$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin ~A*V*Wey~
Business
Murrieta, CA
Nov 20, 2009

21st B-day Celebration

I came to celebrate my 21st birthday. I was greeted with friendly smiles and happy birthdays as soon as the staff found out. Room was great and comfortable. Front desk was extremely helpful with information of where I should go to celebrate. Easy walking distance from Hotel to Gas lamp (specifically 5th street). And I do not regret saying, just as easy to walk back while drunk. Easy check out...Thank you very much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to 5th street for a night out with friends (And to celebrate your 21st).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 11, 2009

Business Modern, but stale

Happy with service and prices. Parking was expensive, but great valet guys allow you to go in and out as much as you like. When you walk in, you see this hotel is all business, no style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

Great Front Desk & Great Happy Hour

I arrived early and they checked me in right away. When I discovered my room was a conjoined room, I called downstairs and asked if I could wait for another room. The staff was helpful and assured me that they would make this happen even though it was a pretty busy weekend. The hotel offers a great happy hour from 4-8 with $5 drinks, beers, and appetizers. It's a great place to stop for a quick drink & bite to eat before heading out into the night. Westin offers a free shuttle service to the airport and is beyond helpful with holding bags, making reservations for tours, restaurants, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk to the Gaslight District, the harbor, and little Italy. Looking at a map might make you think things are far away when they are pretty close. The hotel is near everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ypsilanti, MI
Jan 10, 2011

Professional, class hotel

Hotel was clean with appropriate amenities (e.g., flat screen TVs, dual head showers, clean fluffy sheets). Location was fine, but it is a bit on the edge of what's going on (e.g., at night, you have to walk ~10 minutes to get to anything of consequence). Staff was helpful. Price was fair. Does charge $12.95 a day for internet access, which is typical, if unfortunate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jun 20, 2011

good hotel

great location- convenient to everything big room- bathroom sink was stopped up-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just a medium walk to Croces's Restaurant in the Gaslamp

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Whittier
Sep 14, 2008

Great Views but too far to the Gas Lamp

The Hotel was very clean ; modern ; easy to check in and out. rooms excellant. I stayed on the 16 th floor. great views of the San Diego bay. but to far to walk to the gas lamp district where the clubs and resturants are located. We needed to take short train (orange line) and/or taxi. short on time we took taxi and it was $7.00 one way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 24, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

I attended the IAP2 Annual Conference. The Westin San Diego was well appointed, very clean, with friendly and helpful staff, and in a great location. It was a very good value for the price. My only complaint was the noise I heard coming from outside the hotel, which was late evening street, rail and air traffic, as well as a loud rock concert coming from the W Hotel down the street on Friday, Sept. 18, 2009. Apparently, there was a beer festival there, which might have been fun to attend if I hadn't needed to get up early the next day for training. Unfortunately I was unable to go to sleep early because of the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 6, 2009

a very convenient hotel

The hotel was very friendly with a very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 16, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Price

We stayed only for 1 night but the Hotel staff was really friendly, the rooms were clean and the location perfect. A nice Hotel to stay if you want to visit San Diego without using a car. Only the Hotel Parking is really expensive. In case you have to bring a car there is another parking lot located 5 Min from the Hotel at the harbour and is not as expensive as the Hotel parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Parking is really expensive. In case you have to bring a car there is another parking lot located 5 Min from the Hotel at the harbour (next to the cruise ships) and is not as expensive as the Hotel parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tk2009
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 21, 2009

Nice hotel, maybe best for business

My husband and I went to SD for a vacation this past August, 2009. We stayed at the Westin for 3 nights. The hotel itself was very nice ~ clean, friendly staff, decent pool for a quick dip but not for extensive sun bathing. However, I felt that this hotel might be better suited for business travel. It was about a 15 min walk to Gaslamp district, Petco Park, or waterfront restaurants (short/cheap cab ride though). I felt that the hotels in that area were more amenable to vacationing/sight seeing. So overall, a nice hotel, but the location would hold me back from staying there again for leisure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are downtown I highly recommend grabbing a drink at the Altitude Sky Bar at the Gaslamp Marriot. Amazing rooftop bar with views into Petco Park, city skyline, and cliffs of Coronado. Great drinks, music, and firepits/couches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top