$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fast Freddy 55
Business
Virginia
Oct 17, 2013

not gaslamp hotel

Liked the hotel but Jackhammers were constant saturday and sunday. Advertized as gaslamp but was 1/2 mile from the real district. breakfast was awesome and expensive. bar was a cubby hole. Housekeeping came in the room at 8:20 am day of departure and asked if we were checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fishermans market restaurant upstairs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nemoiscute
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 15, 2013

Good

This is a 4-star experience, everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pmpm59
Business
Marilla,NY
Oct 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel in perfect downtown location.

Hotel was great, good location if you are looking for central location. Hotel staff outstanding. Front desk straightened out internet hotel booking site mistake and upgraded and comped us beyond our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp good time good food Little Italy Good Food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie the Eagle
Business
Syracuse, NY
Sep 21, 2013

First Class service

From the very first greeting to the checkout you know this is a well managed hotel. We arrived a bit early and our room was not ready for us. They quickly stored our luggage, took my cell number and called me later when the room was available. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. My only Disappoinntment is that there are not many restaurants very close by,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff vacay
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 16, 2013

Get what you pay for

Location was perfect..5 mins away from gaslamp. Room was clean just seemed on the smaller side. Bed was very comfortable a/c worked great. Overall enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mlg getaway
Business
Anaheim
Sep 3, 2013

Needs repairs

Ok. Hotel worn, needs repairs. A lot of noise.staff helpful, plumbing problems, shower stuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troy L.
Business
S an Jose
Sep 3, 2013

Decent Stay at the Westin

Pretty good experience overall. I took the advice of Yelpers and parked myself across the street in the same parking garage the Valet parks the cars. EASY to cross the street. Might be a task if you're juggling children by yourself or LOTS of baggage. I would recommend dropping off bags at the lobby with someone else while you park. Lobby attendant that checked me in was not personable at all. Didn't offer any details about my room or chit chat at all. I would have thought at this caliber of a place he would have offered to tell me about the cafe, pool, restaurant... etc. I didn't even know there WAS A POOL! Dissapointing when I was leaving in the morning and someone told me. Oh well. Room was great. Great night sleep. Decent location downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Use "Lyft" instead of a cab to get to your destination downtown. Download it on your smartphone. It's 30% cheaper than a taxi and the cars are VERY clean and more like a friend coming to pick you up than a person that hardly speaks your language.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt21212
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 26, 2013

Weekend Stay

When we first arrived, the room was not clean. We made a call to the front desk and this was promptly taken care of. Staff in the lobby were very helpful with giving us directions, advice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

At the Zoo, there is a general bus tour. Take it when you first arrive to become acquainted. Sit on the top right hand side of the bus, most of the animals are to the right.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladies leisure trip
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 25, 2013

Wonderful leisurely vacation

Wonderful stay and convenient location to downtown. Walking distance to restaurants and nearby mall. Staff was great and recommended fantastic places to eat! Close drive to some beautiful beaches. Nice workout room with decent size pool. Starbucks served in the lobby a plus. Really enjoyed the complimentary wine and appetizer hour for Starwood preferred guest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
g boy2589
Business
san diego
Aug 24, 2013

Not The Worst but close

wasnt so bad it was more the expectationthanks alot i wouldnt mind a refund

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

dont tell them its located in the middle of down town its near the bay but not in the middle of downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top