$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

Town and Country Resort San Diego

3 stars
500 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
254 reviews
Quick Getaway

Well mannered staff throughout. Pool very well kept. The hotel was close to our children and that... See full review

  • NY Mother and Dad
  • Jul 11, 2014
cool vintage hotel

Our room was comfortable, clean and vintage! The gardens were beautiful, the property is well loved! See full review

  • Road Trip Angela
  • Jul 3, 2014
Historic resort offers meeting space and a relaxing getaway
Located in Mission Valley, the circa 1953 Town & Country Resort Hotel is the largest privately owned resort and convention center in San Diego. The property combines the very best attributes of two worlds. On one hand, it is located a brief trolley-ride from the restaurants, shopping and attractions in downtown San Diego. On the other hand, it is surrounded by picturesque open space adjacent to a 27-hole golf course. The resort boasts a day spa and outdoor pool complex to maximize relaxation. Two on-site restaurants serve many types of cuisine.
Highlights
  • Golf 27 holes at the neighboring Riverwalk Golf Course
  • Arrange massage treatments through the Bella Tosca Day Spa
  • On-property trolley stop for easy access into San Diego
  • Two on-site restaurants
Rooms

Town & Country Resort Hotel features 970 rooms, including more than 40 suites that vary in size and configuration, comprising two towers and a host of garden bungalows. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, hair dryer, ironing board and in-room safe. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply).

Features

The Town & Country Resort Hotel opened with great fanfare in 1953 and has been independently owned and operated ever since.

Today, all guests receive complimentary access to a pool complex that features three pools, as well as a modest on-site fitness center. The Bella Tosca Day Spa offers a variety of treatments seven days a week (fees apply). The hotel sits next to the 27-hole Riverwalk Golf Course and near many walking and jogging paths.

Two on-site restaurants serve very different types of cuisine. At Trellises Garden Grille, dishes are prepared in French and Californian style. Kelly's Steakhouse is a more traditional meat-and-potatoes type of place.

Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • MTS Bus (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 200,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 41,000-square-foot Grand Hall and Plaza Pavilion
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Hotel services fee (inclusive of Wi-Fi, access nearby to fitness centre, local calls, bottled water, coffee and printer access) is $14 USD per room
  • Parking fee is $14 USD per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7631 -117.1683
Area served
San Diego, La Jolla, Mission Valley, Old Town, San Diego State, Sea World,Qualcomm
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
The Town and Country offers a resort style setting in a convenient central location only 10 minutes from all city sights, business districts and airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Town and Country Resort San Diego also booked these hotels.

Town and Country Resort San Diego Rooms

Traditional King
Traditional King room includes coffee makers, Remote control TV with cable movie channels, in-room pay movies, Voice mail, telephone with message light,Video account review and video check-out, Individual climate control, Electronic door locks with automatic deadbolt, Full bath amenities, Turn down available on request, Iron, ironing boards, AM/FM alarm clock radio, Hair dryer, Free weekday newspaper& High Speed Internet Access (charge).
Traditional Queen
Traditional Queen includes coffee makers, Remote control TV with cable movie channels, in-room pay movies, Voice mail, telephone with message light,Video account review and video check-out, Individual climate control, Electronic door locks with automatic deadbolt, Full bath amenities, Turn down available on request, Iron, ironing boards, AM/FM alarm clock radio & Hair dryer, Free weekday newspaper, High Speed Internet Access (charge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.3 mi
  • Sea World: 3.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.9 mi
  • Legoland: 26.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.3 mi

Dining

Sunshine Deli
When you're on the go, the Sunshine Deli keeps you on schedule with expresso, quick sandwiches or delicious salads. Open daily 7:00 a.m 7:000 pm Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Kelly's Steakhouse
Dinner & Cocktails Daily Prime Rib, Steaks & Chicken Early Diners Specials Outrageous Desserts Lively Piano Bar Kids Menu Available Join us for Prime Rib Tuesday! Prime Rib dinner special from $14.95. Open for dinner.
Terrace Cafe
Enjoy the casual Terrace Cafe where dining is convenient and satisfying. Hours/Day of operation: 6:00 a.m. 2:00 pm. 7 days a week. Serves breakfast and lunch in a casual, bright and cheerful atmosphere. Morning breakfast buffet
Charlie's Fun, Food & Spirits
Nachos, Salads, Tacos, Burgers & Pizza. 7 HD TV Big Screens. Video Games & Pool Tables Full Cocktail Service Over 20 Beers including Local Microbrews. Open daily for lunch and dinner.
Trellises Garden Grille
Menu features fresh fish and healthy dining in a beautiful garden setting. Pool or garden views, full bar, entertainment Friday and Saturday.Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Join us for our Lobster Special Wednesday and Thursday evenings.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
205,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 50 breakout rooms and experienced hospitality professionals to care for every detail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Town and Country Resort San Diego

