$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karate Kev
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2013

Good Value

We were able to save a lot of money that we could spend on ourselves versus the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lion's Coffee (4th & Market) is close by and has a healthy breakfast menu.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A guy with modest needs
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2012

pretty great overall

I greatly enjoyed my stay. The place was very nice, the room was very nice. The amenities were outstanding. The staff was friendly. The hotel lobby has a glass elevator that is very very cool. A few small kinks caused some minor issues: 1. The breakfast in the cafe was terrible. I told them and they never got back to me about this, though they said they would. 2. The phone in my room did not work. This was fixed very quickly. 3. I asked for a few things (tissues, coffee) to be brought up, and they did not understand me - (?english as a second language problems?) but this got fixed pretty quick 4. I asked them to reserve a van to the ariport for me at a certain time, and they screwed that up twice, though it was ok because I expected that they would do that and I was able to catch a van on time. 5. On my way from the airport to the hotel, they claimed that they sent the van 2 times, so I ended up calling them 4 times, and waiting around at the airport for over an hour. Eventually they got me but there was very poor communication there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Richard
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 30, 2012

Homeless Haven

We liked the hotel but we were not comfortable walking in the area because of the large number of homeless people occupying the sidewalks. We had a good dinner in the hotel's restaurant, but we were practically the only people in the place. That detracted from the otherwise ok ambience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay at the Westin Gas Lamp to be closer to shopping at Horton Plaza.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ac11
Couples
Kilkenny, Ireland
Nov 8, 2012

Getaway

Staff were helpful from beginning to the end. Location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

City tour

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Superman
Couples
San Diego,CA
Oct 15, 2012

Perfect getaway

Picked The Westin after reading reviews.This was a one night getaway for the wife's birthday. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much and would absolutely book another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Much to do within walking distance

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Allison
Couples
Orange, California, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Staff needs Customer Service classes

The hotel itself was very nice, clean, we had a renovated room and it was nice . We had a slight ocean view, windows needed to be cleaned badly! So, the Customer Service aspect at this hotel was lacking BIG TIME. The valet guys were great, the only polite people that seem to work at this hotel. For a 4 star hotel it is kind of shocking...Walked in and was greeted at the reservation desk with "Last name"...really?! no how is your day, no small talk, nope...a rude “Last name”. No smile, probably the rudest check-in I have ever experienced. I mean it was the fastest check in ever, but not welcoming at all...everyone we encountered that worked at this hotel was Rude. I expected more from the Westin…The girl at the Starbucks counter was even rude! Walked up and I got a “do you want something”? It is almost comical how rude these people were. All and all, if you don’t care about Customer Service, stay here because it is in a great location, the rooms are clean. I will not stay here again just because of the Customer Service aspect, there are PLENTY of hotels down in San Diego to stay at. Stay at the Marriot! They are ALWAYS an A+ with the Customer Service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffrey P
Friends
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Aug 28, 2012

The Westin San Diego delivers

The location is great since it's close to the Harbor, Gaslamp District, and public transportation. I did not use many of the amenities, but I'd guess that the gym has the basics. The pool outside looked decent, but it was cloudy during our stay, so we decided not to use it. The room was kept clean everyday, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The air conditioning worked well, too. The staff was very helpful with arranging for our shuttle to/from the airport. And they provided a nice service by having a bike rental person show up on-site to provide us bikes for the day at a reasonable rate. The only issues I found were in our bathroom. The exhaust fan did not turn on, and as a result, the bathroom fogged up pretty quickly. Also, we needed to turn the shower faucet tightly for it to completely turn off; otherwise, it would drip. Since I'm always a critic of hotel prices, the value was very good, but I'd have to get an outstanding price for me to give it a perfect value rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
revolverguy
Couples
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Aug 15, 2012

Excellent stay!!!

Everything was perfect. Gim and pool were especially great. Room was clean, beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judith uc
Family
Mexico
Jul 29, 2012

Good located

The beds are comfortable, the bathroom is big, and the location is really good. You can walk to the gaslamp, or to hortons mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hortons mall

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Genn Ty
Single
San Jose, California
Jul 17, 2012

Awesome experiemce!

I needed a hotel to stay for the last part of my comic-con weekend. Perfect place. I would definitley come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars were just around the corner.

Back to menu Return to top