$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

The Westin San Diego

4 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cabo San Lucas, Baja California, MEXICO
Oct 21, 2010

fair stay

Nice Time, Fair stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dublin Square pub

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michael and felix
Business
west los angeles
Sep 20, 2010

good location,very clean,good beds!!

very happy ,no complains

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Sep 13, 2010

The Westin - 10 Sept 2010

Great service and wonderful hotel...a perfect blend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Amtrak and the mass transit are very close. From there, you can go anywhere in San Diego.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 9, 2010

Solid three star hotel, not a four star

The hotel is clean and well located but the dated decor reminded me of 1990....this is a three star to me and not a four star hotel. It is also near the train station so I heard occasional whistles at 2 AM. The Heavenly bed was just that, however, Great. It is easy walking distance to Extraordinary Desserts which is a San Diego must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rates can be very good for this clean, comfortable hotel.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 7, 2010

Average hotel, great location.

The hotel is in a great location. The downtown/gaslamp area has tons of restaurants, shops,etc. The rooms are small but clean. The staff was pretty helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tenista
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 6, 2010

Great for a long weekend

Our room was quiet, very comfortable (the shower was great and LOVE those beds!), and really spacious. The view was forgettable, but the location ideal as we could walk to The Gaslamp district, Horton Plaza, and Little Italy. Balboa park was a longer walk (2+ miles), but freeways were easily accessible for longer adventures. One note: the restaurant in the building, 400 West (not the deli, which we didn't try) was absolutely terrible - bad food and really expensive. Save your money and taste buds by checking Yelp for other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
visiting auntie
Business
boise,id
Jun 20, 2010

Clean and comfortable rooms

The rooms were very clean and the beds were like home, very comfortable didn't wake up with aches. Great views from the large windows (just needs to be cleaned on the outside). For the price of the hotel parking should have been included. The garage parking was expensive so we did the valet parking instead for 32 bucks a night. Overall everything was good. Easy access to shopping and interstate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 16, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Price

We stayed only for 1 night but the Hotel staff was really friendly, the rooms were clean and the location perfect. A nice Hotel to stay if you want to visit San Diego without using a car. Only the Hotel Parking is really expensive. In case you have to bring a car there is another parking lot located 5 Min from the Hotel at the harbour and is not as expensive as the Hotel parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Parking is really expensive. In case you have to bring a car there is another parking lot located 5 Min from the Hotel at the harbour (next to the cruise ships) and is not as expensive as the Hotel parking.

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kartik
Business
Roseburg OR
May 10, 2010

Would not stay here again!

I booked this via [...] while attending a convention at the Hilton (bayfront). I had never been to SD before and had no idea about the locations. The Westin downtown is located adjacent to the courthouse. There are almost no nearby restaraunts or places to eat. The real gas lamp quarter is a 20 minute walk. I'm originally from the Bronx and I would not walk outside this hotel at night alone. There are a lot of homeless individuals asking for handouts etc. The hotel itself is mediocre at best. Its lobby is shared with an office building. The room service menu is sparse. If you are either a lawyer or a defendant who needs access to the court, this is a great location. For any other business reasons, this is a terrible place to stay. I checked out early and was more than willing to forfeit my prepaid charges and moved to the Hilton Gaslamp. That is a much better located hotel with definitely better ambience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samy Boy
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 19, 2010

Would go back

Hotel A+ but Parking was too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gas Lamp

Back to menu Return to top