$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ProfessionalHotelier
Business
Park City, Utah
Feb 17, 2010

Perfect!

I work in hotels and I was impressed with this hotel. The staff was very friendly, rooms very clean, location great. It is a fantastic value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 17, 2010

"Cozy & Fancy"

great location in the heart of downtown San Diego, lots of shopping dinning, bar, clubs ..etc. nearby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buca Di Beppo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 15, 2010

Westin San Diego

Great hotel in downtown San Diego - close to the bay, Gaslamp District, Petco Field, restaurants, etc. We stay here almost everytime we are visiting. The hotel staff are friendly. The hotel is always clean and exudes a relaxing atmosphere, but with luxury. As a major plus, they are dog friendly and don't charge outrageous pet fees (this earns them the fifth star in my book).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a wonderful French cafe, Fabrison's Sweet Cafe and Boutique(sign just says Sweet Cafe), that serves crepes and croissants only a short walk from the hotel. It's on India Street between Ash and Beech, technically in Little Italy. They serve delicious breakfast crepes, display the work of a local artist, and have great people working there. They have outside tables that are enjoyable on a nice day or great if you have a dog with you. If your in town for a while they even offer free French lessons. Though we've been to SD at least a dozen times, we just found this place and it is truly worth a visit! Good prices too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FGR
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jan 27, 2010

I recommend this hotel

It was a typical Westin stay. They do a very good job. They forgot my newspaper but gave me one in the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san deigo
Jan 21, 2010

Service Oriented

The Westin was clean and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Rates fluctuate greatly depending on when you call and who you talk to. 1st trip couldn't stay there as the rate was $260 a night with no State rate. Locked in rate for next two trips at $159th [...]. A few days later Westins advertised rate was $139 and then later as low as $111. Same story with parking. Different people were charged as low as $19 and as high as $28. One time I had a refrigerator next time I didn/t.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Dec 3, 2009

good service

Very staff friendly. They bend over backwards to be of service. Was there for a conference. The food was often stale and subpar. Rooms very average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin ~A*V*Wey~
Business
Murrieta, CA
Nov 20, 2009

21st B-day Celebration

I came to celebrate my 21st birthday. I was greeted with friendly smiles and happy birthdays as soon as the staff found out. Room was great and comfortable. Front desk was extremely helpful with information of where I should go to celebrate. Easy walking distance from Hotel to Gas lamp (specifically 5th street). And I do not regret saying, just as easy to walk back while drunk. Easy check out...Thank you very much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to 5th street for a night out with friends (And to celebrate your 21st).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy with this Westin
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 16, 2009

Very ordinary

This should NOT be a WESTIN! it lacks just about every amenity you would expect from a WESTIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wedding Night
Business
Moreno Valley, ca.
Nov 9, 2009

Great Stay

hotel was beautiful, although i feel that when you spend almost 200.00 a night for a hotel you should not be charge an extra 24.00 dollars for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 24, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

I attended the IAP2 Annual Conference. The Westin San Diego was well appointed, very clean, with friendly and helpful staff, and in a great location. It was a very good value for the price. My only complaint was the noise I heard coming from outside the hotel, which was late evening street, rail and air traffic, as well as a loud rock concert coming from the W Hotel down the street on Friday, Sept. 18, 2009. Apparently, there was a beer festival there, which might have been fun to attend if I hadn't needed to get up early the next day for training. Unfortunately I was unable to go to sleep early because of the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top