$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Superman
Business
San Diego,CA
Oct 15, 2012

Perfect getaway

Picked The Westin after reading reviews.This was a one night getaway for the wife's birthday. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much and would absolutely book another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Much to do within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fun in San Diego
Business
San Diego,CA
Sep 12, 2012

fun with friends

excellent customer service. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Allison
Business
Orange, California, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Staff needs Customer Service classes

The hotel itself was very nice, clean, we had a renovated room and it was nice . We had a slight ocean view, windows needed to be cleaned badly! So, the Customer Service aspect at this hotel was lacking BIG TIME. The valet guys were great, the only polite people that seem to work at this hotel. For a 4 star hotel it is kind of shocking...Walked in and was greeted at the reservation desk with "Last name"...really?! no how is your day, no small talk, nope...a rude “Last name”. No smile, probably the rudest check-in I have ever experienced. I mean it was the fastest check in ever, but not welcoming at all...everyone we encountered that worked at this hotel was Rude. I expected more from the Westin…The girl at the Starbucks counter was even rude! Walked up and I got a “do you want something”? It is almost comical how rude these people were. All and all, if you don’t care about Customer Service, stay here because it is in a great location, the rooms are clean. I will not stay here again just because of the Customer Service aspect, there are PLENTY of hotels down in San Diego to stay at. Stay at the Marriot! They are ALWAYS an A+ with the Customer Service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffrey P
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Aug 28, 2012

The Westin San Diego delivers

The location is great since it's close to the Harbor, Gaslamp District, and public transportation. I did not use many of the amenities, but I'd guess that the gym has the basics. The pool outside looked decent, but it was cloudy during our stay, so we decided not to use it. The room was kept clean everyday, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The air conditioning worked well, too. The staff was very helpful with arranging for our shuttle to/from the airport. And they provided a nice service by having a bike rental person show up on-site to provide us bikes for the day at a reasonable rate. The only issues I found were in our bathroom. The exhaust fan did not turn on, and as a result, the bathroom fogged up pretty quickly. Also, we needed to turn the shower faucet tightly for it to completely turn off; otherwise, it would drip. Since I'm always a critic of hotel prices, the value was very good, but I'd have to get an outstanding price for me to give it a perfect value rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
revolverguy
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Aug 15, 2012

Excellent stay!!!

Everything was perfect. Gim and pool were especially great. Room was clean, beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judith uc
Business
Mexico
Jul 29, 2012

Good located

The beds are comfortable, the bathroom is big, and the location is really good. You can walk to the gaslamp, or to hortons mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hortons mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Genn Ty
Business
San Jose, California
Jul 17, 2012

Awesome experiemce!

I needed a hotel to stay for the last part of my comic-con weekend. Perfect place. I would definitley come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars were just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sliver95
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 24, 2012

Short Getaway

Very nice hotel and in a good area. Good value for the price. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shafang
Business
los angeles,ca.
May 30, 2012

good locatin

very expensive parking,small pool,room crowded with furniture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhillyTraveler
Business
Philadelphia,PA
May 28, 2012

Overall enjoyable

Hotel was as advertised, no bells and whistles but good location and at a reasonable price in San Diego. However, they beat you over the head for parking ($24 to stay overnight, if you leave the lot at any time, you're either charged $24 or $2 per every fifteen minutes - alternatively, $32 for valet parking, unlimited coming and going). Additionally, the lock on our room door was faulty. We discovered this as we were leaving for dinner. I contacted the front desk, they suggested we wait at our room until the maintenance person came. We waited, and the maintenance person came in about 10 minutes. He wasn't really sure what to do, and eventually I suggested we would go downstairs and ask for a new room. All in all, after about 30 minutes, had to go back downstairs to ask for a new room. The person at the front desk was very friendly and changed our room, but didn't offer any upgrade or compensation for the inconvenience. I'm not sure that she should have, but I know some customers might expect it under the circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cucina Urbana - decent italian food, away from the gaslamp district if you want to avoid the nightlife. Otherwise, find a good restaurant in the gaslamp within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top