$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
142 reviews
Great location...comfortable rooms

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown. Minutes from the pier and minutes away from Gaslamp... See full review

  • clee14
  • Mar 12, 2014
Fall Break Getaway

The hotel was conveniently located to restaurants and highway access. There was lobby construction... See full review

  • Taylor the Sailor
  • Oct 22, 2013
Iconic stay brings luxury to downtown

The spectacular crystalline design of The Westin San Diego is a signature landmark in the city's skyline. A 100-foot atrium lobby welcomes guests to the iconic property. The hotel is within walking distance to all of San Diego's most popular attractions. On site, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool, a signature Westin Workout Gym and more. The restaurant, 400 West, serves contemporary cuisine in a casual and relaxed setting.

Highlights
  • Terrific location in the heart of downtown
  • Swim and relax in the heated outdoor pool
  • An iconic building in the city skyline
Rooms

The Westin San Diego offers 436 rooms, including more than 30 suites with mind-bending views of the city and San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, the signature Westin Heavenly Bath, make-up mirrors and in-room safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Diego received AAA's four diamond award, but the property is best-known for its silhouette--the crystalline profile is one of the most recognizable buildings in the city's skyline.

All guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour Westin Workout Gym. The heated outdoor pool sits on a rooftop deck named Harbor Deck. Fittingly, Harbor Deck offers sweeping views of San Diego Bay. The property offers in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and provides 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The menu at the on-site restaurant, 400 West, is casual and contemporary, much like the eatery's decor. A coffee shop (The Aroma Café) and bar (The Bar) are also open to guests at certain times of day.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Nearly 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
FREE transportation
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7158 -117.1611
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI; McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 30.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
revolverguy
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Aug 15, 2012

Excellent stay!!!

Everything was perfect. Gim and pool were especially great. Room was clean, beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
Ac11
Kilkenny, Ireland
Nov 8, 2012

Getaway

Staff were helpful from beginning to the end. Location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

City tour

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
Black Superman
San Diego,CA
Oct 15, 2012

Perfect getaway

Picked The Westin after reading reviews.This was a one night getaway for the wife's birthday. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much and would absolutely book another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Much to do within walking distance

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
fun in San Diego
San Diego,CA
Sep 12, 2012

fun with friends

excellent customer service. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
Allison
Orange, California, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Staff needs Customer Service classes

The hotel itself was very nice, clean, we had a renovated room and it was nice . We had a slight ocean view, windows needed to be cleaned badly! So, the Customer Service aspect at this hotel was lacking BIG TIME. The valet guys were great, the only polite people that seem to work at this hotel. For a 4 star hotel it is kind of shocking...Walked in and was greeted at the reservation desk with "Last name"...really?! no how is your day, no small talk, nope...a rude “Last name”. No smile, probably the rudest check-in I have ever experienced. I mean it was the fastest check in ever, but not welcoming at all...everyone we encountered that worked at this hotel was Rude. I expected more from the Westin…The girl at the Starbucks counter was even rude! Walked up and I got a “do you want something”? It is almost comical how rude these people were. All and all, if you don’t care about Customer Service, stay here because it is in a great location, the rooms are clean. I will not stay here again just because of the Customer Service aspect, there are PLENTY of hotels down in San Diego to stay at. Stay at the Marriot! They are ALWAYS an A+ with the Customer Service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
Jeffrey P
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Aug 28, 2012

The Westin San Diego delivers

The location is great since it's close to the Harbor, Gaslamp District, and public transportation. I did not use many of the amenities, but I'd guess that the gym has the basics. The pool outside looked decent, but it was cloudy during our stay, so we decided not to use it. The room was kept clean everyday, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The air conditioning worked well, too. The staff was very helpful with arranging for our shuttle to/from the airport. And they provided a nice service by having a bike rental person show up on-site to provide us bikes for the day at a reasonable rate. The only issues I found were in our bathroom. The exhaust fan did not turn on, and as a result, the bathroom fogged up pretty quickly. Also, we needed to turn the shower faucet tightly for it to completely turn off; otherwise, it would drip. Since I'm always a critic of hotel prices, the value was very good, but I'd have to get an outstanding price for me to give it a perfect value rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
revolverguy
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Aug 15, 2012

Excellent stay!!!

Everything was perfect. Gim and pool were especially great. Room was clean, beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
Judith uc
Mexico
Jul 29, 2012

Good located

The beds are comfortable, the bathroom is big, and the location is really good. You can walk to the gaslamp, or to hortons mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hortons mall

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
Genn Ty
San Jose, California
Jul 17, 2012

Awesome experiemce!

I needed a hotel to stay for the last part of my comic-con weekend. Perfect place. I would definitley come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars were just around the corner.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
Sliver95
San Diego, California
Jun 24, 2012

Short Getaway

Very nice hotel and in a good area. Good value for the price. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
shafang
los angeles,ca.
May 30, 2012

good locatin

very expensive parking,small pool,room crowded with furniture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top