$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greg P.
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

father/daughter get away

Room clean but very small. Coffee was good..signage to room was hard to read

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chocalati on 1st was excellent. ..

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baldBuck
Business
Harrisburg
Jan 25, 2015

Business Trip

Arrived at the hotel very late 10 pm west coast (1 am EST). It took 20 minutes to check in and the room was prepaid for. There was no one else there except for me checking in. Room is terribly small. If you like boutique type hotels this is for you. If you want space look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ji C.
Business
N/A
Mar 23, 2015

Reasonable option

The rate was very affordable, so I rate it between 3 and 4. It was small, which is expected. The mattress was not very comfortable, and the sheets were kinda scratchy. No frills hotel. The gym was small but serviceable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manny1224
Business
San Diego
Jan 13, 2014

Fantastic place to stay

Before I arrived at the hotel I was having doubts because I have never heard a hotel with that name. As soon as I came in, the staff was friendly and welcomed. I had a great experience there and if I decide to go back to San Diego I would stay there again. The only thing is that there is an extra charge for newspaper, wifi, and water when checking out. They should have those services as an option and not as a direct charge. Other than that is a great hotel to spend the night in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wavesoflove
Business
san diego
Feb 4, 2014

perfect location

Besides our room having the hot and cold water in the sink opposite it was a very modern room and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klmck
Business
upstate, ny
Feb 17, 2014

Nice!

Pretty hotel located within walking distance to the convention center and bay front. The Sophia had complementary bikes to use which we took advantage of to tour the city. The rooms were small but clean. Our one complaint was that there was a lot of traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHIEF OSCEOLA
Business
Raleigh, NC
Feb 28, 2014

Great Stay!!

The wife and i stayed here for six nights for our Anniversary. It was our first time on the west coast, and we "ENJOYED" our stay!! Shout out to Brian, he was the absolute BEST!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of options for dining near by!

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love SAN
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 24, 2014

Great conference hotel

Very convenient location to conferences, local attractions, shopping, groceries, buses, and trains. Super having yoga room and bicycles available. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a few groceries for your in room fridge, at the Ralph's grocery store just a few blocks away.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Vegas lover
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 1, 2014

Good location

Cute boutique hotel. Although the rooms are not big it was perfect for my partner and I. If you check in with yelp you get a free yoga DVD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hamman15
Business
Oceanside, CA
Mar 30, 2014

Couples Night Away

This hotel is unique compared to the average chain hotel. It is very charming inside. The room was on the smaller side given the cost for the night, but it was very nice! The largest bed the hotel offers is a queen, but it was very comfortable. The hotel also has a room for yoga 24hr. They rent out bikes from 7am-7pm on a first come first serve basis, which is an awesome perk. That would be a fun way to get around the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top