$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
222 reviews
Great!

The room was really nice and the location was perfect, walking distance from the water. See full review

  • Theresa Marie L.
  • Jul 24, 2014
Westin is great

Westin is great, very luxurious, not so expensive, fabulous location. Close to gaslight district! See full review

  • 00AW
  • May 10, 2014
Iconic stay brings luxury to downtown

The spectacular crystalline design of The Westin San Diego is a signature landmark in the city's skyline. A 100-foot atrium lobby welcomes guests to the iconic property. The hotel is within walking distance to all of San Diego's most popular attractions. On site, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool, a signature Westin Workout Gym and more. Coast restaurant serves contemporary cuisine in a casual and relaxed setting.

Highlights
  • Terrific location in the heart of downtown
  • Swim and relax in the heated outdoor pool
  • An iconic building in the city skyline
Rooms

The Westin San Diego offers 436 rooms, including more than 30 suites with mind-bending views of the city and San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, the signature Westin Heavenly Bath, make-up mirrors and in-room safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Diego received AAA's four diamond award, but the property is best-known for its silhouette--the crystalline profile is one of the most recognizable buildings in the city's skyline.

All guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour Westin Workout Gym. The heated outdoor pool sits on a rooftop deck named Harbor Deck. Fittingly, Harbor Deck offers sweeping views of San Diego Bay. The property offers in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and provides 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The menu at the on-site restaurant, Coast, is casual and contemporary, much like the eatery's decor. A coffee shop (The Aroma Caf�) and bar (The Bar) are also open to guests at certain times of day.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Nearly 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7158 -117.1611
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI; McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 30.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
FREE transportation
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
e
Nov 9, 2010

upset

I will never book a hotel with [...] ever again. I got the flu and could not make my flight. I tried to cancel the hotel less than 24hrs later and I was charged the full amount anyway. So I lost money for a room that was not occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
e
Nov 9, 2010

upset

I will never book a hotel with [...] ever again. I got the flu and could not make my flight. I tried to cancel the hotel less than 24hrs later and I was charged the full amount anyway. So I lost money for a room that was not occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ashley S
San Diego, CA
Dec 26, 2011

Disappointed!!!!

I was really excited to book this Stay - Cation here for my sisters and I because it was it was their birthday and what I paid and the traveling distance, I was not impressed at all! Very disappointed in the staff, feeling and overall stay, not to mention, the beds were very uncomfortable! :( Was wishing for something better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Bday Girl
Temecula CA
Mar 4, 2013

Not such a great Experience for a weekend in SD

Unfortunately the stay was not pleasant as expected for it being the Westin. The bathtub was leaking so we heard dripping noise all night and house cleaning didn't go through all drawers the last guest left their used undergarments in the drawer which we discovered upon leaving. I had mentioned this to the front desk desk they apologized and offered a free breakfast but I was to disturbed by the situation. I made the mistake of forgetting my Bluetooth behind with charger hadn't heard from anyone called the next morning and at first I was told they didn't have it then got a call back letting me know that they did locate it and it was with the clothes I left behind! ( Not my clothes so as you an imagine I was very displeased and disgusted that they wrapped my Bluetooth with those clothes). Maybe this Review will help them improve the house cleaning and appreciate a guest choosing their hotel... It was my B-day getaway :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hyatt Bar it was amazing awesome bartenders and Sea Port village is right behind the hotel!!!

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
elena.goes
San Diego, Ca
Apr 11, 2010

Good hotel but they charge the parking

*We stay the whole night at the hotel and in the morning we went out for breakfast. *I can't believe we spent one night and we had to pay $30.00 dollars to park our car inside the hotel installations! That never had happened to us. * No comments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jhomer
Business
San Francisco
Feb 9, 2012

Westin San Diego

The downtown San Diego Westin (400 Broadway) was a surprising disappointment compared to my usually positive experience at Westin Hotels. The rooms were OK but not great but the fundamental issue was the staff. There was a striking lack of helpfulness and cordiality from several of the front desk and concierge staff - this was noted by myself and at least two other colleagues staying at the hotel. I can only attribute this to a lapse in management oversight, or perhaps the hiring of surly staff. I should point out that the maids and bellhops on the other hand were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy with this Westin
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 16, 2009

Very ordinary

This should NOT be a WESTIN! it lacks just about every amenity you would expect from a WESTIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kartik
Business
Roseburg OR
May 10, 2010

Would not stay here again!

I booked this via [...] while attending a convention at the Hilton (bayfront). I had never been to SD before and had no idea about the locations. The Westin downtown is located adjacent to the courthouse. There are almost no nearby restaraunts or places to eat. The real gas lamp quarter is a 20 minute walk. I'm originally from the Bronx and I would not walk outside this hotel at night alone. There are a lot of homeless individuals asking for handouts etc. The hotel itself is mediocre at best. Its lobby is shared with an office building. The room service menu is sparse. If you are either a lawyer or a defendant who needs access to the court, this is a great location. For any other business reasons, this is a terrible place to stay. I checked out early and was more than willing to forfeit my prepaid charges and moved to the Hilton Gaslamp. That is a much better located hotel with definitely better ambience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy with this Westin
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 16, 2009

Very ordinary

This should NOT be a WESTIN! it lacks just about every amenity you would expect from a WESTIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Nov 23, 2010

The Westin Downtown San Diego

The staff was friendly, the views were nice. The formica paneling on my my window sill was falling off, and I found floss from a previous guest on the coffee table. All in all, it felt like a glorified Motel 6, not what I paid for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top