$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
222 reviews
Great!

The room was really nice and the location was perfect, walking distance from the water. See full review

  • Theresa Marie L.
  • Jul 24, 2014
Westin is great

Westin is great, very luxurious, not so expensive, fabulous location. Close to gaslight district! See full review

  • 00AW
  • May 10, 2014
Iconic stay brings luxury to downtown

The spectacular crystalline design of The Westin San Diego is a signature landmark in the city's skyline. A 100-foot atrium lobby welcomes guests to the iconic property. The hotel is within walking distance to all of San Diego's most popular attractions. On site, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool, a signature Westin Workout Gym and more. Coast restaurant serves contemporary cuisine in a casual and relaxed setting.

Highlights
  • Terrific location in the heart of downtown
  • Swim and relax in the heated outdoor pool
  • An iconic building in the city skyline
Rooms

The Westin San Diego offers 436 rooms, including more than 30 suites with mind-bending views of the city and San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, the signature Westin Heavenly Bath, make-up mirrors and in-room safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Diego received AAA's four diamond award, but the property is best-known for its silhouette--the crystalline profile is one of the most recognizable buildings in the city's skyline.

All guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour Westin Workout Gym. The heated outdoor pool sits on a rooftop deck named Harbor Deck. Fittingly, Harbor Deck offers sweeping views of San Diego Bay. The property offers in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and provides 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The menu at the on-site restaurant, Coast, is casual and contemporary, much like the eatery's decor. A coffee shop (The Aroma Caf�) and bar (The Bar) are also open to guests at certain times of day.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Nearly 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7158 -117.1611
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI; McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 30.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
FREE transportation
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judith uc
Mexico
Jul 29, 2012

Good located

The beds are comfortable, the bathroom is big, and the location is really good. You can walk to the gaslamp, or to hortons mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hortons mall

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Genn Ty
San Jose, California
Jul 17, 2012

Awesome experiemce!

I needed a hotel to stay for the last part of my comic-con weekend. Perfect place. I would definitley come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars were just around the corner.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sliver95
San Diego, California
Jun 24, 2012

Short Getaway

Very nice hotel and in a good area. Good value for the price. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shafang
los angeles,ca.
May 30, 2012

good locatin

very expensive parking,small pool,room crowded with furniture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhillyTraveler
Philadelphia,PA
May 28, 2012

Overall enjoyable

Hotel was as advertised, no bells and whistles but good location and at a reasonable price in San Diego. However, they beat you over the head for parking ($24 to stay overnight, if you leave the lot at any time, you're either charged $24 or $2 per every fifteen minutes - alternatively, $32 for valet parking, unlimited coming and going). Additionally, the lock on our room door was faulty. We discovered this as we were leaving for dinner. I contacted the front desk, they suggested we wait at our room until the maintenance person came. We waited, and the maintenance person came in about 10 minutes. He wasn't really sure what to do, and eventually I suggested we would go downstairs and ask for a new room. All in all, after about 30 minutes, had to go back downstairs to ask for a new room. The person at the front desk was very friendly and changed our room, but didn't offer any upgrade or compensation for the inconvenience. I'm not sure that she should have, but I know some customers might expect it under the circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cucina Urbana - decent italian food, away from the gaslamp district if you want to avoid the nightlife. Otherwise, find a good restaurant in the gaslamp within walking distance of the hotel.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MinaMouse143
Murrieta, California
May 15, 2012

Great place to stay!

We went for my boyfriend's birthday weekend and had a great time! Everything but the marina was a short relaxing pedicab ride away. I forgot my toothbrush and toothpaste... literally 2 minutes from calling down to housekeeping, they delivered them! The valet staff was exceptional as well. Great experience. We'll be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juliepal
Modesto, California
May 7, 2012

Location great for activities downtown

The staff was very accommodating and friendly throughout our stay. Bed and even rollaway was very comfortable. Quiet room. The only disappointment was I had luke warm showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussiecola
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Apr 17, 2012

Convenient location and good value

We are happy with the hotel. We stayed at the Westin San Francis in San Francisco before. And we found this one offers better value - as the hotel is a lot newer and the interior (like the carpet, the lobby) is modern and clean. The room is very clean, it is quite large, nice bed with luxury bed linen.. The location is perfect for us to walk around in downtown San Diego. We walked to Little Italy, Gaslamp district for dinner and fun time in the evening. It is pretty safe. We did not like that the hotel room only provided plastic cups no glasses at all. When we called the staff quickly delivered two glasses to our room. Valet parking costs $32 per day. This was not clearly stated when we made booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a very nice girl working at the Concierge she gave great tips for seafood restaurant in Gaslamp. It is called Escape - great fresh seafood local produce. Yummmy...

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RandaRose
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Bachelorette party!

The rooms were perfect for our girls night out weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Gas lamp!!! Rock bottom brewery was a great place to eat

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RandaRose
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Great weekend out!

The hotel was very classy and a great location. Good distance from Horton plaza and gaslamp

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hash house!!! For breakfast, brunch or lunch!

Back to menu Return to top