$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
147 reviews
Great!

The room was really nice and the location was perfect, walking distance from the water. See full review

  • Theresa Marie L.
  • Jul 24, 2014
Westin is great

Westin is great, very luxurious, not so expensive, fabulous location. Close to gaslight district! See full review

  • 00AW
  • May 10, 2014
Iconic stay brings luxury to downtown

The spectacular crystalline design of The Westin San Diego is a signature landmark in the city's skyline. A 100-foot atrium lobby welcomes guests to the iconic property. The hotel is within walking distance to all of San Diego's most popular attractions. On site, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool, a signature Westin Workout Gym and more. Coast restaurant serves contemporary cuisine in a casual and relaxed setting.

Highlights
  • Terrific location in the heart of downtown
  • Swim and relax in the heated outdoor pool
  • An iconic building in the city skyline
Rooms

The Westin San Diego offers 436 rooms, including more than 30 suites with mind-bending views of the city and San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, the signature Westin Heavenly Bath, make-up mirrors and in-room safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Diego received AAA's four diamond award, but the property is best-known for its silhouette--the crystalline profile is one of the most recognizable buildings in the city's skyline.

All guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour Westin Workout Gym. The heated outdoor pool sits on a rooftop deck named Harbor Deck. Fittingly, Harbor Deck offers sweeping views of San Diego Bay. The property offers in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and provides 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The menu at the on-site restaurant, Coast, is casual and contemporary, much like the eatery's decor. A coffee shop (The Aroma Caf�) and bar (The Bar) are also open to guests at certain times of day.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Nearly 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7158 -117.1611
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI; McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 30.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
FREE transportation
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara, CA
Sep 13, 2010

The Westin - 10 Sept 2010

Great service and wonderful hotel...a perfect blend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Amtrak and the mass transit are very close. From there, you can go anywhere in San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MykelZ
San Diego,Ca
Aug 11, 2013

Great Escape

My fiancé and I stayed here from out of state and our experience was great! Amazing location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PBPHI
HI
May 21, 2013

Quick trip

The service was great. Gentle (that's her name) at the front desk was a great help. She made sure all our needs were met. Good service is something we value and will put it on our list of hotels to return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MinaMouse143
Murrieta, California
May 15, 2012

Great place to stay!

We went for my boyfriend's birthday weekend and had a great time! Everything but the marina was a short relaxing pedicab ride away. I forgot my toothbrush and toothpaste... literally 2 minutes from calling down to housekeeping, they delivered them! The valet staff was exceptional as well. Great experience. We'll be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
May 25, 2008

Heavenly sleeping

Bedding is heavenly. Best hotel sleeping I can remember.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Horton Plaza and the Harbor area shopping and amenities are a short woalk and always a good diversion. Just watch out for the pervasive homeless population

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gil884
palm desert
Aug 20, 2013

AFC Half, Gaslamp Quarter,Beach, Old Globe Jeff Buckley Tribute Concert

What a weekend! The Wes*in Downtown was an excellent choice through Orbi*z.com. We stayed after I ran the AFC Half Marathon and then walked to the Gas*amp Quarter for dinner at D*ck's Last Resort and entertainment a the Sho*t Piano Bar. After a restful night's sleep, the valet brought our car to us and we headed to Ocean Beach for the day and then the Old Gl*be for the most incredible Jeff Buckley Tribute concert. The only bummer was the staff at the Hillcrest 24-H*ur Fitness... Poor Customer/Member service... I guess I won't be renewing my membership or buying a new one for my companion... The Wes*in Downtown is a hospitable place that hits the mark for excellence!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shout Piano Bar on 4th

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pmpm59
Marilla,NY
Oct 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel in perfect downtown location.

Hotel was great, good location if you are looking for central location. Hotel staff outstanding. Front desk straightened out internet hotel booking site mistake and upgraded and comped us beyond our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp good time good food Little Italy Good Food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 13, 2008

Great Hotel

I stay at this hotel every time I go to San Diego. It is a nice hotel at a reasonable price. The staff is also very great and they work hard to meet everyones needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wedding Night
Moreno Valley, ca.
Nov 9, 2009

Great Stay

hotel was beautiful, although i feel that when you spend almost 200.00 a night for a hotel you should not be charge an extra 24.00 dollars for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sliver95
San Diego, California
Jun 24, 2012

Short Getaway

Very nice hotel and in a good area. Good value for the price. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search