$369 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Tower 23 Hotel

4 stars
4551 Ocean Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
45 reviews
Love , love, loved it

The hotel is right on the beach, the view was unbelievable. The staff was helpful and pleasant, the... See full review

  • Erica Birthday Girl
  • Jan 30, 2014
Comfortable relaxing vacation in Pacific Beach

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Tower 23. The king size bed in our Sky Pad... See full review

  • Megsly
  • Mar 15, 2013
Beautiful minimalistic architecture reflects tranquil beachfront location

Pacific Beach is one of the premier California beaches and Tower 23 Hotel is on its breathtaking doorstep. The architectural design captures the essence of the beachfront location. Clean lines of glass glow sweetly by day and night define the building. Contemporary decor greets guests, while suites offer the trappings of the jet-set lifestyle. Balconies provide fantastic ocean views at the Tower 23 Hotel. Service is first class and the staff is extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding area.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Private Tower Deck area for hotel guests only
  • Beachfront location
  • Suites with a Jacuzzi
Tower 23 Hotel Rooms

The "superior ocean view" lives up to its name with a private balcony ideal for watching the famed Pacific sunset and sipping a Tower 23 Hotel signature cocktail. The Sanctuary Suite has an in-room spa with a floating aromatherapy whirlpool Jacuzzi tub. Deluxe king or queen bedrooms offer partial ocean views and some sport private patios overlooking the Tower Deck and Zen water garden. Standard rooms also offer views of the Tower Deck and have two queen-size beds. All rooms and suites offer an LCD high-definition wall mounted 32-inch TV, designer Egyptian cotton linens, designer robes and towels, Kohler rain shower fixture with H2O spa products, and a fully stocked mini bar. Return to the calm and tranquility of one of these beautiful rooms at Tower 23 Hotel after a day soaking up sun and enjoying the surf.

Things To Do:
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (8.2 mi/13.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (9.6 mi/15.4 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
  • Balboa Park (11.6 mi/18.6 km)
  • Legoland California (28.6 mi/46 km)

Tower 23 Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King or Queen Bed
Located on the 2nd or 3rd floor these partial ocean view rooms highlight "The Scene" on our energetic TOWER Deck. Some of these rooms will have a balcony to watch the action from above, while others will enjoy the vibe from their private cabana patio. These luxurious rooms offer choice of 1 King or 2 Queen Tempur-pedic beds, LCD high definition 32" wall mounted TV, designer Egyptian cotton linens, designer towels, robes, and H2O spa products, Kohler rain shower fixture, and fully stocked mini bar.
Superior Ocean View
The Ultimate Ocean View! Relax and watch the world go by on the bustling boardwalk or gaze at the magnificent sunset each evening from your private balcony while sipping one of our signature cocktails. Breathe in the fabulous sea air - all this and more from the privacy of your room. These luxurious rooms offer choice of 1 King or 2 Queen Tempur-pedic beds, LCD high definition 32" wall mounted TV, designer Egyptian cotton linens, designer towels, robes, and H2O spa products, Kohler rain shower fixture, and fully stocked mini bar.
Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
These Spirit pads offer a view of our Tower Deck and Zen water garden feature. Our luxurious rooms offer 2 Queen signature Serenity beds, LCD high definition 32" wall mounted TV, Designer Egyptian cotton linens, designer towels, robes, and H2O spa products, Kohler rain shower fixture, and fully stocked mini bar.
Sanctuary Suite
Why go to a spa when we have brought the spa to your room! These junior suites feature a luxurious "chroma + aromatherapy" floating whirlpool Jacuzzi tub, with a fixture that gives the illusion of water falling from the sky, and a separate step-in rain shower, creating a relaxing spa experience in the comforts of your own room. Other features of this 520 sq ft. Jr. Suite include: King size signature Tempur-pedic bed, sitting area with pull-out queen sleeper sofa, wet bar, patio or balcony overlooking our Tower Deck and Zen garden water feature, LCD high definition 42" wall-mounted TV, designer Egyptian cotton linens, designer towels, robes, and H2O spa products, Kohler rain shower with separate spa Jacuzzi tub, and fully stocked mini bar.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tower 23 Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7969 -117.2566
Area served
Located on the beach Minutes from Downtown San Diego, SeaWorld and the World Famous San Diego Zoo. La Jolla, CA is a short drive up the road from TOWER23 Hotel. Many shops and restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport (SAN)
Area description
TOWER 23 is blessed with a beachfront location on one of Southern California's premier beaches - Pacific Beach. The exclusive resort community of La Jolla is just north of the hotel. Unique shops and restaurants are located within walking distance, while downtown San Diego, the airport, major business centers and popular area attractions are only minutes away. Parking is available in our underground garage, which is valet only, at $20 per night with in and out privileges.

