$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Town and Country Resort San Diego

3 stars
500 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
254 reviews
Quick Getaway

Well mannered staff throughout. Pool very well kept. The hotel was close to our children and that... See full review

  • NY Mother and Dad
  • Jul 11, 2014
cool vintage hotel

Our room was comfortable, clean and vintage! The gardens were beautiful, the property is well loved! See full review

  • Road Trip Angela
  • Jul 3, 2014
Historic resort offers meeting space and a relaxing getaway
Located in Mission Valley, the circa 1953 Town & Country Resort Hotel is the largest privately owned resort and convention center in San Diego. The property combines the very best attributes of two worlds. On one hand, it is located a brief trolley-ride from the restaurants, shopping and attractions in downtown San Diego. On the other hand, it is surrounded by picturesque open space adjacent to a 27-hole golf course. The resort boasts a day spa and outdoor pool complex to maximize relaxation. Two on-site restaurants serve many types of cuisine.
Highlights
  • Golf 27 holes at the neighboring Riverwalk Golf Course
  • Arrange massage treatments through the Bella Tosca Day Spa
  • On-property trolley stop for easy access into San Diego
  • Two on-site restaurants
Rooms

Town & Country Resort Hotel features 970 rooms, including more than 40 suites that vary in size and configuration, comprising two towers and a host of garden bungalows. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, hair dryer, ironing board and in-room safe. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply).

Features

The Town & Country Resort Hotel opened with great fanfare in 1953 and has been independently owned and operated ever since.

Today, all guests receive complimentary access to a pool complex that features three pools, as well as a modest on-site fitness center. The Bella Tosca Day Spa offers a variety of treatments seven days a week (fees apply). The hotel sits next to the 27-hole Riverwalk Golf Course and near many walking and jogging paths.

Two on-site restaurants serve very different types of cuisine. At Trellises Garden Grille, dishes are prepared in French and Californian style. Kelly's Steakhouse is a more traditional meat-and-potatoes type of place.

Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • MTS Bus (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 200,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 41,000-square-foot Grand Hall and Plaza Pavilion
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Hotel services fee (inclusive of Wi-Fi, access nearby to fitness centre, local calls, bottled water, coffee and printer access) is $14 USD per room
  • Parking fee is $14 USD per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Town and Country Resort San Diego also booked these hotels.

Town and Country Resort San Diego Rooms

Traditional King
Traditional King room includes coffee makers, Remote control TV with cable movie channels, in-room pay movies, Voice mail, telephone with message light,Video account review and video check-out, Individual climate control, Electronic door locks with automatic deadbolt, Full bath amenities, Turn down available on request, Iron, ironing boards, AM/FM alarm clock radio, Hair dryer, Free weekday newspaper& High Speed Internet Access (charge).
Traditional Queen
Traditional Queen includes coffee makers, Remote control TV with cable movie channels, in-room pay movies, Voice mail, telephone with message light,Video account review and video check-out, Individual climate control, Electronic door locks with automatic deadbolt, Full bath amenities, Turn down available on request, Iron, ironing boards, AM/FM alarm clock radio & Hair dryer, Free weekday newspaper, High Speed Internet Access (charge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.9 mi
  • Legoland: 26.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.3 mi

Dining

Sunshine Deli
When you're on the go, the Sunshine Deli keeps you on schedule with expresso, quick sandwiches or delicious salads. Open daily 7:00 a.m 7:000 pm Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Kelly's Steakhouse
Dinner & Cocktails Daily Prime Rib, Steaks & Chicken Early Diners Specials Outrageous Desserts Lively Piano Bar Kids Menu Available Join us for Prime Rib Tuesday! Prime Rib dinner special from $14.95. Open for dinner.
Terrace Cafe
Enjoy the casual Terrace Cafe where dining is convenient and satisfying. Hours/Day of operation: 6:00 a.m. 2:00 pm. 7 days a week. Serves breakfast and lunch in a casual, bright and cheerful atmosphere. Morning breakfast buffet
Charlie's Fun, Food & Spirits
Nachos, Salads, Tacos, Burgers & Pizza. 7 HD TV Big Screens. Video Games & Pool Tables Full Cocktail Service Over 20 Beers including Local Microbrews. Open daily for lunch and dinner.
Trellises Garden Grille
Menu features fresh fish and healthy dining in a beautiful garden setting. Pool or garden views, full bar, entertainment Friday and Saturday.Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Join us for our Lobster Special Wednesday and Thursday evenings.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
205,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 50 breakout rooms and experienced hospitality professionals to care for every detail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Town and Country Resort San Diego

