$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladies leisure trip
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 25, 2013

Wonderful leisurely vacation

Wonderful stay and convenient location to downtown. Walking distance to restaurants and nearby mall. Staff was great and recommended fantastic places to eat! Close drive to some beautiful beaches. Nice workout room with decent size pool. Starbucks served in the lobby a plus. Really enjoyed the complimentary wine and appetizer hour for Starwood preferred guest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiralina
Business
México
Aug 24, 2013

Fantastic for Bussines

The hotel is well located, clean rooms, Good restorants near by, never came to clean the room I had to call housekeeping every time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Midway Museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troy L.
Business
S an Jose
Sep 3, 2013

Decent Stay at the Westin

Pretty good experience overall. I took the advice of Yelpers and parked myself across the street in the same parking garage the Valet parks the cars. EASY to cross the street. Might be a task if you're juggling children by yourself or LOTS of baggage. I would recommend dropping off bags at the lobby with someone else while you park. Lobby attendant that checked me in was not personable at all. Didn't offer any details about my room or chit chat at all. I would have thought at this caliber of a place he would have offered to tell me about the cafe, pool, restaurant... etc. I didn't even know there WAS A POOL! Dissapointing when I was leaving in the morning and someone told me. Oh well. Room was great. Great night sleep. Decent location downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Use "Lyft" instead of a cab to get to your destination downtown. Download it on your smartphone. It's 30% cheaper than a taxi and the cars are VERY clean and more like a friend coming to pick you up than a person that hardly speaks your language.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie the Eagle
Business
Syracuse, NY
Sep 21, 2013

First Class service

From the very first greeting to the checkout you know this is a well managed hotel. We arrived a bit early and our room was not ready for us. They quickly stored our luggage, took my cell number and called me later when the room was available. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. My only Disappoinntment is that there are not many restaurants very close by,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fast Freddy 55
Business
Virginia
Oct 17, 2013

not gaslamp hotel

Liked the hotel but Jackhammers were constant saturday and sunday. Advertized as gaslamp but was 1/2 mile from the real district. breakfast was awesome and expensive. bar was a cubby hole. Housekeeping came in the room at 8:20 am day of departure and asked if we were checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fishermans market restaurant upstairs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BS from CLE
Business
Cleveland, OH
Nov 26, 2013

Great room; thin walls

Very nice hotel. But, Currently under construction with only 50% of the elevators operating. Very comfortable bed; great outdoor pool & hot tub! Only complaint--connector door between rooms does not offer sufficient sound barrier. Could clearly hear neighbors conversations, and late-night "party" noise was over the top! It took three calls to front desk & three visits from security to resolve the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barley Mash in the Gaslamp district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Passingby
Business
San Francisco
Dec 1, 2013

Very comfortable, but not too convenient

Perfect for those who is in business trips, i.e. for everybody whose trip is paid for : nice location, stylish building, comfortable rooms, pool, gym. Or if you don't care about $32 valet parking only, no breakfast, no microwave in room, extra charge for internet then you definitely will be happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dacloser714
Business
Santa Ana, Ca
Jun 3, 2014

Great Stay!

Had a great time staying at this hotel. If you stay, you want to get a room view of the hotel. The hotel is a couple of walks from Gaslamp but not a long walk at all. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indiana
May 4, 2011

A Great Getaway!

The hotel was great and in a great location if you love to walk and view the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler V.
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 27, 2011

Good location to Harbor and Downtown

The accomodations were very good. The room was comfortable with good quality linens. There was no refrigerator - this could be obtained for an extra cost though. The restaurant was way overpriced - especially for breakfast foods!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a deli just a couple of steps away. Go there for breakfast; it will be much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top