$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
158 reviews
Weekend getaway with my man.

Hotel location is amazing. It's walking distance from the Flagship ferry gate to Coronado Island... See full review

  • Jesus Paolo C.
  • May 14, 2015
Great!

The room was really nice and the location was perfect, walking distance from the water. See full review

  • Theresa Marie L.
  • Jul 24, 2014
Iconic stay brings luxury to downtown

The spectacular crystalline design of The Westin San Diego is a signature landmark in the city's skyline. A 100-foot atrium lobby welcomes guests to the iconic property. The hotel is within walking distance to all of San Diego's most popular attractions. On site, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool, a signature Westin Workout Gym and more. Coast restaurant serves contemporary cuisine in a casual and relaxed setting.

Highlights
  • Terrific location in the heart of downtown
  • Swim and relax in the heated outdoor pool
  • An iconic building in the city skyline
Rooms

The Westin San Diego offers 436 rooms, including more than 30 suites with mind-bending views of the city and San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, the signature Westin Heavenly Bath, make-up mirrors and in-room safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Diego received AAA's four diamond award, but the property is best-known for its silhouette--the crystalline profile is one of the most recognizable buildings in the city's skyline.

All guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour Westin Workout Gym. The heated outdoor pool sits on a rooftop deck named Harbor Deck. Fittingly, Harbor Deck offers sweeping views of San Diego Bay. The property offers in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and provides 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The menu at the on-site restaurant, Coast, is casual and contemporary, much like the eatery's decor. A coffee shop (The Aroma Caf�) and bar (The Bar) are also open to guests at certain times of day.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Nearly 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Dining

The Bar
Whether you are at the sleek wooden bar, at an indoor table, or out on the patio, you and your group can choose from The Bar’s hearty selection of spirits, local craft beers, and non-alcoholic drinks, as well as Coast’s food options.
Coast
Amid Coast’s contemporary natural décor, fresh Californian ingredients are highlighted in innovative dishes that stimulate the palate and reinvigorate body and mind. Happy hour specials and private dining spaces are available.
Aroma Café
Get your day going with Aroma Café’s fresh Starbucks® coffee, pastries, burritos, or such SuperFoodsRx™ options as fruit and yogurt parfaits and egg-white bagel sandwiches. Takeout salads, sandwiches, and wraps are made to order at lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 158
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troy L.
Business
S an Jose
Sep 3, 2013

Decent Stay at the Westin

Pretty good experience overall. I took the advice of Yelpers and parked myself across the street in the same parking garage the Valet parks the cars. EASY to cross the street. Might be a task if you're juggling children by yourself or LOTS of baggage. I would recommend dropping off bags at the lobby with someone else while you park. Lobby attendant that checked me in was not personable at all. Didn't offer any details about my room or chit chat at all. I would have thought at this caliber of a place he would have offered to tell me about the cafe, pool, restaurant... etc. I didn't even know there WAS A POOL! Dissapointing when I was leaving in the morning and someone told me. Oh well. Room was great. Great night sleep. Decent location downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Use "Lyft" instead of a cab to get to your destination downtown. Download it on your smartphone. It's 30% cheaper than a taxi and the cars are VERY clean and more like a friend coming to pick you up than a person that hardly speaks your language.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greatest baseball Mom
Business
Encino, California
Aug 2, 2013

Great Weekend

Once I found the valet lot of one way streets, we had a great time. Everyone from the valet guys to the front desk were very nice and helpful. I got wonderful directions to walk to Petco Park, drive to SDSU and other areas in San Diego. Molly at the Congierge desk went out of her way to help my 16 year old son. I would stay at this Westin agian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Petco Park is a great walk around 1 mile away at night take Broadway to 5th street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KD loves San Diego
Business
Southeast Michigan
Jul 29, 2013

Love San Diego

The location was good, pretty close to everything, the free shuttle to and from airport prompted me to try this property. An added convenience that makes a huge difference especially since I was traveling alone. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was great. Would stay here again for sure. KD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Genn Ty
Business
San Jose, California
Jul 17, 2012

Awesome experiemce!

I needed a hotel to stay for the last part of my comic-con weekend. Perfect place. I would definitley come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars were just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 15, 2011

Good Clean Hotel.

Great location. Nice quite hotel. Very close to the train station and down town San Diego restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indiana
May 4, 2011

A Great Getaway!

The hotel was great and in a great location if you love to walk and view the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

Great Front Desk & Great Happy Hour

I arrived early and they checked me in right away. When I discovered my room was a conjoined room, I called downstairs and asked if I could wait for another room. The staff was helpful and assured me that they would make this happen even though it was a pretty busy weekend. The hotel offers a great happy hour from 4-8 with $5 drinks, beers, and appetizers. It's a great place to stop for a quick drink & bite to eat before heading out into the night. Westin offers a free shuttle service to the airport and is beyond helpful with holding bags, making reservations for tours, restaurants, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk to the Gaslight District, the harbor, and little Italy. Looking at a map might make you think things are far away when they are pretty close. The hotel is near everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Feb 9, 2011

NiceHotel.Construction across the street

Very Nice hotel for the value. Construction across the street disrupted sleep after 8am (not on Sunday)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pdx
Dec 28, 2010

Review Westin SD

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dodson

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
e
Nov 9, 2010

upset

I will never book a hotel with [...] ever again. I got the flu and could not make my flight. I tried to cancel the hotel less than 24hrs later and I was charged the full amount anyway. So I lost money for a room that was not occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top