$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Superman
Business
San Diego,CA
Oct 15, 2012

Perfect getaway

Picked The Westin after reading reviews.This was a one night getaway for the wife's birthday. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much and would absolutely book another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Much to do within walking distance

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ac11
Business
Kilkenny, Ireland
Nov 8, 2012

Getaway

Staff were helpful from beginning to the end. Location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

City tour

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Richard
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 30, 2012

Homeless Haven

We liked the hotel but we were not comfortable walking in the area because of the large number of homeless people occupying the sidewalks. We had a good dinner in the hotel's restaurant, but we were practically the only people in the place. That detracted from the otherwise ok ambience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay at the Westin Gas Lamp to be closer to shopping at Horton Plaza.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A guy with modest needs
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2012

pretty great overall

I greatly enjoyed my stay. The place was very nice, the room was very nice. The amenities were outstanding. The staff was friendly. The hotel lobby has a glass elevator that is very very cool. A few small kinks caused some minor issues: 1. The breakfast in the cafe was terrible. I told them and they never got back to me about this, though they said they would. 2. The phone in my room did not work. This was fixed very quickly. 3. I asked for a few things (tissues, coffee) to be brought up, and they did not understand me - (?english as a second language problems?) but this got fixed pretty quick 4. I asked them to reserve a van to the ariport for me at a certain time, and they screwed that up twice, though it was ok because I expected that they would do that and I was able to catch a van on time. 5. On my way from the airport to the hotel, they claimed that they sent the van 2 times, so I ended up calling them 4 times, and waiting around at the airport for over an hour. Eventually they got me but there was very poor communication there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karate Kev
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2013

Good Value

We were able to save a lot of money that we could spend on ourselves versus the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lion's Coffee (4th & Market) is close by and has a healthy breakfast menu.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moneygeorge
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 6, 2013

Nice hotel, bad restaurant service

Stayed there for 4 days for a seminar. The room was nice, comfortable bed, large bathroom/shower. The issue I have is with the restaurant. Didn't want to go far (mingled with other attendants) so I ate at the restaurant/bar inside the hotel. The service for this type of a hotel was sub par. Food was good but took forever. The service was also bad, understaffed but that shouldn't be my problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drewtwo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 12, 2013

The Gnomes didn't get it right

The hotel is a very nice business hotel with all the extras costing extra.. there are no included services except for the well appointed Westin Workout Room. The problem with my stay is that after I booked it online, the company never communicated my reservation to the hotel. Upon arrival there was no record of my reservation. The Asst. Manager worked for several minutes looking in all of his records and nothing. After contacting the service directly, it still took several minutes before I was able to get to my room... approximately 30 or more minutes. The Asst. Manager did discount the valet service on my car, but if the company doesn't communicate the reservation, it's not the hotel's fault, it's the online reservation company perhaps the little Gnomes should be a little more on top of their game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The dark knight batman
Business
Los Angeles ca
Jun 5, 2013

Great stay

It was a great one night stay with kids. The windows on the outside should be cleaned though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KD loves San Diego
Business
Southeast Michigan
Jul 29, 2013

Love San Diego

The location was good, pretty close to everything, the free shuttle to and from airport prompted me to try this property. An added convenience that makes a huge difference especially since I was traveling alone. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was great. Would stay here again for sure. KD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gary dad
Business
whittier, ca
Jul 28, 2013

sea world trip

Overall it was good. The room was not as clean as it could have been. my kids found an old piece of bread when they were playing in the room. Also they brought us a blow up mattress, the guy knocked when I was in the bathroom, so I didn't get it right away. He just let himself in? My kids were in the room. It scared them a little. Other than that it was overall a good visit. we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top