$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benru
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 10, 2014

Classy place, close enough to excitement

We stayed here to experience the nightlife in the Gaslamp District of San Diego. The price was ideal before the "taxes and fees" (why not include them in the search results). The room was close enough to walk to and from Gaslamp multiple times throughout the day and night. Room was quiet, comfortable, and clean. I would stay here again unless I found something closer at a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice view and close to Atitude Lounge with 22 story rooftop view of Sand Diego

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mgg3313
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 31, 2014

Great hotel within walking distance to most SD attractions

We enjoyed our stay here. Unfortunately, there was construction going on in the lobby that was really loud. Although we didn't hear it from our room, we did have to walk by it to get on and off the elevators. The area is a bit sketchy but in the day time you have plenty of nearby places you can walk safely to and from, including the piers, Gaslamp, and Little Italy. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we look forward to staying here next time we are in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC from FL
Business
FL
Jan 30, 2014

Excellent hotel!!

Great. Loved the glass elevators and giant window with a harbor view in the room. Extremely comfortable beds. Staff was helpful and curteous. Only problem was internet access. Even after paying for "premium" it was super slow. My only complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

24 hour parking lot for $16 only about 10 min walk. Beware valet at hotel is $36 per day. A little steep for area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Pug Lady
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 13, 2014

Call ahead re: construction

Was unaware that they were doing construction work in the lobby... jackhammers were pounding away and it definitely did not make for the most romantic ambience for my husband and I. My advice is to call ahead and make sure they're done with that hot mess. Aside from that, everything else was good. Room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuart Floridian
Business
Boynton Beach, FL
Dec 31, 2013

Unfortunate Experience

The hotel was undergoing major renovations and did not inform us. The lobby and facade were constantly being hammered and drilled. They did comp us for parking and breakfast to ease the painful noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use parking lot across the street. Parking is expensive and it us only free on Sunday

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SD Biz Tourist
Business
Wash. DC
Dec 8, 2013

Noisy hotel at the moment!

The room was nice, view good and staff very courteous. However, the lobby was undergoing major renovations. There was a lot of jack hammering later in the afternoon (which the staff advised us of). However, when booking a room one should be notified of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Passingby
Business
San Francisco
Dec 1, 2013

Very comfortable, but not too convenient

Perfect for those who is in business trips, i.e. for everybody whose trip is paid for : nice location, stylish building, comfortable rooms, pool, gym. Or if you don't care about $32 valet parking only, no breakfast, no microwave in room, extra charge for internet then you definitely will be happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BS from CLE
Business
Cleveland, OH
Nov 26, 2013

Great room; thin walls

Very nice hotel. But, Currently under construction with only 50% of the elevators operating. Very comfortable bed; great outdoor pool & hot tub! Only complaint--connector door between rooms does not offer sufficient sound barrier. Could clearly hear neighbors conversations, and late-night "party" noise was over the top! It took three calls to front desk & three visits from security to resolve the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barley Mash in the Gaslamp district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taylor the Sailor
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 22, 2013

Fall Break Getaway

The hotel was conveniently located to restaurants and highway access. There was lobby construction but not a big deal.. Staff was friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fast Freddy 55
Business
Virginia
Oct 17, 2013

not gaslamp hotel

Liked the hotel but Jackhammers were constant saturday and sunday. Advertized as gaslamp but was 1/2 mile from the real district. breakfast was awesome and expensive. bar was a cubby hole. Housekeeping came in the room at 8:20 am day of departure and asked if we were checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fishermans market restaurant upstairs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top