$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The dark knight batman
Business
Los Angeles ca
Jun 5, 2013

Great stay

It was a great one night stay with kids. The windows on the outside should be cleaned though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrandiVince
Business
Downtown San Diego
May 29, 2013

Weekend getaway

We had a nice trip to San Diego. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PBPHI
Business
HI
May 21, 2013

Quick trip

The service was great. Gentle (that's her name) at the front desk was a great help. She made sure all our needs were met. Good service is something we value and will put it on our list of hotels to return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony1234567
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 5, 2013

Couples getaway

Great place! Near downtown. Perfect for its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ConferenceTravelonbudget
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 26, 2013

A nice hotel with good location for down town San Diego

This is the second or third Westin that I've stayed at. The rooms are always nice. The location of this Westin is great for Downtown San Diego. The biggest problems are that there is no free parking for the hotel ($32 a day) and you have to pay for wi-fi if you want it in your room. Also, the workout room was small and the cardio machines were in pretty rough shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Bday Girl
Business
Temecula CA
Mar 4, 2013

Not such a great Experience for a weekend in SD

Unfortunately the stay was not pleasant as expected for it being the Westin. The bathtub was leaking so we heard dripping noise all night and house cleaning didn't go through all drawers the last guest left their used undergarments in the drawer which we discovered upon leaving. I had mentioned this to the front desk desk they apologized and offered a free breakfast but I was to disturbed by the situation. I made the mistake of forgetting my Bluetooth behind with charger hadn't heard from anyone called the next morning and at first I was told they didn't have it then got a call back letting me know that they did locate it and it was with the clothes I left behind! ( Not my clothes so as you an imagine I was very displeased and disgusted that they wrapped my Bluetooth with those clothes). Maybe this Review will help them improve the house cleaning and appreciate a guest choosing their hotel... It was my B-day getaway :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hyatt Bar it was amazing awesome bartenders and Sea Port village is right behind the hotel!!!

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moneygeorge
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 6, 2013

Nice hotel, bad restaurant service

Stayed there for 4 days for a seminar. The room was nice, comfortable bed, large bathroom/shower. The issue I have is with the restaurant. Didn't want to go far (mingled with other attendants) so I ate at the restaurant/bar inside the hotel. The service for this type of a hotel was sub par. Food was good but took forever. The service was also bad, understaffed but that shouldn't be my problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karate Kev
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2013

Good Value

We were able to save a lot of money that we could spend on ourselves versus the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lion's Coffee (4th & Market) is close by and has a healthy breakfast menu.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A guy with modest needs
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2012

pretty great overall

I greatly enjoyed my stay. The place was very nice, the room was very nice. The amenities were outstanding. The staff was friendly. The hotel lobby has a glass elevator that is very very cool. A few small kinks caused some minor issues: 1. The breakfast in the cafe was terrible. I told them and they never got back to me about this, though they said they would. 2. The phone in my room did not work. This was fixed very quickly. 3. I asked for a few things (tissues, coffee) to be brought up, and they did not understand me - (?english as a second language problems?) but this got fixed pretty quick 4. I asked them to reserve a van to the ariport for me at a certain time, and they screwed that up twice, though it was ok because I expected that they would do that and I was able to catch a van on time. 5. On my way from the airport to the hotel, they claimed that they sent the van 2 times, so I ended up calling them 4 times, and waiting around at the airport for over an hour. Eventually they got me but there was very poor communication there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Richard
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 30, 2012

Homeless Haven

We liked the hotel but we were not comfortable walking in the area because of the large number of homeless people occupying the sidewalks. We had a good dinner in the hotel's restaurant, but we were practically the only people in the place. That detracted from the otherwise ok ambience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay at the Westin Gas Lamp to be closer to shopping at Horton Plaza.

Back to menu Return to top