$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
149 reviews
Great!

The room was really nice and the location was perfect, walking distance from the water. See full review

  • Theresa Marie L.
  • Jul 24, 2014
Westin is great

Westin is great, very luxurious, not so expensive, fabulous location. Close to gaslight district! See full review

  • 00AW
  • May 10, 2014
Iconic stay brings luxury to downtown

The spectacular crystalline design of The Westin San Diego is a signature landmark in the city's skyline. A 100-foot atrium lobby welcomes guests to the iconic property. The hotel is within walking distance to all of San Diego's most popular attractions. On site, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool, a signature Westin Workout Gym and more. Coast restaurant serves contemporary cuisine in a casual and relaxed setting.

Highlights
  • Terrific location in the heart of downtown
  • Swim and relax in the heated outdoor pool
  • An iconic building in the city skyline
Rooms

The Westin San Diego offers 436 rooms, including more than 30 suites with mind-bending views of the city and San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, the signature Westin Heavenly Bath, make-up mirrors and in-room safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Diego received AAA's four diamond award, but the property is best-known for its silhouette--the crystalline profile is one of the most recognizable buildings in the city's skyline.

All guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour Westin Workout Gym. The heated outdoor pool sits on a rooftop deck named Harbor Deck. Fittingly, Harbor Deck offers sweeping views of San Diego Bay. The property offers in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and provides 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The menu at the on-site restaurant, Coast, is casual and contemporary, much like the eatery's decor. A coffee shop (The Aroma Caf�) and bar (The Bar) are also open to guests at certain times of day.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Nearly 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Dining

Aroma Café
Get your day going with Aroma Café’s fresh Starbucks® coffee, pastries, burritos, or such SuperFoodsRx™ options as fruit and yogurt parfaits and egg-white bagel sandwiches. Takeout salads, sandwiches, and wraps are made to order at lunch.
Coast
Amid Coast’s contemporary natural décor, fresh Californian ingredients are highlighted in innovative dishes that stimulate the palate and reinvigorate body and mind. Happy hour specials and private dining spaces are available.
The Bar
Whether you are at the sleek wooden bar, at an indoor table, or out on the patio, you and your group can choose from The Bar’s hearty selection of spirits, local craft beers, and non-alcoholic drinks, as well as Coast’s food options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sliver95
San Diego, California
Jun 24, 2012

Short Getaway

Very nice hotel and in a good area. Good value for the price. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony1234567
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 5, 2013

Couples getaway

Great place! Near downtown. Perfect for its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ConferenceTravelonbudget
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 26, 2013

A nice hotel with good location for down town San Diego

This is the second or third Westin that I've stayed at. The rooms are always nice. The location of this Westin is great for Downtown San Diego. The biggest problems are that there is no free parking for the hotel ($32 a day) and you have to pay for wi-fi if you want it in your room. Also, the workout room was small and the cardio machines were in pretty rough shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Bday Girl
Business
Temecula CA
Mar 4, 2013

Not such a great Experience for a weekend in SD

Unfortunately the stay was not pleasant as expected for it being the Westin. The bathtub was leaking so we heard dripping noise all night and house cleaning didn't go through all drawers the last guest left their used undergarments in the drawer which we discovered upon leaving. I had mentioned this to the front desk desk they apologized and offered a free breakfast but I was to disturbed by the situation. I made the mistake of forgetting my Bluetooth behind with charger hadn't heard from anyone called the next morning and at first I was told they didn't have it then got a call back letting me know that they did locate it and it was with the clothes I left behind! ( Not my clothes so as you an imagine I was very displeased and disgusted that they wrapped my Bluetooth with those clothes). Maybe this Review will help them improve the house cleaning and appreciate a guest choosing their hotel... It was my B-day getaway :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hyatt Bar it was amazing awesome bartenders and Sea Port village is right behind the hotel!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moneygeorge
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 6, 2013

Nice hotel, bad restaurant service

Stayed there for 4 days for a seminar. The room was nice, comfortable bed, large bathroom/shower. The issue I have is with the restaurant. Didn't want to go far (mingled with other attendants) so I ate at the restaurant/bar inside the hotel. The service for this type of a hotel was sub par. Food was good but took forever. The service was also bad, understaffed but that shouldn't be my problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karate Kev
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2013

Good Value

We were able to save a lot of money that we could spend on ourselves versus the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lion's Coffee (4th & Market) is close by and has a healthy breakfast menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A guy with modest needs
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2012

pretty great overall

I greatly enjoyed my stay. The place was very nice, the room was very nice. The amenities were outstanding. The staff was friendly. The hotel lobby has a glass elevator that is very very cool. A few small kinks caused some minor issues: 1. The breakfast in the cafe was terrible. I told them and they never got back to me about this, though they said they would. 2. The phone in my room did not work. This was fixed very quickly. 3. I asked for a few things (tissues, coffee) to be brought up, and they did not understand me - (?english as a second language problems?) but this got fixed pretty quick 4. I asked them to reserve a van to the ariport for me at a certain time, and they screwed that up twice, though it was ok because I expected that they would do that and I was able to catch a van on time. 5. On my way from the airport to the hotel, they claimed that they sent the van 2 times, so I ended up calling them 4 times, and waiting around at the airport for over an hour. Eventually they got me but there was very poor communication there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Richard
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 30, 2012

Homeless Haven

We liked the hotel but we were not comfortable walking in the area because of the large number of homeless people occupying the sidewalks. We had a good dinner in the hotel's restaurant, but we were practically the only people in the place. That detracted from the otherwise ok ambience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay at the Westin Gas Lamp to be closer to shopping at Horton Plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ac11
Business
Kilkenny, Ireland
Nov 8, 2012

Getaway

Staff were helpful from beginning to the end. Location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

City tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Superman
Business
San Diego,CA
Oct 15, 2012

Perfect getaway

Picked The Westin after reading reviews.This was a one night getaway for the wife's birthday. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much and would absolutely book another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Much to do within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fun in San Diego
Business
San Diego,CA
Sep 12, 2012

fun with friends

excellent customer service. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top