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jfromli
Business
San Diego hotel circle
May 7, 2014

Great hotel for the price

A lot of choices in area for around same price would choose this over rest when it comes to comfort and cleanliness. Just keep in mind no fridge or microwave. Great location. Would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikniki
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 21, 2014

Watch for hidden fees

I was disappointed to be charged $8 extra for parking per day as we checked in.The jacuzzi doesn't exits .There's 2 pools on the premises but the temp. on both was too cold.The resort premises is very nice and has cafés and restaurant on the grounds but prices are high as per a resort.Our room was nice since we had a pool view but we could hear doors slamming all nite and since this room was sharing a door with the next room,the space between main door and floor was big .You could hear what neighbors said and lite would come thru.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GuerraEC
Business
Lawton, OK
Apr 20, 2014

Aesthetically pleasing

Only things I wish this hotel offered was free airport shuttle service, free internet Wi-Fi, and complimentary breakfast. Other than that, it was a great resort with friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chess Dad
Business
Washington State
Apr 8, 2014

Not Worth It

The grounds of the resort are absolutely beautiful. The rooms are clean, and most of the staff members I interacted with were helpful. However, the rooms, while clean, are nothing special, and there were a few problems with our stay. First, the room doors don't close automatically. This seems a small detail until neighboring guests are slamming their doors at all hours of the night (you have to slam the doors -- they don't close easily). There's also a gap of about one inch between the door and the floor, allowing light and noise to flood the room. It truly was one of the least sound-proofed rooms I've ever stayed in. Several friends felt the same about their rooms. My friends and I also felt the hotel was too focused on nickel-and-diming guests. Parking? $14/day. WiFi? $8/day. Food? Expensive and not worth the cost. Our group paid $400 for a meeting room for the weekend; only when we got there did we discover that WiFi access in that room would run an additional $250 for the weekend. Needless to say, we used mobile phone hotspots instead. As I said, the grounds are gorgeous. But they don't make up for the noisy rooms and hidden fees. We also had a problem getting out of the gated parking lot when we checked out, as we had to leave at 5am and no one was on duty at the gate. Very frustrating when you're trying to get to the airport on time! My recommendation? Go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy 51st
Business
Rockledge, Fl
Mar 14, 2014

A pleasant surprize.

Our room was very nice & clean. We checked in, in the dark & checked out in the dark. I wish we could have seen the pool & restaurant areas in the light. Even in the dark, it was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Casa Guadalajara has very good Mexican food & the servings are very large. Atmosphere is very nice, except for the wild birds flying around. We left before the music started, but had heard it before. Nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ilich
Business
13451 hancock ct fontana ca 92336
Feb 7, 2014

town and country san diego

everything was great clean room friendly staff and great location to all major san diego attractions and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
imperial valley gal
Business
El Centro CA
Jan 28, 2014

very comfortable stay

checked in on sunday for a Dr's appt on monday; room was very clean and beds very comfortable; slight negatives - wi-fi not free, and parking was not free either;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to all freeways and trolley accessible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
This is it gymnastic comp
Business
San Diego
Jan 25, 2014

Gymnastics competition

Rooms were very comfortable. Easy access to the convention center. A lot of hidden fees. Had to call maintenance 3 times. Food was very expensive , in all the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of things to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grace R.
Business
Temecula, Calirornia
Jan 22, 2014

Great Stay!!

This place was fantastic and the beds were ultra comfortable!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melissa H.
Business
San Diego, California
Jan 17, 2014

Not Recommended...Don't waste your money

First thing, this place is way too expensive and so out of date. Front desk help is not at all friendly or inviting. For the money that was paid to stay here...each room should at least have a refrigerator and microwave, the beds are like sleeping on blocks. At all other hotels and resorts parking and WiFi is FREE!! In the room, the bed was broken and everythimg was so outdated...no plug ins and on the sink was a tiny bottle of Aquafina water that had a tag on it that pretty much said if you drink or use that bottle of water to leave $1 for the maid to replace it. SERIOUSLY??? I'm paying nearly $300 per night to stay here and they want me to pay $1 for water, $16 per night to park and $7.95 per night per device for poor WiFi!! Insane! I'm here for cheer leading competitions and I am highly disappointed but its clearly seen that from the reviews that 95% of the people that wrote reviews had all the same complaints! I will NEVER EVER stay here again or recommend it to anyone...I would much rather be staying at Travelodve again this weekend where at least the beds were cozy and have a refrigerator I could have a COLD drink in my room when I want it! Horrible...this placed is HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top