$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MinaMouse143
Business
Murrieta, California
May 15, 2012

Great place to stay!

We went for my boyfriend's birthday weekend and had a great time! Everything but the marina was a short relaxing pedicab ride away. I forgot my toothbrush and toothpaste... literally 2 minutes from calling down to housekeeping, they delivered them! The valet staff was exceptional as well. Great experience. We'll be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juliepal
Business
Modesto, California
May 7, 2012

Location great for activities downtown

The staff was very accommodating and friendly throughout our stay. Bed and even rollaway was very comfortable. Quiet room. The only disappointment was I had luke warm showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussiecola
Business
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Apr 17, 2012

Convenient location and good value

We are happy with the hotel. We stayed at the Westin San Francis in San Francisco before. And we found this one offers better value - as the hotel is a lot newer and the interior (like the carpet, the lobby) is modern and clean. The room is very clean, it is quite large, nice bed with luxury bed linen.. The location is perfect for us to walk around in downtown San Diego. We walked to Little Italy, Gaslamp district for dinner and fun time in the evening. It is pretty safe. We did not like that the hotel room only provided plastic cups no glasses at all. When we called the staff quickly delivered two glasses to our room. Valet parking costs $32 per day. This was not clearly stated when we made booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a very nice girl working at the Concierge she gave great tips for seafood restaurant in Gaslamp. It is called Escape - great fresh seafood local produce. Yummmy...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RandaRose
Business
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Great weekend out!

The hotel was very classy and a great location. Good distance from Horton plaza and gaslamp

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hash house!!! For breakfast, brunch or lunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RandaRose
Business
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Bachelorette party!

The rooms were perfect for our girls night out weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Gas lamp!!! Rock bottom brewery was a great place to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobA
Business
San Diego
Mar 5, 2012

Great room except

The amenities are great, location is o.k. if you don't mind walking. The room was very clean and we loved the bed (very comfy). Only dislike is that you hear the airplanes fly by. It's not constant but heard it mainly early morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jhomer
Business
San Francisco
Feb 9, 2012

Westin San Diego

The downtown San Diego Westin (400 Broadway) was a surprising disappointment compared to my usually positive experience at Westin Hotels. The rooms were OK but not great but the fundamental issue was the staff. There was a striking lack of helpfulness and cordiality from several of the front desk and concierge staff - this was noted by myself and at least two other colleagues staying at the hotel. I can only attribute this to a lapse in management oversight, or perhaps the hiring of surly staff. I should point out that the maids and bellhops on the other hand were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA in SD
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Overnight Getaway

I needed a night to myself, so I booked a room at The Westin San Diego. The staff was lovely when I checked in and my room was amazing. I was even asked if I was a Starwood member (which I am). I walked into my room, I was pleasantly surprised to find I had an beautiful view of the harbor. I will make The Westin San Diego my new getaway hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to visit Roy's Hawaiian. It's wonderfully delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ashley S
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 26, 2011

Disappointed!!!!

I was really excited to book this Stay - Cation here for my sisters and I because it was it was their birthday and what I paid and the traveling distance, I was not impressed at all! Very disappointed in the staff, feeling and overall stay, not to mention, the beds were very uncomfortable! :( Was wishing for something better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love the Ocean
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 13, 2011

Fun Weekend Trip

Good location if you are doing stuff downtown. Went to a concert at the House of Blues and was able to walk there. About 5 blocks away, not bad. Room was clean and the bed was really nice. Nice view of the ocean, between other high rise buildings. They only have valet parking which cost $32 a day, which was kind of uncomfortable for me. I needed something out of the car and they brought it up to me. Felt like my car was held hostage, BUT, when I called for the car, they had it ready for us right away! Nothing was missing! Overall, pleasant stay. Nice Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

the address is 400 w Broadway, but, to get to the Valet parking, it is on Columbia street which is a one way heading south. Columbia street is west of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top