$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Tower 23 Hotel

4 stars
723 Felspar, San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
28 reviews
Extraordinary honeymoon and birthday weekend!

The views at this Hotel are breathtaking and the staff and amenities are only secondary to the... See full review

  • Patrick 23Skidoo
  • Nov 26, 2014
Tower23

It was awesome stay . The location is great ! The ocean made it all happen for us. This hotel had... See full review

  • Elenkavt
  • Sep 17, 2014
Beautiful minimalistic architecture reflects tranquil beachfront location

Pacific Beach is one of the premier California beaches and Tower 23 Hotel is on its breathtaking doorstep. The architectural design captures the essence of the beachfront location. Clean lines of glass glow sweetly by day and night define the building. Contemporary decor greets guests, while suites offer the trappings of the jet-set lifestyle. Balconies provide fantastic ocean views at the Tower 23 Hotel. Service is first class and the staff is extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding area.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Private Tower Deck area for hotel guests only
  • Beachfront location
  • Suites with a Jacuzzi
Tower 23 Hotel Rooms

The "superior ocean view" lives up to its name with a private balcony ideal for watching the famed Pacific sunset and sipping a Tower 23 Hotel signature cocktail. The Sanctuary Suite has an in-room spa with a floating aromatherapy whirlpool Jacuzzi tub. Deluxe king or queen bedrooms offer partial ocean views and some sport private patios overlooking the Tower Deck and Zen water garden. Standard rooms also offer views of the Tower Deck and have two queen-size beds. All rooms and suites offer an LCD high-definition wall mounted 32-inch TV, designer Egyptian cotton linens, designer robes and towels, Kohler rain shower fixture with H2O spa products, and a fully stocked mini bar. Return to the calm and tranquility of one of these beautiful rooms at Tower 23 Hotel after a day soaking up sun and enjoying the surf.

Things To Do:
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (8.2 mi/13.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (9.6 mi/15.4 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
  • Balboa Park (11.6 mi/18.6 km)
  • Legoland California (28.6 mi/46 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tower 23 Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Tower 23 Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King or Queen Bed
Located on the 2nd or 3rd floor these partial ocean view rooms highlight "The Scene" on our energetic TOWER Deck. Some of these rooms will have a balcony to watch the action from above, while others will enjoy the vibe from their private cabana patio. These luxurious rooms offer choice of 1 King or 2 Queen Tempur-pedic beds, LCD high definition 32" wall mounted TV, designer Egyptian cotton linens, designer towels, robes, and H2O spa products, Kohler rain shower fixture, and fully stocked mini bar.
Superior Ocean View
The Ultimate Ocean View! Relax and watch the world go by on the bustling boardwalk or gaze at the magnificent sunset each evening from your private balcony while sipping one of our signature cocktails. Breathe in the fabulous sea air - all this and more from the privacy of your room. These luxurious rooms offer choice of 1 King or 2 Queen Tempur-pedic beds, LCD high definition 32" wall mounted TV, designer Egyptian cotton linens, designer towels, robes, and H2O spa products, Kohler rain shower fixture, and fully stocked mini bar.
Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
These Spirit pads offer a view of our Tower Deck and Zen water garden feature. Our luxurious rooms offer 2 Queen signature Serenity beds, LCD high definition 32" wall mounted TV, Designer Egyptian cotton linens, designer towels, robes, and H2O spa products, Kohler rain shower fixture, and fully stocked mini bar.
Sanctuary Suite
Why go to a spa when we have brought the spa to your room! These junior suites feature a luxurious "chroma + aromatherapy" floating whirlpool Jacuzzi tub, with a fixture that gives the illusion of water falling from the sky, and a separate step-in rain shower, creating a relaxing spa experience in the comforts of your own room. Other features of this 520 sq ft. Jr. Suite include: King size signature Tempur-pedic bed, sitting area with pull-out queen sleeper sofa, wet bar, patio or balcony overlooking our Tower Deck and Zen garden water feature, LCD high definition 42" wall-mounted TV, designer Egyptian cotton linens, designer towels, robes, and H2O spa products, Kohler rain shower with separate spa Jacuzzi tub, and fully stocked mini bar.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.2 mi
  • Legoland: 23.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

Dining

Jordan - Surf Sky Spirit
The hotel's 10,000 square foot contemporary restaurant, Jordan ~ Surf Sky Spirit features casually sophisticated fare for brunch, lunch, and dinner. The hotel's indoor/outdoor Tower Bar will host a fresh "Sea and Sushi" menu, oceanfront patio dining and a modern lounge. Meeting and dining facilities with innovative water features that extend toward the ocean, offer private dining, creative catering, and full service professional event planning.
Tower 23 Lounge
An indoor/outdoor bar anchors the north corner of Jordan at the ocean walk. Casual verandah seating acknowledges the boardwalk action from two feet up. Deeper into the long-shaped restaurant, guests are provided many other drinking and dining opportunities. They include the "ultra lounge" area near the bar, an intimate sushi bar, a fireside patio, and a private dining room lined with a climate-controlled wine wall. Hours: 11AM-Midnight

