$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Tower 23 Hotel

4 stars
View map of 723 Felspar, San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tower 23 Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tired tuesday
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 23, 2009

trendy beachfront hotel

Room was excellent. Stayed in surf pad. View was superb with heavy sliding glass doors to keep out sound. Had one bad experience with valet personnel who yelled at us, and could not get a late check out on sunday, but otherwise enjoyed stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Loved the food at JRDN. Service was good, but specialty drinks were overpriced and there was NOT enough alcohol. Beers were good value---$5!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 8, 2009

I'm coming back every year

This hotel is amazing in so many ways. My friend and I stayed in a regular spirit pad. This is supposed to be the cheapest room you can get there but it was nothing short of perfect. The rooms were modern and sleek, the beds were comfortable, the glass door shower was great. The only minor complaint about the room would be a slight lack of good makeup lighting!!! The room had sliding glass doors onto the zen garden/tower deck. It was heaven. I thought I was in a movie. We had two chairs and a table in private space in front of our doors, but the tower deck is filled with comfortable lounge chairs that overlook the ocean. There are heat lamps scattered about to warm you up during chilly nights and a wonderful fire pit surrounded by comfortable couches. Jet lagged from the east coast trip, my friend and I spent the entire first day at the hotel and the nice stretch of pacific beach in front of the hotel. We ordered lunch and dinner from the delicious restaurant JRDN which is attached to the hotel. They brought it right up to the tower deck both times so we never had to leave the lounge chairs! They brought us blankets in the evening and we fell asleep out there for a bit it was so breathtaking and relaxing! The service was wonderful. Anything you would call the front desk or room service/restaurant for, they were working on bringing it to you right away. The staff was extremely accommodating and attentive. It was one of the best and most serene weekends! People were hanging out on the tower deck until about 11 p.m. and light music was on, but if you wanted to go to bed you could walk in your room, shut the door and not hear a thing. The hotel has a young vibe for sure, but I think anyone would enjoy the type of luxury this hotel offers. Although I'm told the 3rd floor ocean view rooms are bigger and amazing, the 2nd floor room we had was absolutely wonderful. I just loved walking out everyday onto that tower deck and sitting on a lounge chair, watching the ocean. We had to check out at 11 am on sunday, the day we left, but the hotel stored our bags and allowed us to hang out during the day, order our last few cocktails from the tower deck and watch the sunset until we were ready to leave for the airport. I'll be back here next year, and the year after, and the year after, etc. I suggest you take the trip too! Absolutely fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although I could have been perfectly happy never leaving the hotel the entire weekend, I had never been to San Diego so my friend and I wanted to do a little exploring. My only piece of advice would be to rent a car. It is much cheaper to park at Tower 23 and rent a car ($20 or $25 per day I think for parking and as low as $15 per day for the car) than to take cabs! They are super expensive in san diego. $25-30 everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coast Travelers
Business
Chicago
May 30, 2009

Very helpful, great hotel

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to San Diego. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the hotel had a very modern, clean feel to it. The rooms were very clean and well-designed. The bed was hard, but I got used to it. The location was so-so...not exactly what were were wanting. It's right on the beach, so that is nice. It's just a long drive from all of the sights. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beccie
Business
Oklahoma
May 27, 2009

Beautiful Escape

This was my 2nd stay and won't be my last. Great location and wonderful ocean front facility, the only thing better is the marvelous staff. The rooms are very nice and clean and comfortable. My favorite feature of the hotel is the beautiful rooftop area with the glowing firepit with the very welcoming seating area overlooking the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't want roomservice for breakfast, it is just a short walk to a wonderful eating establishment by the beach that has a wonderful breakfeast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sparks, NV
Oct 7, 2008

My review of Tower 23 Hotel

The hotel was especially clean and that was a major plus to us. The hotel staff and the maids did a great job. The prices for food and drinks was a bit excessive. It is a good place for young couples to stay. We would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Zoo and Sea World are just a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica
Aug 25, 2008

modern, clean good location pricey

The room was airy and clean. Beds are great. A little noisy rooms on the deck. No privacy if you keep curtains open. Location right on the beach. Noisy boardwalk but that's Pacific Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to restaurants, shopping, beach and parks. Location is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jan 24, 2008

Nice View

Tower 23 was a nice place to stay. It was a little pricey. Flight was delayed, so stay was shorter than expected. Tried to get ocean view, but it was not available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tower 23 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ANAYKH
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 5, 2007

The BED!!

The bed was my favorite part! i was awesome! the room was so comfortable with a great view/resturant/bar/patio area. I am def. going to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars, food, beach, grocery store, shopping everthing in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top