$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
160 reviews
Weekend getaway with my man.

Hotel location is amazing. It's walking distance from the Flagship ferry gate to Coronado Island... See full review

  • Jesus Paolo C.
  • May 14, 2015
Great!

The room was really nice and the location was perfect, walking distance from the water. See full review

  • Theresa Marie L.
  • Jul 24, 2014

The spectacular crystalline design of The Westin San Diego is a signature landmark in the city's skyline. A 100-foot atrium lobby welcomes guests to the iconic property. The hotel is within walking distance to all of San Diego's most popular attractions. On site, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool, a signature Westin Workout Gym and more. Coast restaurant serves contemporary cuisine in a casual and relaxed setting.

Rooms

The Westin San Diego offers 436 rooms, including more than 30 suites with mind-bending views of the city and San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, the signature Westin Heavenly Bath, make-up mirrors and in-room safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Property features

The Westin San Diego received AAA's four diamond award, but the property is best-known for its silhouette--the crystalline profile is one of the most recognizable buildings in the city's skyline.

All guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour Westin Workout Gym. The heated outdoor pool sits on a rooftop deck named Harbor Deck. Fittingly, Harbor Deck offers sweeping views of San Diego Bay. The property offers in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and provides 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The menu at the on-site restaurant, Coast, is casual and contemporary, much like the eatery's decor. A coffee shop (The Aroma Caf�) and bar (The Bar) are also open to guests at certain times of day.

Highlights
  • Terrific location in the heart of downtown
  • Swim and relax in the heated outdoor pool
  • An iconic building in the city skyline
Nearby attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Nearly 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Policies
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Dining

The Bar
Whether you are at the sleek wooden bar, at an indoor table, or out on the patio, you and your group can choose from The Bar’s hearty selection of spirits, local craft beers, and non-alcoholic drinks, as well as Coast’s food options.
Coast
Amid Coast’s contemporary natural décor, fresh Californian ingredients are highlighted in innovative dishes that stimulate the palate and reinvigorate body and mind. Happy hour specials and private dining spaces are available.
Aroma Café
Get your day going with Aroma Café’s fresh Starbucks® coffee, pastries, burritos, or such SuperFoodsRx™ options as fruit and yogurt parfaits and egg-white bagel sandwiches. Takeout salads, sandwiches, and wraps are made to order at lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 160
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA in SD
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Overnight Getaway

I needed a night to myself, so I booked a room at The Westin San Diego. The staff was lovely when I checked in and my room was amazing. I was even asked if I was a Starwood member (which I am). I walked into my room, I was pleasantly surprised to find I had an beautiful view of the harbor. I will make The Westin San Diego my new getaway hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to visit Roy's Hawaiian. It's wonderfully delicious.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 11, 2008

Nice Hotel

We enjoyed this hotel, it is an newer hotel and the room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is located in the business district, walking distance from dining, and we had a partial view of the ocean. We were impressed with the pet friendly room. Parking in the entire area is terrible, so plan to pay for parking, we paid for valet parking at the hotel cheaper than the parking garage. Try to walk if at all possible. Would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, nightlife and shopping all within a few city blocks

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Dec 15, 2007

Excellent Home away from Home

Hotel staff is the best I have ever experienced and we travel every week at our company so we have experienced them all. My rating is a 10+ out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Incredible dining within minutes of the Hotel. Mr. A's is an excellent restaurant overlooking the city only a few minutes away.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach
Oct 25, 2008

very convenient to train station

The hotel was clean, the staff was helpful and the room spacious with good drawer space and comfortable bed. It had a small, uninspired restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The museum, USS Midway is an outstanding attraction, especially for us old Navy veterans.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Feb 9, 2008

Good Location

Nice hotel in downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall close by........

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 18, 2007

Excellent room!

I absolutlely love his hotel. The entire staff were professional, friendly and very attentive. I really enjoyed the room, with it's modern furnishings, Starbucks coffee and the Heavenly bed certainly lived up to it's name. I missed a half day of my seminar, because I refused to get out of it! I will definately stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
00AW
Business
Los angeles
May 10, 2014

Westin is great

Westin is great, very luxurious, not so expensive, fabulous location. Close to gaslight district!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa Marie L.
Business
South Carolina
Jul 24, 2014

Great!

The room was really nice and the location was perfect, walking distance from the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC from FL
Business
FL
Jan 30, 2014

Excellent hotel!!

Great. Loved the glass elevators and giant window with a harbor view in the room. Extremely comfortable beds. Staff was helpful and curteous. Only problem was internet access. Even after paying for "premium" it was super slow. My only complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

24 hour parking lot for $16 only about 10 min walk. Beware valet at hotel is $36 per day. A little steep for area.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A guy with modest needs
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2012

pretty great overall

I greatly enjoyed my stay. The place was very nice, the room was very nice. The amenities were outstanding. The staff was friendly. The hotel lobby has a glass elevator that is very very cool. A few small kinks caused some minor issues: 1. The breakfast in the cafe was terrible. I told them and they never got back to me about this, though they said they would. 2. The phone in my room did not work. This was fixed very quickly. 3. I asked for a few things (tissues, coffee) to be brought up, and they did not understand me - (?english as a second language problems?) but this got fixed pretty quick 4. I asked them to reserve a van to the ariport for me at a certain time, and they screwed that up twice, though it was ok because I expected that they would do that and I was able to catch a van on time. 5. On my way from the airport to the hotel, they claimed that they sent the van 2 times, so I ended up calling them 4 times, and waiting around at the airport for over an hour. Eventually they got me but there was very poor communication there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top