$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Silly one
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 31, 2014

The downtown stay

I selected this hotel because the reviews seems pretty positive and the price was within my range. The rooms was like everyone was saying "small" there is not room to move at all in the bathroom. It was still very nice room. Being in downtown it was a great location however be careful of the many homeless people on the streets around. Also try to find parking elsewhere the hotel valet costs 34 a night!!! Which is ridiculous if you ask me since I'm paying to stay at the hotel atleast make the parking reasonable for hotel guests! Being new to visiting downtown we wanted to know what they hot places were to go. The front desk person told me that we could take to concierge however every time we tried too they were never there. Still a nice hotel but need to get some priorities straight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JFurt
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 14, 2014

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel in a pretty good location. The rooms are airflow small and parking was expensive. There is a nice coffee shop next to the hotel for breakfast. Overall, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Decutlas
Business
Australia
Oct 12, 2014

San Diego for work

Hotel was good value, in a good location and staff were very friendly. Only surprise was the extra $9 service charge per day charged on top of what was pre-paid, and a $34 valet charge per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anna W.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Hotel Review for Sofia

The room is too small, but it is downtown San Diego, hard to say how big the space suppose be like. When take a shower, it doesn't have a door to separate it from bathroom, the water spelled out easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I am not too found of the hotel, but it saves time where I wanted to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greg P.
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

father/daughter get away

Room clean but very small. Coffee was good..signage to room was hard to read

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chocalati on 1st was excellent. ..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
George K.
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 15, 2015

Nice Hotel

The Sofia is a old brick building which gives it a historic feel. There is a Coffee Bean down below which is very convenient. Very close to the mall. Mall parking is three hours free with validation. If you park on the street on Sunday it's free. I parked at Petco Field parking for 15 bucks a day, beast 35 bucks which Sophia charges. Friendly staff at the Sofia. You have a microwave and a small fridge in your room which is a plus. Did not enjoy the shower too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baldBuck
Business
Harrisburg
Jan 25, 2015

Business Trip

Arrived at the hotel very late 10 pm west coast (1 am EST). It took 20 minutes to check in and the room was prepaid for. There was no one else there except for me checking in. Room is terribly small. If you like boutique type hotels this is for you. If you want space look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ji C.
Business
N/A
Mar 23, 2015

Reasonable option

The rate was very affordable, so I rate it between 3 and 4. It was small, which is expected. The mattress was not very comfortable, and the sheets were kinda scratchy. No frills hotel. The gym was small but serviceable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny State Traveler
Business
California
May 5, 2009

pleased with the hotel and room....

I was very pleased with the location, service room at the hotel. A negative is the valet parking because of limited parking in the downtown area. Be prepared to pay $28.00 for the valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp district and shopping mall walking distance...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zanzibar
Business
Ontario, CA
Jul 7, 2009

So nice at the Sofia

The staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The room was a bit smaller than expected but very nice and clean. It's evident that the Sofia Hotel is making a considerable effort to 'Go Green'. The walls were a bit thin and leaked noise into the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Piano bar (ShoutHouse) located in the Gaslamp area is VERY fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top