$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
151 reviews
Great!

The room was really nice and the location was perfect, walking distance from the water. See full review

  • Theresa Marie L.
  • Jul 24, 2014
Westin is great

Westin is great, very luxurious, not so expensive, fabulous location. Close to gaslight district! See full review

  • 00AW
  • May 10, 2014
Iconic stay brings luxury to downtown

The spectacular crystalline design of The Westin San Diego is a signature landmark in the city's skyline. A 100-foot atrium lobby welcomes guests to the iconic property. The hotel is within walking distance to all of San Diego's most popular attractions. On site, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool, a signature Westin Workout Gym and more. Coast restaurant serves contemporary cuisine in a casual and relaxed setting.

Highlights
  • Terrific location in the heart of downtown
  • Swim and relax in the heated outdoor pool
  • An iconic building in the city skyline
Rooms

The Westin San Diego offers 436 rooms, including more than 30 suites with mind-bending views of the city and San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, the signature Westin Heavenly Bath, make-up mirrors and in-room safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Diego received AAA's four diamond award, but the property is best-known for its silhouette--the crystalline profile is one of the most recognizable buildings in the city's skyline.

All guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour Westin Workout Gym. The heated outdoor pool sits on a rooftop deck named Harbor Deck. Fittingly, Harbor Deck offers sweeping views of San Diego Bay. The property offers in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and provides 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The menu at the on-site restaurant, Coast, is casual and contemporary, much like the eatery's decor. A coffee shop (The Aroma Caf�) and bar (The Bar) are also open to guests at certain times of day.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Nearly 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Dining

The Bar
Whether you are at the sleek wooden bar, at an indoor table, or out on the patio, you and your group can choose from The Bar’s hearty selection of spirits, local craft beers, and non-alcoholic drinks, as well as Coast’s food options.
Coast
Amid Coast’s contemporary natural décor, fresh Californian ingredients are highlighted in innovative dishes that stimulate the palate and reinvigorate body and mind. Happy hour specials and private dining spaces are available.
Aroma Café
Get your day going with Aroma Café’s fresh Starbucks® coffee, pastries, burritos, or such SuperFoodsRx™ options as fruit and yogurt parfaits and egg-white bagel sandwiches. Takeout salads, sandwiches, and wraps are made to order at lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
e
Nov 9, 2010

upset

I will never book a hotel with [...] ever again. I got the flu and could not make my flight. I tried to cancel the hotel less than 24hrs later and I was charged the full amount anyway. So I lost money for a room that was not occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marley001
Business
Los Angeles CA
Dec 1, 2014

Check your BED!!!!

After a long day we finally locate the hotel to findthe parking was extremely high. Once in the room the bed felt comfy and cozy as I dozed off I remember flicking tissue onto the floor. I was almost asleep so I thought how weird that was as I didnt have any tissue, but I feel asleep. In the morning I moved around to find another crumpled tissue in my bed. Im thinking to myself where did this tissue come from and the thought of flicking the earlier piece came to mind I found another crumpled/used tissue toward the middle of the bed, DISGUSTING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 8, 2007

CENTRALLY LOCATED

Every things was great except the maid service and not a variety of eating places in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A mall was several blocks away. The Harbor was also a close walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tustin, ca
Jul 12, 2009

not clean

boring

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
elena.goes
Business
San Diego, Ca
Apr 11, 2010

Good hotel but they charge the parking

*We stay the whole night at the hotel and in the morning we went out for breakfast. *I can't believe we spent one night and we had to pay $30.00 dollars to park our car inside the hotel installations! That never had happened to us. * No comments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hon
Business
San Mateo, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Decent price

We were bit disappointed because phone did not work and noise were coming from the pipe. When we call for service at 3:30 am, we were put on hold!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ashley S
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 26, 2011

Disappointed!!!!

I was really excited to book this Stay - Cation here for my sisters and I because it was it was their birthday and what I paid and the traveling distance, I was not impressed at all! Very disappointed in the staff, feeling and overall stay, not to mention, the beds were very uncomfortable! :( Was wishing for something better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jhomer
Business
San Francisco
Feb 9, 2012

Westin San Diego

The downtown San Diego Westin (400 Broadway) was a surprising disappointment compared to my usually positive experience at Westin Hotels. The rooms were OK but not great but the fundamental issue was the staff. There was a striking lack of helpfulness and cordiality from several of the front desk and concierge staff - this was noted by myself and at least two other colleagues staying at the hotel. I can only attribute this to a lapse in management oversight, or perhaps the hiring of surly staff. I should point out that the maids and bellhops on the other hand were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Allison
Business
Orange, California, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Staff needs Customer Service classes

The hotel itself was very nice, clean, we had a renovated room and it was nice . We had a slight ocean view, windows needed to be cleaned badly! So, the Customer Service aspect at this hotel was lacking BIG TIME. The valet guys were great, the only polite people that seem to work at this hotel. For a 4 star hotel it is kind of shocking...Walked in and was greeted at the reservation desk with "Last name"...really?! no how is your day, no small talk, nope...a rude “Last name”. No smile, probably the rudest check-in I have ever experienced. I mean it was the fastest check in ever, but not welcoming at all...everyone we encountered that worked at this hotel was Rude. I expected more from the Westin…The girl at the Starbucks counter was even rude! Walked up and I got a “do you want something”? It is almost comical how rude these people were. All and all, if you don’t care about Customer Service, stay here because it is in a great location, the rooms are clean. I will not stay here again just because of the Customer Service aspect, there are PLENTY of hotels down in San Diego to stay at. Stay at the Marriot! They are ALWAYS an A+ with the Customer Service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Bday Girl
Business
Temecula CA
Mar 4, 2013

Not such a great Experience for a weekend in SD

Unfortunately the stay was not pleasant as expected for it being the Westin. The bathtub was leaking so we heard dripping noise all night and house cleaning didn't go through all drawers the last guest left their used undergarments in the drawer which we discovered upon leaving. I had mentioned this to the front desk desk they apologized and offered a free breakfast but I was to disturbed by the situation. I made the mistake of forgetting my Bluetooth behind with charger hadn't heard from anyone called the next morning and at first I was told they didn't have it then got a call back letting me know that they did locate it and it was with the clothes I left behind! ( Not my clothes so as you an imagine I was very displeased and disgusted that they wrapped my Bluetooth with those clothes). Maybe this Review will help them improve the house cleaning and appreciate a guest choosing their hotel... It was my B-day getaway :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hyatt Bar it was amazing awesome bartenders and Sea Port village is right behind the hotel!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top