$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
222 reviews
Great!

The room was really nice and the location was perfect, walking distance from the water. See full review

  • Theresa Marie L.
  • Jul 24, 2014
Westin is great

Westin is great, very luxurious, not so expensive, fabulous location. Close to gaslight district! See full review

  • 00AW
  • May 10, 2014
Iconic stay brings luxury to downtown

The spectacular crystalline design of The Westin San Diego is a signature landmark in the city's skyline. A 100-foot atrium lobby welcomes guests to the iconic property. The hotel is within walking distance to all of San Diego's most popular attractions. On site, guests enjoy an outdoor heated pool, a signature Westin Workout Gym and more. Coast restaurant serves contemporary cuisine in a casual and relaxed setting.

Highlights
  • Terrific location in the heart of downtown
  • Swim and relax in the heated outdoor pool
  • An iconic building in the city skyline
Rooms

The Westin San Diego offers 436 rooms, including more than 30 suites with mind-bending views of the city and San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, the signature Westin Heavenly Bath, make-up mirrors and in-room safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Diego received AAA's four diamond award, but the property is best-known for its silhouette--the crystalline profile is one of the most recognizable buildings in the city's skyline.

All guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour Westin Workout Gym. The heated outdoor pool sits on a rooftop deck named Harbor Deck. Fittingly, Harbor Deck offers sweeping views of San Diego Bay. The property offers in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and provides 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The menu at the on-site restaurant, Coast, is casual and contemporary, much like the eatery's decor. A coffee shop (The Aroma Caf�) and bar (The Bar) are also open to guests at certain times of day.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Nearly 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin San Diego Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
FREE transportation
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7158 -117.1611
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI; McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 30.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ypsilanti, MI
Jan 10, 2011

Professional, class hotel

Hotel was clean with appropriate amenities (e.g., flat screen TVs, dual head showers, clean fluffy sheets). Location was fine, but it is a bit on the edge of what's going on (e.g., at night, you have to walk ~10 minutes to get to anything of consequence). Staff was helpful. Price was fair. Does charge $12.95 a day for internet access, which is typical, if unfortunate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
pdx
Dec 28, 2010

Review Westin SD

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dodson

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
pdx
Dec 28, 2010

Review Westin SD

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dodson

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Nov 23, 2010

The Westin Downtown San Diego

The staff was friendly, the views were nice. The formica paneling on my my window sill was falling off, and I found floss from a previous guest on the coffee table. All in all, it felt like a glorified Motel 6, not what I paid for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Nov 23, 2010

The Westin Downtown San Diego

The staff was friendly, the views were nice. The formica paneling on my my window sill was falling off, and I found floss from a previous guest on the coffee table. All in all, it felt like a glorified Motel 6, not what I paid for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SACRAMENTO,CA
Nov 18, 2010

WEEKEND GETAWAY

PUT IT THIS WAY.... IF I GO BACK TO DIEGO IM DEFINETLY STAYING THERE AGAIN... PLUSH.. SPACIOUS... COMFORTABLE... CLOSE TO EERYTHING U WILL NEED...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

WALK OUT.. TURN THE CORNER...CLUBS EVERYWHERE...

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SACRAMENTO,CA
Nov 18, 2010

WEEKEND GETAWAY

PUT IT THIS WAY.... IF I GO BACK TO DIEGO IM DEFINETLY STAYING THERE AGAIN... PLUSH.. SPACIOUS... COMFORTABLE... CLOSE TO EERYTHING U WILL NEED...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

WALK OUT.. TURN THE CORNER...CLUBS EVERYWHERE...

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
e
Nov 9, 2010

upset

I will never book a hotel with [...] ever again. I got the flu and could not make my flight. I tried to cancel the hotel less than 24hrs later and I was charged the full amount anyway. So I lost money for a room that was not occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Beach, CA
Nov 9, 2010

So-So

I've stayed at several different hotels in Downtown San Diego within the past year, and I was a little disappointed here. Our particular valet attendant was rude. We hoped to get a room on one of the top floors (it's a tall building that promises spectacular views), but we were given a room on the 4th floor. It didn't seem like a very busy weekend, but I understand that that might not be the case. Still, the room was small, and the bathroom could have been cleaner. At least the concierge was friendly and helpful. It is in a great location -- walking distance to Horton Plaza (the mall) and the Gaslamp District's restaurants and nightlife. The Zoo and the rest of the world-class attractions at Balboa Park are only a 5-minute drive away! However, there are plenty of great boutique hotels in the area that often go for $99/night, so I'm not sure I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't feel like walking a few blocks down to the bars and restaurants in the Gaslamp district, Karl Stauss Brewing Company is literally across the street.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hon
Business
San Mateo, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Decent price

We were bit disappointed because phone did not work and noise were coming from the pipe. When we call for service at 3:30 am, we were put on hold!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top