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 8.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.2 mi
  • Legoland: 23.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Jordan's Private Dining Room can be used to serve private breakfast, lunch or dinners, as well as host business meetings, incentive events, business presentations, family reunions, a variety of social events to include small receptions, rehearsal dinners and much, much more!

Dining

Jordan - Surf Sky Spirit
The hotel's 10,000 square foot contemporary restaurant, Jordan ~ Surf Sky Spirit features casually sophisticated fare for brunch, lunch, and dinner. The hotel's indoor/outdoor Tower Bar will host a fresh "Sea and Sushi" menu, oceanfront patio dining and a modern lounge. Meeting and dining facilities with innovative water features that extend toward the ocean, offer private dining, creative catering, and full service professional event planning.
Tower 23 Lounge
An indoor/outdoor bar anchors the north corner of Jordan at the ocean walk. Casual verandah seating acknowledges the boardwalk action from two feet up. Deeper into the long-shaped restaurant, guests are provided many other drinking and dining opportunities. They include the "ultra lounge" area near the bar, an intimate sushi bar, a fireside patio, and a private dining room lined with a climate-controlled wine wall. Hours: 11AM-Midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Tower 23 Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 45
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erica Birthday Girl
Riverside, California
Jan 30, 2014

Love , love, loved it

The hotel is right on the beach, the view was unbelievable. The staff was helpful and pleasant, the only thing I would fix was the noisy bed, while it was comfortable it was very noisy when getting in and out of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JWs Mom
Manassas, VA
Jun 25, 2013

our first trip to San Diego

The staff provided excellent service. The room was nice. The restaurant is pricey but the food is good. Thellocation is great. There is plenty to do on the boardwalk and the tourist attractions are all 20 mins away. Overall a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California College Looker Mom
Portland Oregon
Mar 26, 2010

Wonderful Stay

I had a great time at Tower 23. The staff was very attentive and the location was perfect - great beach location. The rooms were very comfortable with a radio to use with my Ipod and the food at JRDN is spectacular. The Good Morning Sunshine breakfast was delicious [...]. The restaurant has an uber cool feeling and if you don't want to spend so much (I had soup and salad though and worth it for sure) you can go to Gringos an excellent Mexican place a block away. The only drawback is they don't have a pool, but it is a little chilly for a pool in springtime anyway and the beach is right there so.... Love Pacific Beach and will stay there again when returning to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

La Jolla is only a short drive away for great shopping and beach watching.

Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California College Looker Mom
Portland Oregon
Mar 26, 2010

Wonderful Stay

I had a great time at Tower 23. The staff was very attentive and the location was perfect - great beach location. The rooms were very comfortable with a radio to use with my Ipod and the food at JRDN is spectacular. The Good Morning Sunshine breakfast was delicious [...]. The restaurant has an uber cool feeling and if you don't want to spend so much (I had soup and salad though and worth it for sure) you can go to Gringos an excellent Mexican place a block away. The only drawback is they don't have a pool, but it is a little chilly for a pool in springtime anyway and the beach is right there so.... Love Pacific Beach and will stay there again when returning to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

La Jolla is only a short drive away for great shopping and beach watching.

Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Jun 27, 2009

Exactly what we were looking for!

We were looking for a nice place on the beach and Tower 23 was right on the boardwalk. Even though our room was considered a partial ocean view we could sit on the patio of the room and have a perfect view. The hotel deck was great. The chairs were comfortable, the service was friendly and extensive, and the heaters at night created a warm, comfortable environment. We ate at the restaurant one night and had a first class meal -- the fish was excellent! Although we spent our days away from the hotel, we returned to a clean room with stocked mini-bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

JRND restaurant in the hotel was very nice but there were also numerous places to dine within a very short distance of the hotel offering a wide variety of prices and types of food.

Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Jun 27, 2009

Exactly what we were looking for!

We were looking for a nice place on the beach and Tower 23 was right on the boardwalk. Even though our room was considered a partial ocean view we could sit on the patio of the room and have a perfect view. The hotel deck was great. The chairs were comfortable, the service was friendly and extensive, and the heaters at night created a warm, comfortable environment. We ate at the restaurant one night and had a first class meal -- the fish was excellent! Although we spent our days away from the hotel, we returned to a clean room with stocked mini-bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

JRND restaurant in the hotel was very nice but there were also numerous places to dine within a very short distance of the hotel offering a wide variety of prices and types of food.

Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Jan 24, 2008

Nice View

Tower 23 was a nice place to stay. It was a little pricey. Flight was delayed, so stay was shorter than expected. Tried to get ocean view, but it was not available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Jan 24, 2008

Nice View

Tower 23 was a nice place to stay. It was a little pricey. Flight was delayed, so stay was shorter than expected. Tried to get ocean view, but it was not available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top