$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
221 reviews
Westin is great

Westin is great, very luxurious, not so expensive, fabulous location. Close to gaslight district! See full review

  • 00AW
  • May 10, 2014
Great location...comfortable rooms

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown. Minutes from the pier and minutes away from Gaslamp... See full review

  • clee14
  • Mar 12, 2014
Iconic stay brings luxury to downtown

The spectacular crystalline design of The Westin San Diego is a signature landmark in the city's skyline. A 100-foot atrium lobby welcomes guests to the iconic property. The hotel is within walking distance to all of San Diego's most popular attractions. On site, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool, a signature Westin Workout Gym and more. Coast restaurant serves contemporary cuisine in a casual and relaxed setting.

Highlights
  • Terrific location in the heart of downtown
  • Swim and relax in the heated outdoor pool
  • An iconic building in the city skyline
Rooms

The Westin San Diego offers 436 rooms, including more than 30 suites with mind-bending views of the city and San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, the signature Westin Heavenly Bath, make-up mirrors and in-room safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Diego received AAA's four diamond award, but the property is best-known for its silhouette--the crystalline profile is one of the most recognizable buildings in the city's skyline.

All guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour Westin Workout Gym. The heated outdoor pool sits on a rooftop deck named Harbor Deck. Fittingly, Harbor Deck offers sweeping views of San Diego Bay. The property offers in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and provides 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The menu at the on-site restaurant, Coast, is casual and contemporary, much like the eatery's decor. A coffee shop (The Aroma Caf�) and bar (The Bar) are also open to guests at certain times of day.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Nearly 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
FREE transportation
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7158 -117.1611
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI; McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 30.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (221)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 221
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dacloser714
Santa Ana, Ca
Jun 3, 2014

Great Stay!

Had a great time staying at this hotel. If you stay, you want to get a room view of the hotel. The hotel is a couple of walks from Gaslamp but not a long walk at all. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benru
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 10, 2014

Classy place, close enough to excitement

We stayed here to experience the nightlife in the Gaslamp District of San Diego. The price was ideal before the "taxes and fees" (why not include them in the search results). The room was close enough to walk to and from Gaslamp multiple times throughout the day and night. Room was quiet, comfortable, and clean. I would stay here again unless I found something closer at a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice view and close to Atitude Lounge with 22 story rooftop view of Sand Diego

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladies leisure trip
Wisconsin
Aug 25, 2013

Wonderful leisurely vacation

Wonderful stay and convenient location to downtown. Walking distance to restaurants and nearby mall. Staff was great and recommended fantastic places to eat! Close drive to some beautiful beaches. Nice workout room with decent size pool. Starbucks served in the lobby a plus. Really enjoyed the complimentary wine and appetizer hour for Starwood preferred guest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drewtwo
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 12, 2013

The Gnomes didn't get it right

The hotel is a very nice business hotel with all the extras costing extra.. there are no included services except for the well appointed Westin Workout Room. The problem with my stay is that after I booked it online, the company never communicated my reservation to the hotel. Upon arrival there was no record of my reservation. The Asst. Manager worked for several minutes looking in all of his records and nothing. After contacting the service directly, it still took several minutes before I was able to get to my room... approximately 30 or more minutes. The Asst. Manager did discount the valet service on my car, but if the company doesn't communicate the reservation, it's not the hotel's fault, it's the online reservation company perhaps the little Gnomes should be a little more on top of their game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fun in San Diego
San Diego,CA
Sep 12, 2012

fun with friends

excellent customer service. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffrey P
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Aug 28, 2012

The Westin San Diego delivers

The location is great since it's close to the Harbor, Gaslamp District, and public transportation. I did not use many of the amenities, but I'd guess that the gym has the basics. The pool outside looked decent, but it was cloudy during our stay, so we decided not to use it. The room was kept clean everyday, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The air conditioning worked well, too. The staff was very helpful with arranging for our shuttle to/from the airport. And they provided a nice service by having a bike rental person show up on-site to provide us bikes for the day at a reasonable rate. The only issues I found were in our bathroom. The exhaust fan did not turn on, and as a result, the bathroom fogged up pretty quickly. Also, we needed to turn the shower faucet tightly for it to completely turn off; otherwise, it would drip. Since I'm always a critic of hotel prices, the value was very good, but I'd have to get an outstanding price for me to give it a perfect value rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RandaRose
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Bachelorette party!

The rooms were perfect for our girls night out weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Gas lamp!!! Rock bottom brewery was a great place to eat

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RandaRose
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Great weekend out!

The hotel was very classy and a great location. Good distance from Horton plaza and gaslamp

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hash house!!! For breakfast, brunch or lunch!

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paolobeat
firenze
Aug 29, 2011

Perfect for the money spent

the hotel was really easy to reach coming from LA. We used the public parking in front of the hotel for 15 dollars per day (but you have to enter after noon and pay before noon ...!). Really close to the trolley station. Bad that the let pay the wifi connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin ~A*V*Wey~
Murrieta, CA
Nov 20, 2009

21st B-day Celebration

I came to celebrate my 21st birthday. I was greeted with friendly smiles and happy birthdays as soon as the staff found out. Room was great and comfortable. Front desk was extremely helpful with information of where I should go to celebrate. Easy walking distance from Hotel to Gas lamp (specifically 5th street). And I do not regret saying, just as easy to walk back while drunk. Easy check out...Thank you very much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to 5th street for a night out with friends (And to celebrate your 21st).

Back to menu Return to top