$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
386 reviews
NTI trip

Great staff and neat hotel. Great location. I would stay there again. See full review

  • Craig R.
  • May 25, 2015
Review

Great experience with this hotel, no issues during the stay. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 16, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sofia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Sofia Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 1 Double Bed
One double bed non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
City Side Deluxe Queen Guest Room
One queen bed with views of the city. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Studio Suite
For those guests who require special accommodations, the Sofia offers special one room suites. Suites include one Queen bed in the sleeping area and one Queen Sleeper Sofa in the living area. Each guest suite is non-smoking and attention to details are everywhere. All Suites include fine linens, white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow-top mattresses, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over-sized signature bath sheets, convenient work stations with ergonomic chairs, flat screen televisions, and a refreshment center that houses a microwave and refrigerator. Suites are designed to reflect a comfortable, chic feel with natural influences intended to invoke a sense of harmony and balance. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Double/Double Guest Room
The room offers 2 Double beds with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe King Guest Room
One king bed. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference + Business Centers Life on the road doesn't have to be hard for business travelers. Sofia's event space accommodates up to 88 individuals in a variety of ways, including conferences, lectures, private events and training sessions.

Dining

Currant American Brasserie
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 11:30am - Close Happy Hour: 3pm -6pm and 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 2:30pm - Close Happy Hour: 3pm - 6pm; 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 386
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBZ3
Business
CERRITOS
May 18, 2015

Great Location and Quality

Place was near the train station, walking distance. Hotel was clean and service was friendly. You can pretty much walk to the gaslamp district comfortably. In a quiet area far enough from the hustle and bustle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erin M.
Business
Evanston
Apr 6, 2015

Great boutique hotel

The Sofia is an excellent hotel, very clean with fantastic amenities. We particularly enjoyed the daily water bottles and yoga classes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jordan H.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Excellent Location

Prime location in downtown San Diego. Many restaurants, bars and tourist spots are well within walking distance. Room and hotel were clean and renovated. Next time I go to SD I'm sticking with the Sofia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kring
Business
la mirada
Apr 6, 2015

over night stay

It was a cute hotel. The room was a bit small for 2 people. But for a one night stay it worked. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Also I enjoyed that the current was right downstairs. (:

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ji C.
Business
N/A
Mar 23, 2015

Reasonable option

The rate was very affordable, so I rate it between 3 and 4. It was small, which is expected. The mattress was not very comfortable, and the sheets were kinda scratchy. No frills hotel. The gym was small but serviceable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John H.
Business
Port Orchard
Mar 4, 2015

Weekend getaway

Great location....staff was very helpful and pleasant. Really missed not having a bathtub though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidi R.
Business
chicago
Feb 27, 2015

Amazing First Trip to San Diego

The Sofia Hotel is a very cute, boutique hotel right in the heart of downtown. The location was amazing for what we had planned for our trip. The room was small but we didn't spend much time in there anyway. There is a nice gym that can accommodate a quick work out as well. Parking was a bit steep - $34/night valet but I assume that is normal for the area. We loved being able to walk downtown to the bars and restaurants. What an amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poley
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Charming and close to the action

The hotel is well situated on Broadway in downtown San Diego. Easy walk to Gaslamp and the Harbor. Its on public transportation about 15 min ride form the airport. Its also close to light rail to get to old town and south to Tijuana. The room was small and comfortable. There is a ~$10 "resort" fee which I hate these days since its not a resort but there are some good benefits that go with the fee such as bike rental, walking tour, wifi, water bottles, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baldBuck
Business
Harrisburg
Jan 25, 2015

Business Trip

Arrived at the hotel very late 10 pm west coast (1 am EST). It took 20 minutes to check in and the room was prepaid for. There was no one else there except for me checking in. Room is terribly small. If you like boutique type hotels this is for you. If you want space look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
412Traveler412
Business
Pittsburgh
Jan 25, 2015

Amazing!

First of all I want to start off by saying anyone who tells you anything bad about this hotel is lying or is just and unpleasable person. We stayed from January 19th - 23rd 2015. At check in we were promptly greeted and asked if we would like a drink while we waiting for a concierge to assist us, we arrived early at the hotel so we had an hour before check in so they gave us a tour of all the bars,pools and restaurants the resort has to offer. At 3 o'clock we checked into our room, the air condition was blazing and the room was extremely clean. Absolutely every worker we came in contact with was over and beyond respectable and willing to do anything you'd ask for and never expected a tip or even a thank you. A few people stuck out to us as great workers especially Francisco Armas, he worked at the Deva/Piña Colada restaurant and I can't say enough good things about him, we had him for lunch and then later for dinner where he made us special Spanish drinks and gave us a beautiful fire show for desert, all unexpecting and I will say he has a huge part in why we decided to write our 1st review and we travel at least once a month.. So I never once felt hassled like the Caribbean or Bahamas, if someone offered you something and replied "no gracias" they would simply say ok and move on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top