (inclusive of Wi-Fi, access nearby to fitness centre, local calls, bottled water, coffee and printer access) is $14 USD per room
  • Parking fee is $14 USD per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Town and Country Resort San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Town and Country Resort San Diego Rooms

Traditional King
Traditional King room includes coffee makers, Remote control TV with cable movie channels, in-room pay movies, Voice mail, telephone with message light,Video account review and video check-out, Individual climate control, Electronic door locks with automatic deadbolt, Full bath amenities, Turn down available on request, Iron, ironing boards, AM/FM alarm clock radio, Hair dryer, Free weekday newspaper& High Speed Internet Access (charge).
Traditional Queen
Traditional Queen includes coffee makers, Remote control TV with cable movie channels, in-room pay movies, Voice mail, telephone with message light,Video account review and video check-out, Individual climate control, Electronic door locks with automatic deadbolt, Full bath amenities, Turn down available on request, Iron, ironing boards, AM/FM alarm clock radio & Hair dryer, Free weekday newspaper, High Speed Internet Access (charge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.9 mi
  • Legoland: 26.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.3 mi

Dining

Sunshine Deli
When you're on the go, the Sunshine Deli keeps you on schedule with expresso, quick sandwiches or delicious salads. Open daily 7:00 a.m 7:000 pm Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Kelly's Steakhouse
Dinner & Cocktails Daily Prime Rib, Steaks & Chicken Early Diners Specials Outrageous Desserts Lively Piano Bar Kids Menu Available Join us for Prime Rib Tuesday! Prime Rib dinner special from $14.95. Open for dinner.
Terrace Cafe
Enjoy the casual Terrace Cafe where dining is convenient and satisfying. Hours/Day of operation: 6:00 a.m. 2:00 pm. 7 days a week. Serves breakfast and lunch in a casual, bright and cheerful atmosphere. Morning breakfast buffet
Charlie's Fun, Food & Spirits
Nachos, Salads, Tacos, Burgers & Pizza. 7 HD TV Big Screens. Video Games & Pool Tables Full Cocktail Service Over 20 Beers including Local Microbrews. Open daily for lunch and dinner.
Trellises Garden Grille
Menu features fresh fish and healthy dining in a beautiful garden setting. Pool or garden views, full bar, entertainment Friday and Saturday.Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Join us for our Lobster Special Wednesday and Thursday evenings.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
205,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 50 breakout rooms and experienced hospitality professionals to care for every detail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Town and Country Resort San Diego

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 8, 2007

Great Location

The hotel was close to the Hillcrest district. It was easy on and off the freeways, which meant the beaches were easy to get to. Also I needed to go to the mall and it was a very short walk to Macy's. It would be difficult to find a more convenient location. My meal at the steakhouse was excellent, and the breakfast buffet was very fresh with a large selection of offerings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I only went to Macy's, but the mall also had a Bloomingdales, Nordstrom's and Nieman Marcus.

Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, AK
May 21, 2007

staff care for your every need

I was so surprised to find 4 pools to choose from the best one was next to the restaurant and deli stand. my grandson lives in san diego and i wanted to stay where we could swim for 3 days and relax. well, plans didn't go excacly, my brother-in-law passed away suddenly here in portland and i wasn't supposed to find out until i returned home to portland but news travelled and i was without anyone around me to console me. The door rang and it was the maid she saw how distraught i was and immediately consoled me and my grand-son. How at ease was this to not feel like getting on a plane and coming home immediately. Helped me calm down for my grand-son and finish my trip. I left a card telling this story to the management and received a note saying thank you, what i really wanted to here is that she was given some kind of a award at her work. She is so darling, what a smile and sweet personality. I have a picture of her with my grand-son that is beautiful. I can't wait to return to this hotel again, and will be in the next few months. She saved my day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hamburgers and milkshakes by the pool and hot-tub. The staff here is very polite. The Gardens around the hotel are flourishing with flowers. The shopping is everywhere around you, the mall, target, every shopping place you can think of is within minutes of your motel and a short distance to airport and beach.

Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 26, 2007

VERY CLEAN & COMFORTABLE

ON OUR TRIP WE STAYED IN 4 DIFFERENT HOTELS. THE TOWN AND COUNTRY WAS BY FAR THE CLEANIST AND MOST WELL KEPT OF THE 4 AND WAS NOT AS EXPENSIVE. I LOVED THAT YOU COULD WALK ACROSS THE STREET AND DO ALL KINDS OF SHOPPING. THERE WAS A GREAT MALL ALSO NOT TOO FAR WAS NORDSTROM RACK AND A SAKS 5TH AVE OUTLET! STAFF WAS SO HELPFUL AND UPGRADED US FOR FREE TO A NICER ROOM. THEY REALLY MADE US FEEL VALUED AND WE APPRECIATED IT. I WOULD RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE. THE LOCATION WAS REALLY CONVENIENT TO SEA WORLD THE SAN DIEGO ZOO WERE BOTH MINUTES AWAY. GREAT PLACE TO TAKE A FAMILY. THE FURNITURE WAS REALLY NICE NOT CHEEP GARBAGE AND THE CARPET LOOKED BRAND NEW JUST ALL AROUND CLEAN AND HOMEY FEELING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

LOVED THE MALL WITH BLOOMING DALES, SAKS COACH, DOONEY AND BOURKE ALL THE GREATEST STORES!

Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vl264
Business
Anaheim, California
Aug 18, 2011

Great Resort

We had a great room with a beautiful poster bed and the decor was set in old century which was romantic. Or room also overlooked a gazebo and garden, we were walking distance to 1 of the pools, when we walked there to check it out at night we visited the gift shop, the lady working it was very friendly. We ventured out one evening to find 1 of the restuarant that offered pool playing, we had problems finding it but the lady at the gate gave us directions 2 times and we all laughed about us getting lost. I couldn't have asked for a nicer staff or place to stay, we will stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything from shopping to Old Towne is very close and plenty of other places to visit in a short walk if not on the property itself.

Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Candicenm
Business
Brea ca
Jun 10, 2012

Excellent

Very nice, very clean. Very helpful and loved that the hotel ha it's in trolley stop. Would def. stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladt from sdc
Business
lake land Florida
Feb 19, 2013

took a while to check in

The light on bathroom didn't work the whole time despite me calling for maintnence...comfortable beds..had i had to pay for parking i wouldn't stay again and internet wasn't free...everything else good...i won't stay again if i have to pay for parking or internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polar
Business
El Centro
Mar 25, 2013

Always a great place to stay

This place is close to everything, shopping, dining, beach you have got it all and it's always clean and f resh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polar
Business
El Centro
Apr 29, 2013

Relaxing

Nice room with beautiful furniture and a great setting. Love all of the rose bushes around this hotel, just beautiful. Nice room, clean and comfy. Centrally located makes this a winner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is nearby

Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tedbeck
Business
North Hollywood, CA
Jun 3, 2013

Great place to stay

Inexpensive, but still a beautiful place to stay plus it's close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 26, 2008

Clean, Beautiful & Relaxing

This was the first time we stayed at this hotel and plan to go back soon. This is a very large property so there is some walking to do if you need to get from one place to another but beautifully landscaped and very comfortable. Very family oriented with movie night on Saturday night outside their conference center. Parts of this facility are much older then other parts but still maintained in very good conditions. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to come back in a few months. To the staff at the Town & Country I would like to say: Job Well Done - Keep Up the Good Work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If your looking for a quiet dinner for two try the Kelly's Steakhouse located on the property. One of the best steak dinners in town!

Back to menu Return to top