$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
147 reviews
Great!

The room was really nice and the location was perfect, walking distance from the water. See full review

  • Theresa Marie L.
  • Jul 24, 2014
Westin is great

Westin is great, very luxurious, not so expensive, fabulous location. Close to gaslight district! See full review

  • 00AW
  • May 10, 2014
The Westin San Diego's spectacular crystalline design is a signature landmark in the city skyline. The sophisticated urban setting begins with the 100-foot high lobby atrium, creating a magnificent sense of arrival. The entire hotel offers a retreat from the rigors of travel combined with a stimulating sensory experience. Located in the heart of beautiful downtown San Diego, the 25 floors of guest rooms feature panoramic views of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Island, and the downtown cityscape. Convenient to business and shopping, we are within walking distance of the San Diego Convention Center, Seaport Village, Little Italy, the San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, and a variety of shopping options. Only minutes away are major attractions, such as the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Old Town, Balboa Park and Museums, the USS Midway, and the breathtaking scenery of San Diego's stunning sandy beaches. Our flexible meeting space offers state-of-the-art technology for groups of up to 500 persons. To enhance the guest experience, we offer American cuisine in the both the restaurant and lobby bar. Escape to one of our 436 beautifully appointed guest rooms, complete with revitalizing amenities. Awake re-energized from a restful sleep in our signature Heavenly Bed and enjoy an invigorating shower in the Heavenly Bath. Westin didn't discover fresh air, but we're proud to offer it at this hotel. Learn more about Breathe Westin and our smoke-free hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7158 -117.1611
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 48.28, KM; San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.22, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Video checkout
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Dining

The Bar
Whether you are at the sleek wooden bar, at an indoor table, or out on the patio, you and your group can choose from The Bar’s hearty selection of spirits, local craft beers, and non-alcoholic drinks, as well as Coast’s food options.
Coast
Amid Coast’s contemporary natural décor, fresh Californian ingredients are highlighted in innovative dishes that stimulate the palate and reinvigorate body and mind. Happy hour specials and private dining spaces are available.
Aroma Café
Get your day going with Aroma Café’s fresh Starbucks® coffee, pastries, burritos, or such SuperFoodsRx™ options as fruit and yogurt parfaits and egg-white bagel sandwiches. Takeout salads, sandwiches, and wraps are made to order at lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 147
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clean sweep
Business
Breckenridge, co
Apr 29, 2014

Almost perfect

It was all great other than when I booked it through a 3rd party agency, it showed parking included and it was an additional $40 a night. If you look across the street where the valet parks the car it was the same garage charging $20 a night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Golf Torrey Pines!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clee14
Business
Canada
Mar 12, 2014

Great location...comfortable rooms

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown. Minutes from the pier and minutes away from Gaslamp which is a great area for shops, great food and bars! Only thing that was a downfall was that they only had valet parking, which is $40 a day or you had to find alternative parking which was still $20+ a day. Rooms are very comfortable and clean! Rooftop pool and hot tub was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mgg3313
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 31, 2014

Great hotel within walking distance to most SD attractions

We enjoyed our stay here. Unfortunately, there was construction going on in the lobby that was really loud. Although we didn't hear it from our room, we did have to walk by it to get on and off the elevators. The area is a bit sketchy but in the day time you have plenty of nearby places you can walk safely to and from, including the piers, Gaslamp, and Little Italy. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we look forward to staying here next time we are in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Pug Lady
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 13, 2014

Call ahead re: construction

Was unaware that they were doing construction work in the lobby... jackhammers were pounding away and it definitely did not make for the most romantic ambience for my husband and I. My advice is to call ahead and make sure they're done with that hot mess. Aside from that, everything else was good. Room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuart Floridian
Business
Boynton Beach, FL
Dec 31, 2013

Unfortunate Experience

The hotel was undergoing major renovations and did not inform us. The lobby and facade were constantly being hammered and drilled. They did comp us for parking and breakfast to ease the painful noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use parking lot across the street. Parking is expensive and it us only free on Sunday

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fast Freddy 55
Business
Virginia
Oct 17, 2013

not gaslamp hotel

Liked the hotel but Jackhammers were constant saturday and sunday. Advertized as gaslamp but was 1/2 mile from the real district. breakfast was awesome and expensive. bar was a cubby hole. Housekeeping came in the room at 8:20 am day of departure and asked if we were checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fishermans market restaurant upstairs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nemoiscute
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 15, 2013

Good

This is a 4-star experience, everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pmpm59
Business
Marilla,NY
Oct 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel in perfect downtown location.

Hotel was great, good location if you are looking for central location. Hotel staff outstanding. Front desk straightened out internet hotel booking site mistake and upgraded and comped us beyond our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp good time good food Little Italy Good Food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie the Eagle
Business
Syracuse, NY
Sep 21, 2013

First Class service

From the very first greeting to the checkout you know this is a well managed hotel. We arrived a bit early and our room was not ready for us. They quickly stored our luggage, took my cell number and called me later when the room was available. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. My only Disappoinntment is that there are not many restaurants very close by,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff vacay
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 16, 2013

Get what you pay for

Location was perfect..5 mins away from gaslamp. Room was clean just seemed on the smaller side. Bed was very comfortable a/c worked great. Overall enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top