$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DrGoldin
Business
Yardley, PA
Mar 25, 2013

The walls are too thin.

This is the old Pickwick Hotel, built in 1927 and tastefully renovated. The location is great (lots of restaurants nearby) and the service is always courteous. The room is small, but it's elegant and efficient. Having a fridge and microwave is a real plus, too. So all in all I'd consider the room above average despite the size. But the biggest problem is that the walls are too thin. You can hear someone in the next room turning on and off a lamp. That shouldn't happen. The management posted a sign apologizing for the noise from construction work going on next door, and although they can't control that, I'm sure it would have been less of a nuisance if the walls weren't paper-thin. The $8 daily "guest services fee" is tacky. They should just add that to the published room rate. I didn't consider this a disappointing stay, but I'd probably choose someplace else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

7-11, one block west on Broadway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanalizzie
Business
San Diego
Apr 4, 2013

Sofia fine

We have stayed here on a few other occasions and feel we could have had better room if we booked directly through the hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
unclear what you want her
Business
California
May 12, 2013

Sofia: room too small

Nice hotel, very good location, but the room was very very tiny and looked out on a little space kind of like an elevator shaft! Apparently all their doubles (meaning the room is so small they can only fit a double bed in instead of a queen size) are that size. When I mentioned the claustrophobic feeling of the room as I checked out, however, they did volunteer to waive the fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

nice restaurant with outdoor patio on the street - food was fine and location couldn't be beat. No "light "breakfast though

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Freelance Ed
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 2, 2013

Very Small Rooms

There was basically space for the bed and little else in my room. No view either. I looked out about 10 feet to a brick wall. There was a surprise daily entertainment fee that I was presented with at check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yoli.boli
Business
San Diego, ca
Sep 3, 2013

Nice boutique hotel

I enjoyed my stay even though it was a small room. What was a little frustrating was that valet parking is all the offer and it $30, and that check in is at 4pm and check out is 11am. Everything else was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buon apetite in little italy was so good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pasadena Ana
Business
pasadena
Sep 22, 2013

small pretty rooms

The Sofia Hotel is a very well located hotel, it is generally ok to stay for a night,.it is pretty but rooms are extremely small. I found it very uncomfortable to shower and even to locate my suitcase and move around in the room. I enjoyed the location, for my next trip i would prefer to try a new hotel rather than repeating in this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard rock cafe has nice attraction, the bar is fun and has good music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ToriSure13
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 24, 2013

Too Small

Overall experience was good. Staff was very helpful and friendly. However the rooms are extremely small. Little too pricey for the amount of space given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baltimorian23
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 1, 2013

Just Okay

I must say the service at the hotel was great. The best thing the hotel offered was a free morning walking tour of the city. I loved this. On the other hand the walls are very thin. We could hear our neighbors crying baby at 6 am on the first morning so we moved to another room (we did get upgraded) but we could hear our neighbors there tooo. No bueno. The rooms are very small but I expected that. Also the bathroom showers dont have a door so water leaks on the floor. Unacceptable. Bonus: The restaurant in the hotel was very yummy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Currant is Yummy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palmdale California
Apr 27, 2010

A little small

Room was very clean and nice but very small. Shower stall was interesting as it was only 1/2 enclosed so the toilet and floor would get all wet. Great service and the hotel resturant was very good. Would not recommend for more than a weekend stay or for a family stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long beach,ca
Jun 6, 2010

Its quant

The rooms were surprisingly small but rooms were clean and modern

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top