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Jordan's Private Dining Room can be used to serve private breakfast, lunch or dinners, as well as host business meetings, incentive events, business presentations, family reunions, a variety of social events to include small receptions, rehearsal dinners and much, much more!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Tower 23 Hotel

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 28
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5
Sort by:
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bynn
Business
San Diego
Nov 25, 2013

GREAT LOCATION/VIEW

Overall hotel was great. Beautiful view... especially loved the 2nd floor terrace for hotel guests. The hotel has a nice restaurant (expensive but delicious).. and also located to some good fast food spots and bars. One negative... we were basically kicked out of our room right at checkout (like right on the minute). The guy was literally knocking at our door and waiting for us to pack up our stuff and leave. Other than that.. great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jules2012
Business
Dallas
Mar 25, 2012

Amazing View

This place was outstanding, great view of ocean, boardwalk, and the staff was great. I will def be staying here everytime I come to Pacific Beach...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First Time to California
Business
Berlin, New Jersey
Apr 8, 2010

Awe Worthy Establishment

The experience at this hotel was terrific. It had incredible rooms, an updated, chic, modern look, and a superb outdoor deck that looked right out onto the ocean front. Our hotel suite said it had a "partial ocean view" but this view was more astonishing then anything that I have seen in a while. Just staying in that atmosphere was comforting and it made you feel right at home. While there we didn't have a car, so our trips anywhere became very expensive, but with having to pay for valet parking and not knowing the area, we were trying to figure out if the renting a car was a better price, or the taxis. Still not sure. There was a ton to do right around the area and we were always able to walk anywhere we needed to be. The friendly staff was always willing to help and it didn't hurt that everyone working there is extremely good looking. Who doesn't want a great looking person helping them out? Haha. They were always willing to call us a cab, gave us advice on the best way to get somewhere, or even just make recommendations on things to do. It was a true joy to meet these people. It was a superb trip in an exceptional environment. I completely give this establishment 5 stars. Thanks for everything Tower 23!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Jrdn dining establishment/bar nightlife in the hotel was not only a great place to eat, but offered fun times all around. Located right in the hotel, you were never concerned about how to get your way home. It also allowed me to try new kinds of food and eat to my hearts content.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 8, 2009

I'm coming back every year

This hotel is amazing in so many ways. My friend and I stayed in a regular spirit pad. This is supposed to be the cheapest room you can get there but it was nothing short of perfect. The rooms were modern and sleek, the beds were comfortable, the glass door shower was great. The only minor complaint about the room would be a slight lack of good makeup lighting!!! The room had sliding glass doors onto the zen garden/tower deck. It was heaven. I thought I was in a movie. We had two chairs and a table in private space in front of our doors, but the tower deck is filled with comfortable lounge chairs that overlook the ocean. There are heat lamps scattered about to warm you up during chilly nights and a wonderful fire pit surrounded by comfortable couches. Jet lagged from the east coast trip, my friend and I spent the entire first day at the hotel and the nice stretch of pacific beach in front of the hotel. We ordered lunch and dinner from the delicious restaurant JRDN which is attached to the hotel. They brought it right up to the tower deck both times so we never had to leave the lounge chairs! They brought us blankets in the evening and we fell asleep out there for a bit it was so breathtaking and relaxing! The service was wonderful. Anything you would call the front desk or room service/restaurant for, they were working on bringing it to you right away. The staff was extremely accommodating and attentive. It was one of the best and most serene weekends! People were hanging out on the tower deck until about 11 p.m. and light music was on, but if you wanted to go to bed you could walk in your room, shut the door and not hear a thing. The hotel has a young vibe for sure, but I think anyone would enjoy the type of luxury this hotel offers. Although I'm told the 3rd floor ocean view rooms are bigger and amazing, the 2nd floor room we had was absolutely wonderful. I just loved walking out everyday onto that tower deck and sitting on a lounge chair, watching the ocean. We had to check out at 11 am on sunday, the day we left, but the hotel stored our bags and allowed us to hang out during the day, order our last few cocktails from the tower deck and watch the sunset until we were ready to leave for the airport. I'll be back here next year, and the year after, and the year after, etc. I suggest you take the trip too! Absolutely fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although I could have been perfectly happy never leaving the hotel the entire weekend, I had never been to San Diego so my friend and I wanted to do a little exploring. My only piece of advice would be to rent a car. It is much cheaper to park at Tower 23 and rent a car ($20 or $25 per day I think for parking and as low as $15 per day for the car) than to take cabs! They are super expensive in san diego. $25-30 everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top