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Easydoesitcasey
Business
Winnetka,Ca
Jul 27, 2010

Okay but lacking

The phone did not work in the room and had to call the hotel number just to reach the front lobby. Incidentally I was charged for the phone call. The call to the front desk was to request a late check out which the staff said they couldn't accommodate even though checkout was 11am and check-in is 3pm. Found it very hard to believe that an additional hour to check out couldn't be accommodated. Additionally the bathtub would hold water to take a bath and the remote didn't work. All in all thought the hotel was just okay and was annoyed that the staff seemed uninterested in the room deficiencies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Our Trip..
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Unpleasant Experience with Bell Men

Well when we first arrived there was a Graduation going on and parking was hard to find. Then when we found a parking spot the Bell Men saw how much luggage we had and sighed and made a face of disbelief. I thought they were there to help us no matter how much luggage we had..Then we were on the 4th floor and people above us was making so much noise we had to call the front desk and security took along time to get to them it was around 12:30 am. The beds were very uncomfortable and the TV stations were not good if you wanted to stay in your room and relax and watch TV you are better off going out...But the location was Good...Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Niguel, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Weekend Getaway

Althought the hotel is right off of the highway you would never know it. The grounds are vast and well maintained. Walking distance to public transportation, dining and shopping. 10 minutes to downtown. The decor is somewhat dated, but well maintained and the staff is great. This hotel works for couples and families without confilct. Enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the public transportation in the back of the hotel to get to downtown San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katilla
Business
San Francisco
Jul 26, 2010

No Bells & Whistles but Great Value

We have stayed here two years running now while attending Comic Con. Although it's a little further away from the action than we'd ideally like, the value for money can't be beaten. Plus it's located next to a train in to town, a mall is located just across the road, and this year they had a regular shuttle service to Comic Con that went until 3am! Rooms are clean, tidy and perfectly functional although ideally need updating and their decor modernising. Too many flowers for my liking but the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms sparkling each morning. It's a pleasant resort, even though we spent no time enjoying the amenities like the pool, we heard children having a great time there everyday. There are nice plantings, lots of greenery and the onsite gift shop is surprisingly good value too. Definitely my preferred place to stay in San Diego for this kind of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma, California
Jul 25, 2010

Family Getaway

for the amount of money spent on daily rate, expecting a cleaner updated room and also have parking, gym and wifi included rugs were dirty and bathroom tub stained with shower attach coming from wall this was basically just for sleeping because we were very busy during the day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Postman
Business
Grandville MI
Jul 25, 2010

Town and Country San Diego

Very enjoyable, staff was pleasant, helpful and considerate. Original room seemed small, a change was requested and the room size almost doubled and was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Better description of rail and bus system, Very easy to use, but were not familiar with local areas from station site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheney, Kansas
Jul 25, 2010

Very nice stay

This hotel was quite perfect for a family.Several pools, convenient restaurants, very nice and helpful staff. The room we used the first night was quitesmall for a family of four but we received an upgrade to a more "standard" size room. Overall we would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

take a cooler with drinks and sandwich fixings. A family of four it can be quite expensive for an extended stay eating at the hotel restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronisurfer
Business
Chino, CA
Jul 25, 2010

Our trip

we booked our hotel so we may attend Comic Con at San Diego Convention Center. [...] no continental breakfast was available, which was the least of my worries. The room was horrible, it had burned out lights the curtains would not open to let more light in and the pictures and decor was from 1970.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, California
Jul 25, 2010

unhappy reviewers

I payed for a room with a king size bed and due to overcrowding was placed in a room with no bed, just a pull out couch which was horribly uncomfortable. They brought an additional roll away bed that was completely misshapen and painful to sleep on. They comped our parking and gave us breakfast vouchers but what I payed for was not what I received and I was very disappointed. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Town and Country Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach
Jul 19, 2010

Nice Place

The hotel is in a great location. The grounds are beautiful. Staff was freindly, the only thing I didn't like was the $14 per day to park my car!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top